07.12.2020

Brand Trend Switzerland H1 2020


Download PDF

Brand Trend H1 2020 EN

publikation img

Q1 - Q2 2020: Quarterly Development

publikation img

Visibility 2.4 billion: Ø 4.6 million per brand

In the first half of 2020, the overall measured visibility of the 523 brands amounted to a total of CHF 2.4 billion (gross).

Covid crisis noticeable in 2nd quarter

In the first quarter, overall visibility was approximately 14% below the previous year’s level. The decline during the second quarter was 28%.

Coop & Migros responsible for 12% of visibility of all Swiss brands

The top sector, Retail trade & food, achieved impressive overall visibility of CHF 555 million (gross). This corresponds to around 23% of the visibility of all sectors in the Swiss advertising market.

Brand visibility: 56% not controllable

Paid visibility (44%) was below earned visibility (56%) in H1 2020.

As in 2019, Retail trade & vehicles are the most visible sectors

The vehicles sector achieved the greatest earned visibility, at 310 million. Retail trade & food generated the most advertising pressure, at 356 million.

Only the cleaning sector is in the black

The cleaning sector was able to significantly increase sector visibility during the first two quarters of 2020 compared to the previous year. The paid/earned ratio is very one-sided, with 94% paid visibility.

Q1 vs. Q2 Significant differences between the sectors

The high overall visibility of the retail sector was almost identical in Q1 and Q2 (+1%). The biggest increase in Q2 compared to the first quarter was in Beverages, with an increase of 16%. The most significant decrease was recorded by Personal Care (-52%).

Total Industry Visibility

publikation img

Key Facts

  • Vehicles is the undisputed number one in terms of earned media presence. In terms of paid visibility, the vehicles sector was only surpassed by retail trade & food.
  • Fashion & sport has a similar paid/earned ratio to the vehicles sector.
  • Retail trade & food achieved the highest total brand visibility due to the strongest advertising pressure and the third-highest earned media value of all sectors.

Top 10 Brands Visibility

publikation img

The 10 most visible brands make up around a quarter of the total brand visibility in the Swiss advertising market. After the first half of 2019, Coop was already ahead of its major competitor Migros in terms of overall visibility. At the end of the year, however, Migros was narrowly ahead. An interesting fact: while 81% of brand visibility was achieved by Coop through paid media, Migros only recorded around 52%.

Credit Suisse snatches the bronze medal. Along with 5th placed UBS, it is one of two financial sector representatives in the top 10. SBB ranks fourth between the two big banks.

Three car manufacturers make it into the ranking: VW (7th place), Mercedes (8th place) and BMW (10th place), all mainly scoring with earned visibility. Swisscom in 6th place and Apple in 9th place complete the ranking.

Top 10 Brands Virality

publikation img

The virality ranking is in the hands of two types of companies: six car manufacturers and three camera manufacturers are represented. Why is this the case? Cars are a popular subject and stimulate discussions. In addition to the virality, this is also reflected in the extraordinarily high earned share of the vehicle sector. Camera manufacturers, in turn, benefit greatly from customers who add links and hashtags to the camera manufacturers in their photos and videos.

As in the previous year, the virality values measured across all brands were significantly higher in the first quarter than in the second quarter of the year.

Nike also made it back into the virality ranking again. Along with high virality values, the sporting goods manufacturer is also characterised by a predominantly earned versus paid media share.


Battle of the Brands

V-Zug vs. Electrolux

publikation img

Digital & household: 31 brands

  • Two competitors in the household electronics sector, the Swiss company V-Zug and the international giant Electrolux, have almost identical overall visibility. Only CHF 0.1 million (gross) lie between places 15 (V-Zug) and 17 (Electrolux) in the ranking of the Digital & Household sector.
  • V-Zug’s earned visibility is more than twice as high as Electrolux. Electrolux almost made up the resulting difference of 0.4 million through higher paid visibility. The paid/earned ratio is very one-sided in favour of paid media for both competitors. The bottom line resulted in a value of CHF 4.6 million (gross) for the overall visibility for V-Zug and a value of CHF 4.4 million (gross) for Electrolux.
  • Both V-Zug and Electrolux show clear potential for improvement in the earned area. While Electrolux is the frontrunner for TV advertising (Rank 3) and out-of-home (Rank 11), all earned media channels result in ranks between 20 and 29. The situation is similar for V-Zug, with Top 10 placements in Print, TV and external advertising and ranks beyond the 20th mark on earned media channels.


Adidas vs. Nike

publikation img

Fashion & Sport: 43 brands

  • The comparison of direct competitors Adidas and Nike is always exciting. In the overall market, Nike has a visibility of CHF 6.6 million (gross) (Rank 88) and is slightly ahead of Adidas with CHF 6.1 million (gross) (Rank 96). Within the fashion & sports sector, this puts Nike in 6th place and Adidas in 7th.
  • As is common in the sector, both competitors achieve the majority of their brand visibility through earned visibility. While the paid/earned ratio for Adidas is one-sided at 5:95, the trend towards earned media at Nike is also very clear at 7:93.
  • Nike is ahead of Adidas in relation to the paid channels print, TV and internet. Adidas, on the other hand, is strong in the earned area, especially in valuable print reporting.
  • While Adidas ranks ahead of Nike with influencers, it is the other way around in the case of online news. Notably, Nike is also in first place in social media, which indicates the high virality of the brand.


Pfister vs. Livique

publikation img

Building, industry, furnishings: 19 brands

  • With a lead of CHF 0.5 million (gross), Livique achieved slightly higher overall visibility (7.2 million) than its direct competitor Möbel Pfister (6.7 million). Both furniture stores make it into the top five most visible brands in the sample. Livique ranks third, Möbel Pfister fourth.
  • Around 28% of the total visibility in the Building, Industry, Furnishings sector is generated by earned media, while paid visibility makes up around 72 %. Both Livique and Möbel Pfister are well below the sector average with earned shares of around 4% and 9% respectively.
  • A look at the individual channels shows that Pfister is strong in paid TV, radio, out-of-home and internet advertising. It is only in the area of Print Advertising, at Rank 11, that there is room for improvement. In the earned area, Pfister achieves the best placings with influencers and on social media.
  • Livique, on the other hand, occupies podium places in print and internet advertising. In online news it is also strong, taking 7th place. Pfister lags behind in all earned channels in comparison with Livique, apart from in the case of SEO and Online.

Twin analysis H1 2020: ZKB

publikation img

Omnichannel Mix Twins

The car brands Volvo and Opel show a distribution of the overall visibility across the individual channels which iscomparable to ZKB. The percentages of TV advertising, print and online news are particularly similar.

Paid-Earned-Ratio Twins

When looking at ZKB's paid/earned ratio, Jaguar catches the eye as a strategic twin. The ratio is identical at 37:63, while the overall visibility is around three times smaller. Online fashion retailer Asos also has a similar relationship between paid and earned visibility.

Paid Mix Twins

There is no confusingly similar paid distribution in the sample, as is the case for ZKB. The proportions are similar for Apple. However, TV is even more in the foreground, while print receives less attention. At C&A, only the TV share is at a similar level.

Earned Mix Twins

The earned visibility of ZKB is primarily composed of mentions in print and online news and, to a small extent, social media mentions. In the case of BP and Daihatsu, a representative of the energy sector and a car brand, there are similar distributions.

Omnichannel Earned & Paid H1 2020

Top 10 Earned

publikation img

Top 10 Paid

publikation img
This website uses cookies to give you a more comfortable browsing experience. More info
OK

07.12.2020

Tendances des marques suisse S1 2020


Download PDF

Tendance des marques S1 2020 FR

publikation img

T1 - T2 2020: Évolution trimestrielle

publikation img

Visibilité 2.4 milliards: Ø 4.6 millions par marque

Au premier semestre 2020, la visibilité mesurée de l'ensemble des 523 marques s'élève au total à 2.4 milliards de francs suisses bruts.

Crise du corona perceptible au 2e trimestre

Dès le premier trimestre, la visibilité totale est 14% inférieure à l'année dernière. Le recul se chiffre à 28% au deuxième trimestre.

Coop & Migros à l'origine de 12% de la visibilité de toutes les marques suisses

La première branche Commerce de détail & de produits alimentaires parvient à une impressionnante visibilité globale de 555 millions de francs suisses bruts. Cela correspond à près de 23% de la visibilité sur le marché publicitaire suisse toutes branches confondues.

Visibilité des marques: 56% non contrôlables

La visibilité payante (44%) se situe en-deçà de la visibilité gagnée (56%) au S1 2020.

Comme en 2019: les branches Commerce de détail & Véhicules sont les plus sûres

La branche Véhicules a atteint la visibilité gagnée la plus importante avec 310 millions. Le commerce de détail & de produits alimentaires est celui qui a généré le plus de pression publicitaire avec 356 millions.

Le secteur du nettoyage uniquement en positif

Le secteur du nettoyage fait manifestement remonter la visibilité de la branche au niveau de l'année dernière pendant les 2 premiers trimestres 2020. Le taux payant/gagné est quasiment uniforme, avec 94% de visibilité payante.

Fortes différences entre les branches entre T1 et T2

La forte visibilité globale du commerce de détail est quasiment identique au T1 et au T2 (+1%). La plus forte augmentation au T2 par rapport au trimestre initial est réalisée par les boissons, avec 16%. La régression la plus marquante est celle des besoins personnels (-52%).


Visibilité totale de l'industrie

publikation img

Key Facts

  • Le secteur Véhicules demeure à la 1e place pour la présence dans les Earned Medias. Concernant la visibilité payante, le secteur des véhicules est uniquement battu par celui du Commerce de détail et de produits alimentaires.
  • Mode & Sport a un taux Paid/Earned comparable à celui du secteur des véhicules.
  • Le Commerce de détail et de produits alimentaires atteint la plus haute visibilité totale grâce à une pression publicitaire accrue et à la valeur des Earned Medias de toutes les branches.

Top 10 de la visibilité des marques

publikation img

Les 10 marques les plus visibles constituent près d'un quart de la visibilité totale des marques sur le marché publicitaire suisse. Dès mi-2019, Coop devançait son grand concurrent Migros en terme de visibilité totale. À la fin de l'année, Migros était néanmoins presque en tête. Intéressant: alors que Coop atteint 81% de visibilité grâce aux médias payants, Migros ne parvient qu'à environ 52%.

Le Crédit Suisse remporte la médaille de bronze. Occupant la 5e place, il est l'un des 2 représentants, avec UBS, du secteur des finances dans le top 10. Les CFF séparent les deux grandes banques, à la 4e place.

Avec VW (7e), Mercedes (8e) et BMW (10e) qui marquent tous des points grâce à leur publicité gagnée, 3 constructeurs automobiles accèdent au classement. Swisscom et Apple achèvent la liste, respectivement en 6e et 9e position.

Top 10 de la viralité des marques

publikation img

Deux types d'entreprise se sont emparés du classement Viralité: on y trouve d'une part 6 constructeurs automobiles, et d'autre part 3 fabricants d'appareils photo. À quoi cela tient-il? Le sujet des voitures passionne et alimente les débats. Cela se reflète par la viralité, mais aussi dans la part gagnée extraordinairement élevée dans le secteur Véhicules. Les marques d'appareils photos profitent à nouveau grandement de clients qui publient les photos et vidéos qu'ils ont faites en ajoutant des liens et des hashtags faisant référence aux fabricants.

Comme c'était déjà le cas l'an passé, les valeurs de viralité toutes marques confondues sont bien plus élevées au T1 qu'au T2.

Nike parvient à nouveau à faire partie du classement Viralité. Les fabricants d'articles de sport se distinguent par des valeurs de viralité élevées, mais aussi par une part bien plus importante de Earned Media par rapport à la part de Paid Media.


Bataille des marques

V-Zug vs. Electrolux

publikation img

Digital & ménage: 31 marques

  • Deux concurrents de l'électroménager, la société suisse V-Zug et le géant international Electrolux, affichent une visibilité totale quasi semblable. Dans le classement Digital & ménage, seul 0.1 million de francs suisses bruts sépare les places 15 (V-Zug) et 17 (Electrolux).
  • V-Zug affiche une visibilité Earned presque deux fois plus importante que celle d'Electrolux. Electrolux équilibre quasiment la différence de 0.4 million qui en résulte par une visibilité payante. Le rapport Paid/Earned est quasiment le même pour les deux concurrents, à la faveur du Paid Media. En fin de compte, la visibilité totale se chiffre à 4.6 millions de francs suisses bruts pour V-Zug et à 4.4 millions pour Electrolux.
  • V-Zug comme Electrolux présentent des potentiels d'amélioration considérables en Earned. Alors qu'Electrolux fait partie du peloton de tête pour la publicité TV (3e place) et hors domicile (11e), on le retrouve à chaque fois entre les places 20 et 29 des canaux Earned Media. Il en va un peu de même pour V-Zug, qui est présent dans le top 10 dans les médias imprimés, à la TV et dans la publicité extérieure, mais au-delà de la 20e place lorsqu'il s'agit de canaux Earned Media.


Adidas vs. Nike

publikation img

Mode & Sport: 43 marques

  • La comparaison entre les concurrents directs Adidas et Nike est toujours passionnante. Sur l'ensemble du marché, Nike affiche une visibilité totale de 6.6 millions de francs suisses bruts (place 88) et devance légèrement Adidas avec ses 6.1 millions (place 96). Dans la branche Mode & Sport, Nike occupe la 6e place et Adidas la 7e.
  • Comme c'est courant dans la branche, les deux concurrents atteignent la majorité de leur visibilité sur le marché par une visibilité gagnée. Le rapport Paid/Earned est quasiment unanime à 5:95, mais la tendance en faveur de l'Earned Media est très perceptible chez Nike aussi (7:93).
  • Sur les canaux payants des médias imprimés, de la TV et d'Internet, Nike devance Adidas. Adidas est quant à lui fort dans le domaine Earned, plus encore dans la couverture médiatique imprimée.
  • Alors qu'Adidas devance Nike d'une place grâce aux influenceurs, on assiste justement à l'inverse dans les nouvelles en ligne. La première place occupée par Nike dans les réseaux sociaux est frappante et prouve le caractère particulièrement viral de la marque.


Pfister vs. Livique

publikation img

Constructions, industrie, ameublement: 19 marques

  • Avec une avance de 0.5 million de francs suisses bruts, Livique atteint une visibilité totale légèrement plus élevée (7.2 millions) que son concurrent direct Möbel Pfister (6.7 millions) Les deux magasins d'ameublement se hissent ainsi dans le top 5 des marques les plus visibles de l'échantillon. Livique se situe à la 3e place et Möbel Pfister à la 4e place.
  • Près de 28% de la visibilité totale des branches Constructions, industrie, ameublement sont générés par l'Earned Media alors que la visibilité payante s'élève à 72%. Tant Livique que Möbel Pfister se trouvent fortement en-deçà de la moyenne de la branche avec des parts Earned respectives d'environ 4 et 9%.
  • Un coup d'oeil aux différents canaux suffit: Pfister est très représenté dans le domaine Paid de la publicité à la télévision, à la radio, hors domicile et sur Internet. Il n'y a que dans la publicité imprimée, où il se situe en place 11, qu'il peut encore s'améliorer. Dans le domaine Earned, Pfister obtient les meilleurs classements grâce aux influenceurs et aux réseaux sociaux.
  • En revanche, Livique se trouve sur le podium tant pour la publicité imprimée qu'en ligne. Dans les nouvelles en ligne, il est également à la 7e place. Hormis en SEO et dans les nouvelles en ligne, Pfister est inférieur à Livique dans tous les canaux Earned.

Analyse Twins S1 2020: ZKB

publikation img

Omnichannel Mix Twins

Les marques automobiles Volvo et Opel affichent une répartition de la visibilité totale sur les différents canaux similaire à celle de ZKB. La part de la publicité à la télévision, dans les médias imprimés et sur les nouvelles en ligne est pratiquement la même.

Paid-Earned-Ratio Twins

À regarder le rapport Paid/Earned de ZKB, Jaguar semble en être le jumeau stratégique. Le rapport de 37:63 est identique alors que la visibilité totale est 3 fois moindre. Le vendeur de vêtements en ligne Asos indique un rapport similaire entre la visibilité payante et gagnée.

Paid Mix Twins

Aucune répartition Paid semblable à celle de ZKB ne ressort de l'échantillon. Chez Apple, les parts sont similaires - la télévision est toutefois encore plus mise en avant, alors que les médias imprimés ont moins d'importance. Pour C&A, seule la part TV reste au même niveau.

Earned Mix Twins

La visibilité gagnée de ZKB se compose essentiellement des interventions dans les portails d'actualités et les médias imprimés, et dans une infime mesure de mentions dans les réseaux sociaux. Avec BP et Daihatsu, une représentante du secteur énergétique et une marque automobile ont des répartitions semblables.

Omnichannel Earned & Paid H1 2020

Top 10 Earned

publikation img

Top 10 Paid

publikation img
Ce site utilise des cookies pour vous donner une expérience de navigation plus confortable. Plus d'informations
OK