17.01.2020

Advertising Market Trend December 2019


publikation img

Highlights in December

In the last month of 2019, gross advertising expenditure amounted to 622.6 million francs. With a minimal increase of 1.2%, December closed at almost the same level as in the previous year. As in the preceding years, advertising pressure fell again in December after reaching its highest level of the year in November. Over the year as a whole, advertising pressure rose by 2.4 percent in 2019 compared to the previous year.

Advertising Pressure in the market as a whole

Development of Advertising Pressure as per December 2019

publikation img publikation img

No changes to the industry ranking list in December

The last advertising month of 2019 brought no more changes as regards industry rankings. The facts are thus as follows: in 2019, as in the previous year, the highest advertising pressure of all sectors was attributable to the sector of leisure, gastronomy, tourism. The sector leading in terms of advertising increased its annual advertising pressure by almost 12 percent compared to the previous year. This is notable as it is the third highest increase by percentage of all sectors. Furthermore, it was the first sector ever to cross the 700-million threshold. Second by a wide margin was the sector of services with around 75 million francs (gross), representing an increase in advertising pressure of 7.4 percent compared to 2018. As in 2018, the bronze medal went to the finance sector, which also evidenced a slight increase over the previous year (+2.3%), for the first time generating advertising pressure of more than 600 million francs (gross).

No notable fluctuations compared to the same month last year

The tobacco products sector, which is by law not allowed to advertise on television or on the radio in Switzerland, incurred the lowest advertising pressure of all sectors, with an annual advertising pressure of just under 14 million francs (gross). Nonetheless, the highest growth rate of all sectors was achieved by the tobacco products sector in 2019. Driven mainly by e-cigarette advertising, the industry’s advertising pressure rocketed by 124.1 percent compared to 2018. In addition to the energy sector (+15.4%) and the sector of leisure, gastronomy, tourism (+11.9%), personal care (+11.1%) also increased the annual advertising pressure at a double-digit percentage rate.

No drastic reductions in advertising pressure across all sectors

Six of 21 sectors reduced the advertising pressure compared to the previous year. The reductions are, however, modest, with none of the sectors reducing their advertising pressure at a double-digit percentage rate. The biggest decline was in the initiatives & campaigns sector with a decline of 8.7 percent. The sectors of beverages (-5.6%), fashion & sport (-4.3%) and food (-2.5%) also spent less on advertising than in the previous year. Events (-1.5%) and building, industry, furnishings (-1%) generated an advertising pressure in 2019 which was almost identical to that of the previous year.


Advertising pressure in the sectors

Advertising pressure in the sectors with comparative figures for the previous year

publikation img

Top 10 of the month

The top 10 advertisers and most widely advertised products and services (excluding range and image advertising) in December:

publikation img

Top 10 of the year

The top 10 advertisers and most widely advertised products and services (excluding range and image advertising) in 2019:

publikation img

Media Mix in December

The integration of the search data, desktop (January 2017) and mobile (July 2017) into the Media Focus advertising statistics has led to a significant increase in the Internet proportion of the media mix. Since January 2018, search data for French-speaking Switzerland (Romandy) has also been collected (share of search: 85% German/15% French).

publikation img

Media Mix in 2019

The media mix of the entire Swiss advertising market changed only slightly in 2019 compared to the previous year. The only thing that is noticeable is a shift of print advertising pressure towards Internet advertising. Hence, Internet advertising accounted for 40 percent of annual advertising pressure, an increase of 4 percent over 2018. At the same time, print media lost 4 percent of the total, accounting for around a fifth of the annual advertising pressure. Out-of-home advertising accounted for 10 percent of the annual advertising pressure (+1%), with radio advertising down to 2 percent (-1%). Television and cinema advertising retained their shares.

publikation img
This website uses cookies to give you a more comfortable browsing experience. More info
OK

17.01.2020

Tendance du marché publicitaire décembre 2019


publikation img

Les temps forts du mois de décembre

Au dernier mois de l'année 2019, la pression publicitaire s'élève à 622,6 mio. de francs suisses bruts. Le mois de décembre se termine avec une hausse minime (+1,2%), à un niveau quasi identique à la même période l'année dernière. Comme ces dernières années, la pression publicitaire diminue à nouveau en décembre, après avoir atteint sa valeur maximale en novembre. Sur l'année, la pression publicitaire brute a donc augmenté de 2.4 pour cent en 2019 par rapport à l'année précédente.

Pression publicitaire sur le marché global

Développement de la pression publicitaire au mois de décembre 2019

publikation img publikation img

Décembre ne change rien au classement des secteurs

Le dernier mois publicitaire de l'année 2019 n'a pas apporté de modification au classement des secteurs. Ainsi, l'ordre est définitif: le secteur Loisirs, gastronomie et tourisme est celui qui a généré la pression publicitaire la plus forte en 2019, comme l'an dernier. Ce secteur qui diffuse le plus de publicités voit sa pression publicitaire annuelle augmenter de près de 12 pour cent comparé à l'année dernière. Cette hausse a beau être conséquente, c'est seulement le troisième pourcentage le plus haut de tous les secteurs. De plus, le secteur en tête dépasse largement la barre des 700 millions. Loin derrière avec 75 MCHF (bruts), on trouve le secteur des services en deuxième position, dont la pression publicitaire a augmenté de 7.4 pour cent comparé à 2018. Comme en 2018, la médaille de bronze revient au secteur Financier, qui a lui aussi vu sa pression publicitaire augmenter légèrement comparé à l'année précédente (+2.3%) et a généré pour la première fois une pression publicitaire brute supérieure à 600 mio. de francs suisses bruts.

Pas de fluctuations majeures comparé au même mois l'an dernier

Le secteur des Produits tabagiques, qui ne peut pas diffuser de publicités à la télévision et à la radio suisses dû aux dispositions légales, génère la pression publicitaire la plus faible de tous les secteurs avec une pression annuelle d'à peine 14 mio. de francs suisses bruts. En pourcentage, le secteur des Produits tabagiques est celui qui a connu la plus forte augmentation en 2019. Porté principalement par la publicité pour les e-cigarettes, la pression publicitaire du secteur a connu une hausse de 124.1 pour cent comparé à 2018. Outre le secteur de l'Énergie (+15.4%) et le secteur des Loisirs, gastronomie et tourisme (+11.9%), les besoins personnels (+11.1%) contribuent eux aussi à faire atteindre un pourcentage à deux chiffres à la pression publicitaire annuelle.

Pas de baisses drastiques de la pression publicitaire dans les différents secteurs

6 secteurs sur 21 ont vu leur pression publicitaire baisser comparé à l'année précédente. Les reculs sont toutefois explicables, et aucun secteur ne voit sa pression publicitaire baisser de plus de 9%. C'est le secteur Initiatives & campagnes qui enregistre le recul le plus net de l'année, avec une baisse de 8.7 pour cent. La présence publicitaire des secteurs Boissons (-5.6%), Mode & sport (-4.3%) et Agroalimentaire (-2.5%) a été moins forte comparé à l'année précédente. En 2019, l'Événementiel (-1.5%) et la Construction, l'industrie et les équipements (-1%) génèrent une pression publicitaire quasi identique à l'année précédente.


Pression publicitaire par secteurs

Pression publicitaire par secteurs comparée à l'année précédente

publikation img

Top 10 du mois

Les 10 premiers annonceurs et les produits et services faisant l'objet du plus grand nombre d'annonces publicitaires (hors promotion de l'assortiment et de l'image) en décembre:

publikation img

Top 10 de l'année

Les 10 premiers annonceurs et les produits et services faisant l'objet du plus grand nombre d'annonces publicitaires (hors promotion de l'assortiment et de l'image) en 2019:

publikation img

Mix de médias décembre

L'intégration des données de recherche, Desktop (janvier 2017) et Mobile (juillet 2017) dans les statistiques publicitaires de Media Focus a entraîné une augmentation significative de la part Internet dans le mix de médias. Depuis janvier 2018, on recueille également des données de recherche pour la Suisse romande (la recherche étant répartie comme suit: 85% DE/15% FR).

publikation img

Mix de médias 2019

Le mix de médias de l'ensemble du marché publicitaire suisse n'a que très peu évolué en 2019 comparé à l'année précédente. On observe uniquement un déplacement de la pression publicitaire dans la presse écrite au profit de la publicité sur Internet. Ainsi, la publicité sur Internet représente 40 pour cent de la pression publicitaire annuelle, ce qui correspond à une augmentation de 4 pour cent comparé à 2018. En parallèle, la presse écrite perd 4 pour cent de parts et ne représente plus qu'environ un cinquième de la pression publicitaire annuelle. La publicité extérieure (out-of-home) contribue à la pression publicitaire annuelle à hauteur de 10% (+1%), et la publicité à la radio n'atteint qu'un petit score de 2% (-1%). La publicité télévisuelle et au cinéma conservent leurs parts respectives.

publikation img
Ce site utilise des cookies pour vous donner une expérience de navigation plus confortable. Plus d'informations
OK