19.01.2021

Swiss advertising market ends 2020 down 14%


publikation img

Highlights in December and in 2020 overall

The 2020 gross advertising pressure figures for Switzerland are now available. At CHF 499 million, advertising pressure in December narrowly missed hitting the 500-million mark and was down just 3.1% on the December 2019 figure.

Thus, advertising pressure in the Swiss market for 2020 as a whole settled at CHF 5.2 billion gross. This corresponds to a drop of around 835 million or 14%. The initial forecasts after the first lockdown in spring offered an even gloomier outlook for the future of the Swiss advertising market.

The three months from March through May 2020 lagged more than 30% behind the 2019 values and accounted for some 500 million of the advertising pressure lost in 2020 – the year of coronavirus. The steepest percentage decrease occurred in the month of April (−40%). In March, it was −33%.

The situation improved slightly in the subsequent months. The initial uncertainty was overcome, processes and content were adapted and campaigns were launched, with the result that the decrease hovered at around 10% of the previous year’s value. In particular, the top 20 advertisers, which are responsible for around 25% of the total advertising pressure (around 30,000 active advertisers in 2020), released the handbrake in June and began pressing down on the gas instead, thus mitigating the overall decline. In June, July and August – traditionally the summer slow period in the advertising sector – they managed to increase their advertising pressure by 12% compared with 2019. They maintained this pressure throughout the fall and even recorded a plus of 22% in the final month of the year.

Out-of-home advertising also proved exceptionally crisis-proof. Following a belated slump in April, by June this media group was hovering just below the previous year’s level and was the only one to register substantial growth over the summer and into the fall (+8% to +26%).

Advertising Pressure in the market as a whole

Development of Advertising Pressure as per December 2020 in million francs (gross)

publikation img publikation img

Pandemic winners and losers

Advertising pressure increased in just 3 out of 21 sectors compared with the previous year: retail, which generated by far the highest advertising pressure of 2020 (+9.5%); initiatives and campaigns, which was bolstered by the Federal Office of Public Health’s coronavirus campaign and various referenda (+10.3%); and, finally, cleaning (+7.1%). However, a look beneath the surface of the individual product groups is even more revealing. Of 120 product groups, advertising pressure went up in around a third compared with the previous year – by more than 5%, even, in around 20% of them. These include, among others, TV and home entertainment, internet, processed foodstuffs, savings and investment products, gardening, tobacco products image advertising, media image advertising, spirits, hair removal and shaving products, and household appliances.

The list of losers in 2020 is lamentably long. Advertising pressure went down by double digits in more than half of all sectors. Beverages, food, finance, construction, industry, furnishings, cosmetics and toiletries, and digital and household goods got off comparatively lightly.

The worst-hit sectors were events (−60.9%), followed by transportation services (−50.7%), then leisure, gastronomy and tourism (-31.1%). And there is little hope for improvement, when the data for December and the ongoing second lockdown are taken into account.

Sectors that rallied in December, recording an increase that month compared with 2020 as a whole, were: tobacco products (+56.7% vs −28%), personal care (+4.2% vs −17.3%), beverages (+49.9% vs −8.5%), food (+7.4% vs −7.4%), construction, industry, furnishings (+13% vs −6.8%), cosmetics and toiletries (+30.9% vs −6.3%) and digital and household goods (+14.8% vs −3.4%). Whether or not this development can be sustained in light of the second lockdown remains to be seen.

publikation img

Federal Office of Public Health’s coronavirus campaign leads the way

Taking their places on the podium as the strongest advertisers – both for 2020 as a whole and the month of December – were Coop, Migros and Procter & Gamble. Just three companies that didn’t make it into the overall top 10 for the year featured in the December ranking: Henkel, Unilever and Emmi. Making way for them were retailers Lidl and Denner, along with Reckitt Benckiser, all of which dropped out of the top 10 for the last month of the year.

The Federal Office of Public Health’s coronavirus campaign was the most advertised product in the Swiss advertising market, both in the current month and throughout the year as a whole. Looking at the rest of the top 10 products in 2020, it’s clear they come from a range of different sectors. Nevertheless, they have two things in common. On the one hand, they reflect people’s basic needs, particularly as manifested in times of crisis: food, love, financial security, hygiene. On the other, they reveal which business and distribution channels are crisis-proof.

Top 10 in December and 2020 as a whole

The top advertisers and most widely advertised products and services (excluding range and image advertising)

publikation img publikation img

Media Mix

Media Mix in December and 2020 as a whole

TV the strongest-performing media group

All media groups lost advertising pressure in 2020. In terms of percentage declines, however, they differed considerably. Cinema advertising, at times nonexistent, decreased by 73% in 2020. At the other end of the scale, out-of-home advertising went down by just 7%.

TV advertising was the biggest generator of advertising pressure in the Swiss market in 2020. In December, TV advertising pressure even exceeded the previous year’s figure by +7%. Like print and radio, however, TV achieved its strongest performance in November – the best month overall in terms of advertising pressure. On average, TV recorded a decrease of 14% for the year as a whole. Print advertising took the runner-up spot in the media mix, followed by internet, out-of-home, radio and cinema. What stands out in December is the shift between TV and out-of-home: where TV forged ahead, out-of-home lost its share.

publikation img publikation img

Outlook

2020 will go down in history as an unforgettable year – or rather, “a year to forget.” Nationwide lockdowns, travel bans, working from home, quarantine, constant package deliveries and general uncertainty. People were forced to rethink things and had to change their usual habits. We’re now spending more time within our own four walls and adapting our consumption habits accordingly.

As a driver of digital transformation, COVID-19 has also pushed the way we work further into the virtual domain. The main advertisers in Switzerland had to adapt their activities to the new reality in 2020, too. The initial shock-induced paralysis in spring meant budgets that had already been planned had to be revised downward, although a slight recovery could be observed over the summer. In 2021, it will become apparent which changes are here to stay and what effect the losses experienced in the worst-hit sectors will have on advertising budget planning.

This website uses cookies to give you a more comfortable browsing experience. More info
OK

19.01.2021

Le marché publicitaire suisse clôture l’année 2020 avec une baisse de 14%


publikation img

Les temps forts du mois de décembre et de 2020

Les chiffres annuels de la pression publicitaire brute en Suisse sont désormais disponibles pour 2020. Avec 499 millions de francs suisses, la pression publicitaire du mois de décembre a manqué de peu la barre des 500 millions et n’est inférieure que de 3,1% au chiffre de l’année précédente.

La pression publicitaire sur le marché publicitaire suisse en 2020 s’élève donc à 5,2 milliards de francs publicitaires bruts. Cela correspond à une baisse d’environ 835 millions, soit 14%. Les prévisions annoncées après le premier confinement du printemps avaient brossé un tableau encore plus sombre de l’avenir du marché publicitaire suisse.

Les trois mois de mars à mai 2020 ont accusé une baisse de 30% par rapport aux valeurs de 2019, expliquant ainsi le recul de la pression publicitaire brute (chiffré à près de 500 millions) au cours d’une année 2020 marquée par le coronavirus. La plus forte baisse de pourcentage a été enregistrée au mois d’avril (-40%), contre -33% en mars.

La situation s’est toutefois légèrement améliorée dans les mois qui ont suivi. L’incertitude initiale a été surmontée, les processus et les contenus ont été adaptés, les campagnes ont été lancées et la baisse s’est stabilisée à environ 10% de la valeur de l’année précédente. Les 20 premiers annonceurs notamment, responsables d’environ 25% de la pression publicitaire (~30 000 annonceurs actifs en 2020), ont non seulement desserré le frein à main au cours du mois de juin, mais ont également appuyé sur l’accélérateur de manière significative, jusqu’à affaiblir le déclin général. En juin, juillet et août (mois marquant la pause estivale du marché publicitaire), ces derniers ont augmenté leur pression publicitaire de 12% par rapport à 2019. Après un maintien de la pression à l’automne, une hausse de 22% a finalement été enregistrée au cours du dernier mois de l’année.

La publicité Out-of-Home s’est par ailleurs montrée extrêmement résistante à la crise. Après un effondrement retardé en avril, le groupe de médias n’était que légèrement inférieur au niveau de l’année précédente en juin et a même été le seul à afficher une croissance significative de l’été jusqu’à l'automne (+8% à +26%).

Pression publicitaire sur le marché global

Développement de la pression publicitaire au mois de décembre 2020 en millions de francs bruts

publikation img publikation img

Les gagnants et les perdants de la crise

Seuls 3 des 21 secteurs ont pu augmenter leur pression publicitaire par rapport à l’année précédente. D’un côté figure le commerce de détail, qui a également généré de loin la plus forte pression publicitaire en 2020 (+9,5%). De l’autre côté, on trouve le secteur Initiatives et campagnes, dynamisé par la campagne contre le coronavirus de l’OFSP et par les votations populaires (+10,3%), et enfin, le secteur du nettoyage (+7,1%). Toutefois, si l’on examine les différents groupes de produits plus en détail, d’autres marchés se distinguent. Sur 120 groupes de produits, près d’un tiers ont augmenté leur pression publicitaire par rapport à l’année précédente. Environ 20% l’ont même augmenté de plus de 5%. Parmi eux figurent notamment les secteurs Télévision et divertissement à domicile, Internet, Produits diététiques, Produits de prévoyance et de placement, Jardinage, Image des produits tabagiques, Image des médias, Spiritueux, Epilation et rasage, et Appareils ménagers.

La liste des perdants de 2020 est longue. Plus de la moitié des secteurs ont affiché une réduction à deux chiffres de leur pression publicitaire. En comparaison, les secteurs Boissons, Produits alimentaires, Finance, Construction, industrie et ameublement, Cosmétiques et soins du corps, et Digital et ménage ont été relativement peu touchés.

Les secteurs les plus touchés sont l’industrie événementielle (-60,9%), suivie par les transports en commun (-50,7%), les loisirs, la gastronomie et le tourisme (-31.1%). Aucune amélioration n’est à noter si l’on tient compte des données du mois de décembre et du deuxième confinement.

D’autres se sont montrés combatifs en décembre: les secteurs Produits tabagiques (+56,7% contre -28%), Besoins personnels (+4,2% contre -17,3%), Boissons (+49,9% contre -8,5%), Produits alimentaires (+7,4% contre -7,4%), Construction, industrie et ameublement (+13% contre -6,8%), Cosmétiques et soins du corps (+30,9% contre -6,3%), et Digital et ménage (+14.8% contre -3,4%) ont commencé à remonter la pente en décembre (décembre par rapport à 2020). Reste à voir si cette tendance se maintiendra malgré le deuxième confinement.

publikation img

La campagne contre le coronavirus de l’OFSP en première ligne

Coop, Migros et Procter & Gamble se hissent sur le podium des meilleurs annonceurs non seulement pour le mois de décembre, mais également pour l’ensemble de l’année 2020. Henkel, Unilever et Emmi sont les 3 seules entreprises du classement de décembre qui ne figurent pas dans le top 10 de 2020. Les deux détaillants Lidl et Denner, ainsi que Reckitt Benckiser, ont quant à eux quitté le classement des 10 premiers annonceurs au cours du dernier mois de l’année.

La campagne contre le coronavirus de l’OFSP est le produit le plus promu sur le marché publicitaire suisse, tant pour le mois en cours que pour l’ensemble de l’année. L’examen des produits restants du top 10 de 2020 nous montre que les produits les plus promus proviennent de secteurs hétérogènes. Cependant, deux points communs sont à noter: d’une part, ces secteurs reflètent les besoins fondamentaux de la population, en particulier en période de crise (la nourriture, l’amour, la sécurité financière, l’hygiène), et d’autre part, ils montrent quels canaux de vente et de distribution sont capables de résister à la crise.

Top 10 de décembre et de 2020

Les top annonceurs et les produits et services faisant l'objet du plus grand nombre d'annonces publicitaires (hors promotion de l'assortiment et de l'image)

publikation img publikation img

Mix de médias

Mix de médias de décembre et de 2020

Groupe de médias le plus performant en matière de télévision

En 2020, tous les groupes de médias ont enregistré des pertes de pression publicitaire. Toutefois, les baisses de pourcentage présentent parfois des écarts considérables. La publicité au cinéma, en partie inexistante, a diminué de 73% en 2020. A l’autre extrémité se trouve la publicité Out-of-Home avec une baisse de seulement 7%.

La publicité télévisée a généré la plus forte pression publicitaire sur le marché suisse en 2020. En décembre, la pression publicitaire de la télévision était même plus élevée que lors de l’année précédente (+7%). Cependant, comme la publicité imprimée et la publicité radio, le groupe de médias a atteint sa valeur maximale en novembre, mois au cours duquel la pression publicitaire globale est la plus forte. Avec une baisse de 14%, la télévision se situe dans la moyenne sur l’ensemble de l’année. La publicité imprimée occupe la deuxième place dans le mix de médias, suivie par la publicité Internet, Out-of-Home, radio et cinéma. En décembre, la transition de la publicité télévisée à la publicité Out-of-Home est frappante. Si la télévision a gagné du terrain, le groupe de médias Out-of-Home a quant à lui perdu des parts.

publikation img publikation img

Aperçu

2020 restera gravée dans les livres d’histoire comme une année inoubliable, ou plutôt «une année à oublier». Confinements nationaux, interdictions d’entrée sur le territoire, travail à domicile, quarantaine, vague de colis et incertitude générale. L’humanité toute entière a été obligée de repenser et de changer ses habitudes. Nous passons plus de temps chez nous et adaptons nos habitudes de consommation en conséquence.

En tant que moteur de la transformation numérique, le Covid-19 a également réorienté notre travail vers l’espace virtuel. Les annonceurs suisses ont eux aussi dû adapter leurs activités à la nouvelle situation en 2020. Dès les premiers instants de l’état de choc au printemps, les budgets planifiés ont été revus à la baisse. Une légère reprise a ensuite été enregistrée pendant l’été. L’année 2021 montrera sans aucun doute quels changements prévaudront sur le long terme et quelle influence les pertes de chiffre d’affaires auront sur la planification des budgets publicitaires dans les secteurs les plus touchés.

Ce site utilise des cookies pour vous donner une expérience de navigation plus confortable. Plus d'informations
OK