23.05.2019

Advertising Market Trend April 2019


publikation img

Highlights in April

In April, gross advertising expenditure declined only slightly compared to the previous month of March, standing at 638.9 million Swiss francs. Compared with the same month last year, this amounted to an increase of 3.6 per cent. The cumulative gross advertising expenditure for the first four months of the year was 2,401.2 million Swiss francs. Annual advertising expenditure therefore rose by 2.2 per cent, year-on-year.


Advertising Pressure in the market as a whole

Development of Advertising Pressure as per April 2019

publikation img publikation img

Building, industry, furnishings now in third place

After the podium places in the industry ranking remained unchanged in the first three months of the year, the building, industry, furnishings sector overtook the vehicles sector in April, claiming bronze. First place again went to leisure, gastronomy, tourism. The industry recorded the highest gross advertising expenditure of the month, at 60 million Swiss francs, with a very slender margin of 0.6 million Swiss francs between it and the second-placed services sector. The energy industry recorded the strongest YTD growth in gross advertising expenditure compared to last year (20.8%). This was achieved thanks to solid increases in all four months of the current year.

Vehicles sector continues to accelerate, yet still falls behind

The cars product group saw the largest rise compared to last year (+34.9%), with the vehicles sector increasing its gross advertising expenditure by a good 20 per cent. The services industry rose by 18.8 per cent, but was still just behind leisure, gastronomy, tourism in the monthly ranking, because this sector also boosted its advertising expenditure by 14.8 per cent, compared to the same month last year. The personal care (+27.1%), cleaning (+22.7%) and energy (+18.9%) sectors also increased their gross advertising expenditure, compared to the same month last year.

Tobacco sector and pharmaceuticals & health continue to decline

As in the previous month, the tobacco sector sharply reduced its advertising expenditure (−47.4%). The pharmaceuticals & health industry also lowered its gross advertising expenditure in April by 18.4 per cent, compared to last year. The slight rise in the political campaigns product group (+8.8%) could not prevent the 15.1 per cent decline in the gross advertising expenditure of the initiatives & campaigns sector. The digital & household industry (−5.6%), including the IT, hard & software (−17.7%) and TV & home entertainment (−14.6%) product groups, also reduced its gross advertising expenditure, compared to the same month last year. The initiatives & campaigns sector recorded the largest YTD fall in gross advertising expenditure, with a decline of 12 per cent.


Advertising pressure in the sectors

Advertising pressure in the sectors with comparative figures for the previous year

publikation img

Top 10 of the month

The top 10 advertisers and most widely advertised products and services (excluding range and image advertising) in April:

publikation img

Media Mix

The integration of the search data, desktop (January 2017) and mobile (July 2017) into the Media Focus advertising statistics has led to a significant increase in the Internet proportion of the media mix. Since January 2018, search data for French-speaking Switzerland (Romandy) has also been collected (share of search: 85% German/15% French).

publikation img
This website uses cookies to give you a more comfortable browsing experience. More info
OK

23.05.2019

Tendance du marché publicitaire avril 2019


publikation img

Les temps forts du mois d'avril

Au mois d'avril, la pression publicitaire ne faiblit que légèrement en comparaison du mois précédent, en mars, pour atteindre 638.9 millions de francs bruts. Par rapport au même mois de l'année précédente, cela correspond à une augmentation de 3.6 pour cent. La pression publicitaire cumulée sur les quatre premiers mois de l'année s'élève à 2 401.2 millions de francs bruts. La pression publicitaire annuelle augmente ainsi de 2.2 pour cent par rapport à l'année précédente.

Pression publicitaire sur le marché global

Développement de la pression publicitaire au mois d'avril 2019

publikation img publikation img

Nouveau: le secteur Constructions, industrie et ameublement en troisième position

Alors que les trois premières places du classement des secteurs sont restées inchangées durant les trois premiers mois de l'année, voilà que la branche Constructions, industrie et ameublement dépasse en avril le secteur Véhicules et décroche le bronze. Sans changement, la première place revient au secteur Loisir, gastronomie, tourisme. Avec 60 millions de francs bruts, ce secteur enregistre la plus haute pression publicitaire du mois, devançant de justesse les Services, en deuxième position, de 0.6 million de francs. Depuis le début de l'année, c'est l'Énergie qui enregistre la plus forte croissance en matière de pression publicitaire brute en comparaison de l'année précédente (20.8%). Elle y parvient du fait de fortes progressions sur les quatre mois de l'année en cours.

Le secteur Véhicules continue à accélérer mais reste à la traîne

C'est la catégorie VP qui réalise la plus forte progression par rapport à l'année précédente (+34.9%), puisque la branche Véhicules augmente la pression publicitaire brute d'au moins 20 pour cent. Le secteur des Services progresse de 18.8 pour cent mais reste, dans le classement mensuel, quand même juste derrière celui des Loisirs, gastronomie, tourisme parce que ce dernier secteur augmente également la pression publicitaire de 14.8 pour cent par rapport au même mois de l'année précédente. Les branches Besoins personnels (+27.1%), Nettoyage (+22.7%) et Énergie (+18.9%) augmentent elles aussi la pression publicitaire brute par rapport au même mois de l'année précédente.

Les secteurs Produits tabagiques et Pharmaceutique & santé renforcent leur repli

Comme au mois précédent, les Produits tabagiques réduisent fortement la pression publicitaire (-47.4%). Dans le secteur Pharmaceutique & santé, la pression publicitaire brute baisse également de 18.4 pour cent par rapport à l'année précédente. La légère progression de la catégorie Campagnes politiques (+8.8%) ne peut pas compenser le recul de 15.1 pour cent de la pression publicitaire brute dans le secteur Initiatives & campagnes. De même, la branche Digital & ménage (-5.6%), comprenant les catégories Produits informatiques, hardware & software (-17.7%) ainsi que Télévision & divertissement à domicile (-14.6%), réduit la pression publicitaire brute en comparaison du même mois de l'année précédente. C'est la branche Initiatives & campagnes qui enregistre à ce jour le recul le plus net depuis le début de l'année, avec une baisse de 12 pour cent.


Pression publicitaire par secteurs

Pression publicitaire par secteurs comparée à l'année précédente

publikation img

Top 10 du mois

Les 10 premiers annonceurs et les produits et services faisant l'objet du plus grand nombre d'annonces publicitaires (hors promotion de l'assortiment et de l'image) en avril

publikation img

Mix de médias

L'intégration des données de recherche, Desktop (janvier 2017) et Mobile (juillet 2017) dans les statistiques publicitaires de Media Focus a entraîné une augmentation significative de la part Internet dans le mix de médias. Depuis janvier 2018, on recueille également des données de recherche pour la Suisse romande (la recherche étant répartie comme suit: 85% DE/15% FR).

publikation img
Ce site utilise des cookies pour vous donner une expérience de navigation plus confortable. Plus d'informations
OK