21.03.2019

Advertising Market Trend February 2019


publikation img

Highlights in February

Gross advertising expenditure in February was CHF 471.5 million, significantly lower (-19.7%) than in the first month of 2019. Advertising pressure also fell by 9.1 percent year-on-year. A closer look at the sectors shows that almost all the sectors have reduced their advertising pressure compared with February 2018. After two months, the annual advertising pressure is at CHF 1,059 million and is thus with an increase of 2 percent still on course for growth compared to 2018.

Data integration: Internet and TV

Since January 2017, the Internet media group has included search desktop advertising. As of the close of data in July 2017, search mobile data has also been integrated in Media Focus’s advertising statistics. In January 2018, search (desktop + mobile) was included for French-speaking Switzerland (Romandy), on the basis of ten thousand French search terms (share of search YTD: 85% DE/15% FR). Since March 2018, YouTube data (display and video) has also been included, with retroactive effect from January 2018, in the Advertising Market Trends (share of media mix YTD 1%).

Moreover, since January 2018, the TV media group has included TV sponsoring as well as the pre split, post split, single split and time advertising forms.


Advertising Pressure in the market as a whole

Development of Advertising Pressure as per February 2019

publikation img publikation img

No changes in the industry rankings

In comparison with the industry as a whole, little has changed since the previous month of January. Leisure, gastronomy & tourism continue to be the at the top, followed at a considerable distance by the sectors of Services and Vehicles. The only reshuffling took place in the lower part of the ranking, where Cosmetics & toiletries, Events and Personal care changed places.

Tendency towards lower advertising pressure - with a few exceptions

In comparison to the same month of the previous year, the gross advertising pressure of the vast majority of sectors has decreased. One of the main exceptions is the TV & Home Entertainment product group (+76.2% year-on-year). The tobacco industry is also among this group of surprising winners, having increased advertising pressure by an impressive 209.3 percent compared to the same month last year. However, this effort on the part of the tobacco industry is not enough to eliminate the red warning light. The energy sector managed to increase advertising pressure by 13.5 percent compared to February 2018.

Initiatives and campaigns with the sharpest decline

Initiatives and campaigns recorded the sharpest declines in advertising pressure compared to the previous year (-26.2%), including the product group political campaigns (-53%). This can be explained by the popular initiative "No Billag" of 4th March 2018, which was widely discussed and advertised at the beginning of last year. The sector of Beverages, where advertising pressure fell by 25.6 percent compared to February 2018, and the Food industry (-22.5%) have also suffered significant losses. The retail trade (-18.5%) and public transport companies (-18%) also saw a significant reduction in gross advertising pressure compared with the same month last year.


Advertising pressure in the sectors

Advertising pressure in the sectors with comparative figures for the previous year

publikation img

Top 10 of the month

The Top 10 advertisers and most widely advertised products/services (not including range and image advertising) in February

publikation img

Media Mix

The integration of the search data, desktop (January 2017) and mobile (July 2017) into the Media Focus advertising statistics has led to a significant increase in the Internet proportion of the media mix. Since January 2018, search data for French-speaking Switzerland (Romandy) has also been collected (share of search: 85% German/15% French).

publikation img
This website uses cookies to give you a more comfortable browsing experience. More info
OK

21.03.2019

Tendance du marché publicitaire février 2019


publikation img

Les temps forts du mois de février

La pression publicitaire brute du mois de février atteint 471.5 millions de CHF, soit nettement moins (-19.7%) que le mois de janvier 2019. Par rapport au mois de janvier 2018, la pression publicitaire a perdu 9.1pour cent. En observant le phénomène secteur par secteur, on constate d'ailleurs que presque tous les secteurs ont diminué leur pression publicitaire par rapport au mois de février 2018. Au bout de deux mois, la pression publicitaire de l'année est quand même de 1'059 millions de CHF, soit 2 pour cent de plus que les deux premiers mois de l'année précédente.

Intégration de données: Internet et TV

Depuis janvier 2017, le groupe de médias Internet est présenté, y compris la publicité Search-Desktop. Depuis juillet 2017, Search-Mobile est également intégré dans les statistiques publicitaires de Media Focus. En janvier 2018, Search (Desktop + Mobile) a été intégré en Suisse romande sur la base de dizaines de milliers de termes de recherche français (part de Search YTD: 85% DE/15% FR). Depuis mars 2018, les données YouTube (Display et vidéo) sont également rapportées rétroactivement dans la tendance du marché publicitaire à partir de janvier 2018 (part du mix média YTD 1%).

En outre, à partir de janvier 2018, le groupe de médias TV inclura le sponsoring TV ainsi que les formats publicitaires Pre Split, Post Split, Single Split et Time.


Pression publicitaire sur le marché global

Développement de la pression publicitaire au mois de février 2019

publikation img publikation img

Le classement des secteurs ne bouge pas

Les rapports de forces entre secteurs ne changent pas trop par rapport au mois de janvier. Le secteur des Loisirs, de la gastronomie et du tourisme continue à mener le trio de tête suivi du secteur des Services puis des Véhicules. Seuls quelques remous ont lieu en bas de la liste: le secteur des Cosmétiques et soins du corps, celui des Manifestations et celui des Besoins personnels échangent leur place.

La pression publicitaire baisse partout... ou presque

Par rapport au mois de février 2018, c'est la pression publicitaire d'une manière générale qui baisse. Le groupe de produits qui s'en sort le mieux est TV & Home Entertainment (+76.2% par rapport au même mois l'année précédente). L'industrie du tabac fait également partie de ceux qui nagent à contre-courant et enregistre une pression publicitaire de 209.3 pour cent de plus que l'année précédente. Cet effort notable ne lui permet cependant toujours pas de se débarrasser de sa lanterne rouge. Le secteur de l'énergie enregistre lui aussi une augmentation, et ce, de 13.5 pour cent par rapport à février 2018.

Les Initiatives & campagnes en net recul

Le recul le plus important en matière de pression publicitaire par rapport à l'année précédente est enregistré par la catégorie Initiatives & campagnes (-26.2%) et notamment son groupe de produits concernant les Campagnes politiques (-53%). Ce phénomène s'explique surtout par la retombée suite à la votation « No Billag » du 4 mars 2018 qui avait alors généré de grandes discussions et donc beaucoup de publicité. Le secteur des boissons (-25.6%) et des produits alimentaires (-22.5%) prennent eux aussi un sacré coup. Dans la liste des perdants, on retrouve aussi le commerce de détail (-18.5%) et les transports (-18%).



Pression publicitaire par secteurs

Pression publicitaire par secteurs comparée à l'année précédente

publikation img

Top 10 du mois

Les 10 premiers annonceurs et les produits et services faisant l'objet du plus grand nombre d'annonces publicitaires (hors promotion de l'assortiment et de l'image) en février

publikation img

Mix de médias

L'intégration des données de recherche, Desktop (janvier 2017) et Mobile (juillet 2017) dans les statistiques publicitaires de Media Focus a entraîné une augmentation significative de la part Internet dans le mix de médias. Depuis janvier 2018, on recueille également des données de recherche pour la Suisse romande (la recherche étant répartie comme suit: 85% DE/15% FR).

publikation img
Ce site utilise des cookies pour vous donner une expérience de navigation plus confortable. Plus d'informations
OK