20.03.2018

Advertising Market Trend February 2018


publikation img

Highlights in February

With advertising expenditure of 515 million Swiss francs (gross) in February 2018 the Swiss advertising market remained at the same level as the previous month. Compared with 2017, this unadjusted figure corresponds to an increase of approximately a third (33.8%) - but even without the integration of the search data capture, the growth of the Swiss advertising market amounts to 6.6 per cent. The main growth drivers are the leisure, gastronomy and tourism industries and retail trade. The two first months of the 2018 together account for gross advertising expenditure of 1,031.6 million Swiss francs (without including search data: CHF 822.1m.).

Data integration: Internet and TV media groups

Search advertising has been included in the reporting of the Internet media group since January 2017. The media mix is reported monthly in the "Trends in the advertising market" publication. Search advertising includes search desktop data. As of the close of data in July 2017, search mobile has also been integrated in Media Focus' advertising statistics as well as search desktop. Since January 2018, search data for the French-speaking part of Switzerland has also been collected on the basis of ten thousand French search terms (share of search YTD: 87% DE/13% FR). Moreover , since January 2018, the TV media group has been reported including TV sponsoring and the advertising methods: pre split, post split, single split and time.


Advertising Pressure in the market as a whole

Development of Advertising Pressure as per January 2019

publikation img publikation img

Leisure, gastronomy and tourism extend their lead

In February, the industry of leisure, gastronomy and tourism pulled even further ahead of the second-placed industry of services. This is particularly remarkable if one considers the fact that leisure, gastronomy and tourism reduced its advertising pressure by more than a quarter (- 28%) compared with January 2018, and that services, after fashion & sport, is the industry with highest growth compared with last year. Retail trade, vehicles and building, industry and furnishings follow unchanged in 3rd to 5th places.

Referendum livens up political campaigns

The product group political campaigns was able to make gains in February for the first time in 6 months and in fact did so considerably with an increase of 36.2 per cent, meaning it spent 7.4 million francs on advertising. This is to be attributed in particular to the commitment of the opponents of the No-Billag campaign.

Food during Lent fasting

The food industry has considerably reduced its advertising pressure by 17.6 per cent compared with the previous year. This corresponds to a decrease of 7.9 million Swiss francs (gross) in absolute terms. After its boom period in December and January, the product group TV & home entertainment took it a bit more slowly again in February. Compared with the previous year, it has decreased even more - by minus 11.2 per cent. The media industry also forfeits advertising pressure again (- 9.2%), making it one of the losers for the third time in a row.


Advertising pressure in the sectors

Advertising pressure in the sectors with comparative figures for the previous year

publikation img

Top 10 of the month

The Top 10 advertisers and most widely advertised products/services (not including range and image advertising) in February

publikation img

Media Mix

The integration of the search data, desktop (January 2017) and mobile (July 2017) into the Media Focus advertising statistics has led to a significant increase in the Internet proportion of the media mix. Since January 2018, search data for French-speaking Switzerland (Romandy) has also been collected (share of search: 85% German/15% French).

publikation img
This website uses cookies to give you a more comfortable browsing experience. More info
OK

20.03.2018

Tendance du marché publicitaire février 2018


publikation img

Les points culminants en février

Avec une pression publicitaire de 515 millions de francs bruts en février 2018, le marché publicitaire suisse revient au niveau du mois précédent. Comparé à 2017, cela correspond sans ajustement à une augmentation d’environ un tiers (33,8 %). Cela étant, même sans accroissement de la saisie des données de recherche, la croissance du marché publicitaire suisse s’établit à 6,6 %. Les principaux moteurs de la croissance sont les branches loisirs, gastronomie, tourisme et commerce de détail. Les deux premiers mois de l’année 2018 cumulés montrent une pression publicitaire de 1 031,6 millions de francs bruts (sans recherche d’extension de données : 822,1 millions de CHF).

Intégration des données : groupe de médias Internet et groupe de médias TV

Le groupe de médias Internet est affiché publicité Search incluse depuis janvier 2017. Le mix de médias est publié mensuellement dans le marché publicitaire. La publicité Search comprend les données concernant Search-Desktop. À la clôture des données du mois de juillet 2017, Search-Mobile est intégrée à la statistique publicitaire et y est affichée aux côtés de Search-Desktop. Depuis janvier 2018, les données de recherche sont également collectées pour la Suisse romande sur la base de dizaines de milliers de termes de recherche (part d’YTD Search : 87 % DE/13 % FR). De plus, le groupe de médias TV est affiché depuis janvier 2018 avec sponsoring TV et les formes de publicité Pre Split, Post Split, Single Split et Time.


Pression publicitaire sur le marché global

Développement de la pression publicitaire au mois de février 2018

publikation img publikation img

Loisirs, gastronomie et tourisme conforte sa première place

En février, la branche loisirs, gastronomie et tourisme creuse encore l’écart avec la branche services, en deuxième position. C’est particulièrement frappant lorsque l’on considère que la branche loisirs, gastronomie et tourisme a réduit sa pression publicitaire de plus d’un quart (-28 %) par rapport à janvier 2018 et que la branche services se classe juste après mode & sport dans celles qui enregistrent la plus forte croissance comparé à l’année précédente. Suivent aux places 3 à 5 le commerce de détail, véhicules et constructions, industries, ameublement, soit aucun changement.

La bataille électorale revigore le groupe campagnes politiques

Le groupe de produits campagnes électorales reprend en février du poil de la bête pour la première fois en six mois, avec une augmentation notable de 36,2 %, ce qui équivaut à 7,4 millions de francs de publicité. Ceci est à mettre au compte de l’engagement des adversaires de la campagne no billag.

Produits alimentaires en période de Carême

La branche produits alimentaires recule nettement de 17,6 pour cent par rapport à l’année précédente. Cela correspond à un recul absolu de 7,9 millions de francs bruts. Après un pic en décembre et en janvier, le groupe de produits télévision & divertissement à domicile progresse de nouveau plus lentement en février. Par rapport à l’année précédente, il recule même de manière encore plus frappante avec une diminution de 11,2 %. Les médias perdent également à nouveau en pression publicitaire (-9,2 %). Cette branche se retrouve ainsi pour la troisième fois consécutive parmi les perdants.


Pression publicitaire par secteurs

Pression publicitaire par secteurs comparée à l'année précédente

publikation img

Top 10 du mois

Les 10 premiers annonceurs et les produits et services faisant l'objet du plus grand nombre d'annonces publicitaires (hors promotion de l'assortiment et de l'image) en février.

publikation img

Mix de médias

L'intégration des données de recherche, Desktop (janvier 2017) et Mobile (juillet 2017) dans les statistiques publicitaires de Media Focus a entraîné une augmentation significative de la part Internet dans le mix de médias. Depuis janvier 2018, on recueille également des données de recherche pour la Suisse romande (la recherche étant répartie comme suit: 85% DE/15% FR).

publikation img
Ce site utilise des cookies pour vous donner une expérience de navigation plus confortable. Plus d'informations
OK