28.01.2019

Advertising Trend December 2018


publikation img

Highlights in December

The last month of the year closed at 616.7 million francs gross. This represents a decrease of -13.7% compared with the previous month. This means that, just as in previous years, November remains the strongest month of the year for advertising. Compared to 2017, gross advertising expenditure is growing, whether with or without data enrichment (+5.8% and +1.0% respectively).

Through the use of data enrichment in search engine marketing and the integration of YouTube, the 2018 advertising year saw a gross sum of 7 billion francs reached for the first time. Unadjusted, this corresponds to an increase of 17.7% compared with the previous year. Adjusted, organic growth sits significantly lower at 1.4%.

Data integration: Internet and TV

Since January 2017, the Internet media group has included search desktop advertising. As of the close of data in July 2017, search mobile data has also been integrated in Media Focus’s advertising statistics. In January 2018, search (desktop + mobile) was included for French-speaking Switzerland (Romandy), on the basis of ten thousand French search terms (share of search YTD: 85% DE/15% FR). Since March 2018, YouTube data (display and video) has also been included, with retroactive effect from January 2018, in the Advertising Market Trends (share of media mix YTD 1%).

Moreover, since January 2018, the TV media group has included TV sponsoring as well as the pre split, post split, single split and time advertising forms.

Advertising Pressure in the market as a whole

Development of Advertising Pressure as per December 2018


publikation img publikation img

Development of Advertising Pressure as per December 2018

publikation img

Last-Minute Change in the Top 10

As can be clearly seen, gold, silver and bronze go to the leisure, gastronomy and tourism, services and finance industries. And this is even after the finance industry, following three months of the highest advertising expenditure, took a short breather, managing to secure only seventh place in the monthly rankings.

Positions seven to ten saw one or two changes occur in 2018. An end-of-year spurt in the retail trade resulted in it overtaking the food industry, fashion & sport relegated vehicles to eighth place and business in the run-up to Christmas saw digital & household catapult to 9th position, ahead of initiatives and campaigns.

Pre-Christmas Business Pushes up Digital and Household

A new smartphone, PC, kitchen appliance or games console; whether purchased online or in-store, electronic devices must have managed to find their way under the majority of Switzerland's Christmas trees - at least in the minds of advertisers. Digital and household as well as the IT, hard- and software product group contained therein have achieved the highest percentage increase compared with the previous year (+30.4% and 30.9% respectively). Following this comes the finance industry (+25.7%) along with the insurance product group (+25.5%), while public transport companies and political campaigns show an increase of over 20%. Unlike in 2017, in December the beverages industry showed significant growth yet again, +19.5% compared with the previous month and +17.5% compared with December 2017.

Media Industry Tops the Negative List

Experiencing a decline of around one-fifth compared with 2017 (-20.7%), the media industry has had a weak year for advertising. The energy, fashion & sport and telecommunications industries also experienced double-figure percentage declines compared with the previous year. Following this are the cars (new) product group, down 9.8%, along with the cosmetics & toiletries and tobacco industries (-7.9% and -6.3% respectively). Gross advertising expenditure also fell for the watches & jewellery, personal care, vehicles and pharmaceuticals & health industries. However, these industries experienced a decline of under five percent.


Top 10 of the month

The Top 10 advertisers and most widely advertised products/services (not including range and image advertising) in December

publikation img

Media Mix

The integration of the search data, desktop (January 2017) and mobile (July 2017) into the Media Focus advertising statistics has led to a significant increase in the Internet proportion of the media mix. Since January 2018, search data for French-speaking Switzerland (Romandy) has also been collected (share of search: 85% German/15% French).

publikation img
This website uses cookies to give you a more comfortable browsing experience. More info
OK

28.01.2019

Tendance du marché publicitaire décembre 2018


publikation img

Les temps forts du mois de décembre

Le dernier mois de l'année se clôture avec 616.7 millions de francs brut. Cela correspond à un recul de -13,7% par rapport au mois précédent. Il est donc évident que novembre demeure, tout comme l'année précédente, le mois de l'année enregistrant le plus grand nombre de campagnes publicitaires. En revanche, en comparaison avec 2017, la pression publicitaire augmente - avec ou sans extension de données (+5.8%, respectivement +1.0%).

Grâce aux extensions de données dans le marketing sur les moteurs de recherche et l'intégration de YouTube, l'année publicitaire 2018 franchit pour la première fois les 7 milliards de francs bruts en marques. Cela correspond sans ajustement à une hausse de 17.7 pour cent par rapport à l'année précédente. La croissance organique corrigée est clairement inférieure à raison de 1.4 pour cent.

Intégration de données: Internet et TV

Depuis janvier 2017, le groupe de médias Internet est présenté, y compris la publicité Search-Desktop. Depuis juillet 2017, Search-Mobile est également intégré dans les statistiques publicitaires de Media Focus. En janvier 2018, Search (Desktop + Mobile) a été intégré en Suisse romande sur la base de dizaines de milliers de termes de recherche français (part de Search YTD: 85% DE/15% FR). Depuis mars 2018, les données YouTube (Display et vidéo) sont également rapportées rétroactivement dans la tendance du marché publicitaire à partir de janvier 2018 (part du mix média YTD 1%).

En outre, à partir de janvier 2018, le groupe de médias TV inclura le sponsoring TV ainsi que les formats publicitaires Pre Split, Post Split, Single Split et Time.


Pression publicitaire sur le marché global

Développement de la pression publicitaire au mois de décembre 2018

publikation img publikation img

Développement de la pression publicitaire au mois de décembre 2018

publikation img

Changements de dernière minute dans le Top 10

L'or, l'argent et le bronze reviennent, comme déjà nettement confirmé, aux branches loisirs, gastronomie & tourisme, services ainsi que finance. Même lorsque la branche finance, après trois mois de pression publicitaire la plus élevée, s'est accordée en décembre un léger répit et s'est retrouvée seulement à la septième place dans le classement mensuel.

Un ou l'autre changement intervient encore en 2018 dans les classements de la septième à la dixième place. Le commerce de détail dépasse la branche produits alimentaires dans la dernière ligne droite avant la fin de l'année, les branches mode & sport renvoient les véhicules à la huitième place et les achats précédant Noël ont catapulté le digital & ménage à la place 9 le plaçant avant les initiatives & campagnes.

Les achats précédant Noël boostent le digital & ménage

Un nouveau smartphone, un ordinateur, un robot culinaire ou une console de jeux - qu'ils soient achetés en ligne ou au magasin - les appareils électroniques auront été placés sous la plupart des sapins de Noël en Suisse, du moins selon l'idée des publicitaires. Le digital et ménage ainsi que les groupes de produits associés comme les produits informatiques, hard- & software enregistrent la plus forte augmentation du pourcentage par rapport à l'année précédente (+30.4%, respectivement +30.9%). Juste derrière suit la branche finance (+25.7%) avec le groupe de produits assurances (+25.5%) et les entreprises de transport ainsi que les campagnes politiques qui affichent une augmentation supérieure à 20 pour cent. Contrairement à 2017, la branche boissons progresse encore nettement en décembre avec +19.5 pour cent par rapport au mois précédent et +17.5 pour cent par rapport au mois de décembre 2017.

La branche Médias se situe en tête de la liste négative

Avec un recul d'environ un cinquième en comparaison avec 2017 (-20.7%), la branche Médias clôture une année faible sur le plan publicitaire. De même, par rapport à l'année précédente, les branches énergie, mode & sport ainsi que les télécommunications connaissent une baisse en pourcentage à deux chiffres. Suivent ensuite les groupes de produits VP (nouveaux) avec un recul de 9.8 pour cent ainsi que les branches cosmétiques et soins du corps (-7.9%) et produits tabagiques (-6.3%). De même, les montres & bijouterie, besoins personnels, la branche véhicules, pharmaceutique & santé diminuent la pression publicitaire. Le recul est toutefois inférieur à cinq pour cent.


Top 10 du mois

Les 10 premiers annonceurs et les produits et services faisant l'objet du plus grand nombre d'annonces publicitaires (hors promotion de l'assortiment et de l'image) en décembre

publikation img

Mix de médias

L'intégration des données de recherche, Desktop (janvier 2017) et Mobile (juillet 2017) dans les statistiques publicitaires de Media Focus a entraîné une augmentation significative de la part Internet dans le mix de médias. Depuis janvier 2018, on recueille également des données de recherche pour la Suisse romande (la recherche étant répartie comme suit: 85% DE/15% FR).

publikation img
Ce site utilise des cookies pour vous donner une expérience de navigation plus confortable. Plus d'informations
OK