22.09.2021

A slight increase in August


publikation img

Highlights in August

August ended with gross advertising pressure of CHF 392.7 million, thereby exceeding the previous month of July by 6.3%. This also marks an increase of 9.3% compared to August 2020.

The reason for this growth was 12 sectors that all increased their advertising pressure by double digits. The top five advertisers alone were responsible for around half of the increase compared to the previous year.

Advertising Pressure in the market as a whole

Development of Advertising Pressure as per August 2021 in million francs (gross)

publikation img publikation img

Sector order unchanged compared to previous month

12 of the 21 sectors were able to increase their advertising pressure into the double digits compared to the previous year. The clear winner in August was events (+81.2%). Given that there have been no major events in Switzerland for such a long time, people are that much more excited for what is to come, and advertising pressure has increased significantly. The main drivers of this increase were concerts, festivals and the Allianz Tag des Kinos film festival.

Leisure, gastronomy and tourism, all of which suffered greatly under the coronavirus restrictions, recorded significantly higher advertising pressure in August (+30.1%). Trivago, TUI and Booking.com saw a substantial increase in advertising. The majority of advertising for future holiday destinations in Switzerland took place online.

Other sector winners included media (+52.3%) and tobacco (+34.3%).

Telecommunications and initiatives & campaigns cut back

Whereas in July six sectors reduced their advertising pressure, in August it was only two. As in the previous month, initiatives & campaigns (-21.5%) had scaled back substantially. In August 2020, the sector recorded a significant increase (+32.7%) as a result of political campaigns and the national referendum on September 27 of that year. It remains to be seen whether we will begin to notice an uptick in this sector in September as the result of the referendum on September 26, 2021. Advertising pressure for the popular initiatives “Marriage for All” and “Reduce Tax on Salaries” could increase one month later.

While telecommunications was a winner in August 2020, one year later it lost a significant amount of advertising pressure (-25.2%).

publikation img

Top of the month

The top advertisers and most widely advertised products and services (excluding range, image and collective categories) in August

publikation img

Media Mix

Media Mix for the month of August

publikation img
This website uses cookies to give you a more comfortable browsing experience. More info
OK

22.09.2021

Légère augmentation en août


publikation img

Les temps forts du mois de août

Le mois d’août se termine avec une pression publicitaire brute de 392,7 millions de francs et surpasse ainsi le mois précédent de 6,3%. Par rapport au même mois de l’année dernière, l’augmentation est de 9,3%.

Cette hausse est due au fait que 12 secteurs sont parvenus à accroître leur pression publicitaire de plus de dix pour cent. A eux seuls, les cinq meilleurs annonceurs sont à l’origine de près de la moitié de cet accroissement sur un an.

Pression publicitaire sur le marché global

Développement de la pression publicitaire au mois d’août 2021 en millions de francs bruts

publikation img publikation img

Le classement des secteurs reste inchangé par rapport au mois dernier

12 des 21 secteurs d’activité ont pu accroître leur pression publicitaire de plus de dix pour cent. Le secteur Manifestations est le grand gagnant du mois d’août (+81,2%). Après avoir été privée d’événements pendant de longs mois, la Suisse se réjouit de les retrouver et augmente nettement sa pression publicitaire en la matière. Les concerts, les open airs et la Journée du Cinéma Allianz sont les principaux acteurs de cette hausse.

Le secteur Loisirs, Gastronomie et Tourisme, fortement éprouvé par les restrictions dues au coronavirus, a également affiché une pression publicitaire nettement plus élevée (+30,1%). Trivago, TUI et Booking.com ont considérablement renforcé leurs actions publicitaires. La publicité pour les prochaines destinations de vacances a surtout lieu en ligne. Les autres secteurs gagnants sont Médias (+52,3%) et Produits tabagiques (+34,3%).

Télécommunications et Initiatives & campagnes en recul

Tandis qu’en juillet, six secteurs d’activité avaient réduit leur pression publicitaire, on n’en compte que deux en août. Initiatives & campagnes poursuit son net recul (-21,5%) entamé le mois précédent. Le secteur avait pu afficher une augmentation considérable (+32,7%) en août 2020 grâce aux campagnes politiques et à la votation populaire du 27 septembre. Il faudra voir si les résultats de septembre seront du même ordre en raison de la votation populaire du 26 septembre prochain. Il est possible que la pression publicitaire n’augmente qu’un mois plus tard, pour le «mariage pour tous» et l’«allègement des impôts sur les salaires».

Le secteur Télécommunications, qui faisait partie des grands gagnants du mois d’août 2020, perd nettement en pression publicitaire un an plus tard (-25,2%).

publikation img

Top du mois

Les top annonceurs et les produits et services faisant l'objet du plus grand nombre d'annonces publicitaires (hors promotion d’assortiment et d’image et catégories de collection) en août

publikation img

Mix de médias

Mix de médias pour le mois d’août

publikation img
Ce site utilise des cookies pour vous donner une expérience de navigation plus confortable. Plus d'informations
OK