16.09.2020

Out-of-Home continues to grow


publikation img

Highlights in August

The summer slump continues in the Swiss advertising market. As in July, the advertising pressure was well below the 400 million mark in August at 357.6 million gross francs. Thus, for the sixth month in succession, the monthly advertising pressure was below the figure for the same month in the previous year. In August, the decline amounted to 9.1 percent. The Federal Office of Public Health's coronavirus information campaign is back at the top of the most advertised products in the Swiss advertising market, and the advertising pressure in the market as a whole is YTD 17.1 percent lower than in the previous year.

publikation img

Traditional media slowly recovering

A look at the media mix shows: out-of-home advertising unswervingly continues to make triumphant progress, accounting for a fifth of the entire advertising pressure in the Swiss advertising market in August. As in June and July, out-of-home advertising pressure again increased compared to the previous year (+25.9%). Meanwhile, cinema advertising in Switzerland continued to struggle. Although cinemas reopened their doors for up to 300 people at the beginning of June, cinema advertising pressure continues to decline. In August it reached around 0.8 million gross francs. This means cinema advertising pressure was almost 70 percent lower than in August last year. Internet advertising pressure also fell substantially year-on-year (-31.7%), with the proportion of internet advertising dropping from 32 percent in July to 22 percent in August. TV advertising recovered somewhat in August, increasing its share of the overall advertising pressure from 5 per cent to 26 per cent over the previous month. Compared to the previous year, however, TV advertising pressure was still in decline in August at minus 8.8 per cent. Advertising pressure in the radio (-5.9%) and print media (-3.4%) was at a similar level to that of August 2019.

publikation img

Initiatives & campaigns strong due to the upcoming referendum

In August, 8 of 21 sectors succeeded in raising the advertising pressure compared to last year. The strongest increase was recorded by Initiatives & campaigns with a rise of about one third, which is due to the upcoming referendum on 27 September. With the "No to hunting law" and the "Yes to moderate immigration" (limitation initiative), two campaigns or initiatives were to be found among the top 10 products of the month. In August, the Cleaning sector (+26.4%), Digital & household (+15.8%), the Energy sector (+11.8%) and Telecommunications (+10.6%) also posted double-digit year-on-year growth. In the market as a whole, a decline of 9.1 percent in gross advertising pressure was observed compared to the same month last year.


Advertising pressure in the sectors

publikation img

Top of the month

The top advertisers and most widely advertised products and services (excluding range and image advertising) in August:

publikation img

Media Mix

Media Mix for the month of August

publikation img
This website uses cookies to give you a more comfortable browsing experience. More info
OK

16.09.2020

Le Out-of-Home attire encore


publikation img

Points forts du mois d'août

La pause estivale se poursuit sur le marché publicitaire suisse. Avec 357,6 millions de francs suisses bruts, la pression publicitaire du mois d'août est largement passée sous la barre des 400 millions, comme cela était déjà le cas en juillet. La pression publicitaire mensuelle est ainsi inférieure à la valeur de l'année précédente sur le même mois pour la sixième fois consécutive. En août, le recul atteint 9,1 pour cent. La campagne d'information sur le coronavirus de l'Office fédéral pour la santé publique a repris la tête des produits les plus promus sur le marché publicitaire suisse et la pression publicitaire AAJ de l'ensemble du marché se trouve à 17,1 pour cent en deçà de la valeur de l'an dernier.

publikation img

Les médias classiques se relèvent lentement

Jetons un œil au mix des médias: La publicité extérieure continue incontestablement de triompher, assurant au mois d'août un cinquième de l'ensemble de la pression publicitaire du marché de la publicité suisse. Par comparaison avec l'année dernière, la pression publicitaire Out-of-Home a de nouveau augmenté, comme en juin et en juillet (+25,9 %). Pendant ce temps, la publicité dans les cinémas suisses est encore en souffrance. Bien que les cinémas aient rouvert leurs salles au début du mois de juin pour accueillir jusqu'à 300 personnes, la pression publicitaire qui y est exercée reste en berne. En août, elle n'a atteint que 0,8 million de francs suisses bruts. La pression publicitaire dans les cinémas est donc d'environ 70 pour cent inférieure à celle du mois d'août de l'année dernière. La pression publicitaire sur Internet a également beaucoup baissé par rapport à l'année dernière (-31,7 %). La part de la publicité sur Internet chute donc entre juillet et août de 32 à 22 pour cent. La publicité à la télévision a pu reprendre en août, voyant sa part au sein de la pression publicitaire globale passer de 5 à 26 pour cent par rapport à juillet. Par rapport à l'année précédente, la publicité à la télévision du mois d'août a néanmoins reculé de 8,8 pour cent. La pression publicitaire à la radio (-5,9 %) et dans les médias papier (-3,4 %) reste à un niveau similaire à celui du mois d'août 2019.

publikation img

Vent en poupe pour les Initiatives et Campagnes

Au mois d'août, 8 des 21 branches augmentent la pression publicitaire par rapport à l'an passé. La plus forte augmentation, d'env. un tiers, est enregistrée par les initiatives et les campagnes, ce qui est dû à la votation imminente prévue pour le 27 septembre. Avec « Non à une loi sur la chasse » et « Oui à une immigration modérée » (initiative de limitation), deux représentants de la branche se trouvent dans le top 10 des produits du mois. Par ailleurs, les branches Nettoyage (+26,4 %), Numérique et électroménager (+15,8 %), Énergie (+11,8 %) et Télécommunication (+10,6 %) ont connu une croissance à deux chiffres par rapport à l'an dernier. Sur l'ensemble du marché, on constate une réduction de la pression publicitaire brute de 9,1 pour cent.


Pression publicitaire par secteurs

publikation img

Top du mois

Les top annonceurs et les produits et services faisant l'objet du plus grand nombre d'annonces publicitaires (hors promotion de l'assortiment et de l'image) en août:

publikation img

Mix de médias

Mix de médias pour le mois d'août

publikation img
Ce site utilise des cookies pour vous donner une expérience de navigation plus confortable. Plus d'informations
OK