13.09.2019

Advertising Market Trend August 2019


publikation img

Highlights in August

Gross advertising expenditure in August amounted to 531.9 million Swiss francs, thereby exceeding the same month of the previous year by 7.2 percent. Advertising pressure ytd has reached CHF 4,645.7 million (gross). This represents an increase of 3.1 percent compared to 2018.

Advertising Pressure in the market as a whole

Development of Advertising Pressure as per August 2019

publikation img publikation img

Industry ranking unchanged

Nothing has changed in August in the industry ranking ytd. The ranking is identical to that of the previous month. Leisure, gastronomy, and tourism has reinforced its position at the top with the highest advertising pressure of the month and an increase of 23.5 percent compared to the same month last year. In addition, three industry representatives - Trivago, Ebookers, and Booking.com - are among the top ten advertisers of the month. The second-placed services industry has seen a strong increase of 17 percent compared with August last year. Cumulatively, this represents a rise of 12 points for the first eight months of the year. The finance sector invested marginally less than in the same month last year (-1.5%); in absolute figures, however, the sector was once again responsible for the third-highest advertising pressure of the month. Just like in the previous two months, construction, industry, and furnishings are responsible for a lower advertising pressure than the retail trade sector. Although the gap is closing, the nearest rival is still able to be kept at bay.

First and last-placed sectors with the highest percentage increases

Just like in July, political campaigns produced an increase (+62.7%) compared to the same month last year. This is the highest percentage increase across all sectors. This increase, however, should be treated with caution – in terms of gross Swiss francs, the product group was only responsible for an advertising pressure of CHF 3.2 million in August. Only the tobacco sector invested less with 0.3 million (gross).

The first and last sectors in the ranking were responsible for the highest percentage increases in advertising pressure ytd. The Tobacco sector is still lagging behind in last place, but increased by 209.9 percent. Leisure, gastronomy, and tourism made the second-largest gain with an increase of 13 percent.


Advertising pressure in the sectors

Advertising pressure in the sectors with comparative figures for the previous year

publikation img

Top 10 of the month

The top 10 advertisers and most widely advertised products and services (excluding range and image advertising) in August

publikation img

Media Mix

The integration of the search data, desktop (January 2017) and mobile (July 2017) into the Media Focus advertising statistics has led to a significant increase in the Internet proportion of the media mix. Since January 2018, search data for French-speaking Switzerland (Romandy) has also been collected (share of search: 85% German/15% French).

publikation img
This website uses cookies to give you a more comfortable browsing experience. More info
OK

13.09.2019

Tendance du marché publicitaire en août 2019


publikation img

Les temps forts du mois d'août

Pour le mois d'août, le montant brut de la pression publicitaire s'élève à 531,9 millions de francs suisses, soit 7,2 pour cent de plus qu'au mois d'août de l'année dernière. En terme d'AAJ, la pression publicitaire atteint 4 645,7 millions de CHF (bruts), ce qui correspond à une augmentation de 3,1 pour cent par rapport à l'année 2018.

Pression publicitaire sur le marché global

Développement de la pression publicitaire au mois d'août 2019

publikation img publikation img

Ordre de classement des branches identique

Le mois d'août ne change rien au classement des branches en AAJ. La liste est exactement la même que celle du mois précédent. La branche Loisir, gastronomie, tourisme est en tête de course avec le plus haut montant de pression publicitaire et une augmentation de celui-ci de 23,5 pour cent par rapport au mois de référence de l'an passé. Avec Trivago, Ebookers et Booking.com, trois représentants de la même branche figurent par ailleurs dans le top dix des annonceurs du mois. Par rapport au mois d'août de l'année dernière, la branche qui occupe la deuxième position peut se targuer d'avoir progressé de 17 pour cent. D'après le cumul des huit premiers mois de l'année, cela se traduit par 12 points de plus. La branche Finance investit en août de cette année un tout petit peu moins qu'à la même période en 2018 (-1,5%) en chiffres absolus, mais elle assure à nouveau le troisième plus gros volume de pression publicitaire du mois. Comme c'était déjà le cas aux mois de juin et juillet, la branche Construction, industrie et ameublement génère un volume de pression publicitaire moindre que celui du Commerce de détail. Même si l'écart se fait plus mince, le concurrent qui suit immédiatement peut encore être maintenu à distance.

Forts taux d'augmentation pour les première et dernière branches

Comme en juillet, les campagnes politiques continuent à progresser (+62,7%) par rapport au même mois de l'an passé. Il s'agit là de la plus forte augmentation toutes branches confondues. Cette hausse doit néanmoins être relativisée: en montant brut, le groupe de produits n'est responsable que de 3,2 millions de francs suisses pour le mois d'août. Seule la branche du tabac, avec 0,3 million (brut) a encore moins investi.

La première comme la dernière branche assurent chacune les plus fortes augmentations, exprimées en pourcentage, de la pression publicitaire AAJ. La branche du tabac conserve la dernière place, mais a tout de même augmenté de 209,9 pour cent. Avec un taux de 13 pour cent, la branche Loisir, gastronomie et tourisme connaît la deuxième plus forte augmentation.

Pression publicitaire par secteurs

Pression publicitaire par secteurs comparée à l'année précédente

publikation img

Top 10 du mois

Les 10 premiers annonceurs et les produits et services faisant l'objet du plus grand nombre d'annonces publicitaires (hors promotion de l'assortiment et de l'image) en août

publikation img

Mix de médias

L'intégration des données de recherche, Desktop (janvier 2017) et Mobile (juillet 2017) dans les statistiques publicitaires de Media Focus a entraîné une augmentation significative de la part Internet dans le mix de médias. Depuis janvier 2018, on recueille également des données de recherche pour la Suisse romande (la recherche étant répartie comme suit: 85% DE/15% FR).

publikation img
Ce site utilise des cookies pour vous donner une expérience de navigation plus confortable. Plus d'informations
OK