19.02.2018

Advertising Market Trend January 2018


publikation img

Highlights in January

The first month of the year proved to be stronger than ever before with an advertising pressure of 514 million Swiss francs (gross). The Swiss advertising market started off 2018 with a substantial increase of 34.4 per cent in comparison to the same month the previous year. Though a large part of this growth can be attributed to the expansion in the collection of Search Advertising data, the Swiss advertising market grew by 6.9 percent even without including it. In particular, the insurance product group and the fashion and sport industries markedly increased their advertising pressure at the start of the new year.

Data integration: Internet and TV

Since January 2017, the Internet media group has included search desktop advertising. As of the close of data in July 2017, search mobile data has also been integrated in Media Focus’s advertising statistics. In January 2018, search (desktop + mobile) was included for French-speaking Switzerland (Romandy), on the basis of ten thousand French search terms (share of search YTD: 85% DE/15% FR). Since March 2018, YouTube data (display and video) has also been included, with retroactive effect from January 2018, in the Advertising Market Trends (share of media mix YTD 1%).

Moreover, since January 2018, the TV media group has included TV sponsoring as well as the pre split, post split, single split and time advertising forms.


Advertising Pressure in the market as a whole

Development of Advertising Pressure as per January 2018

publikation img publikation img

Leisure, gastronomy, tourism off to a quick start

Leisure, gastronomy, tourism began the new year at full throttle and secured the lead position in the industry comparison. The services industry followed in second place with a distinct gap between them, even though it was able to show even more significant increases over the previous year than leisure, gastronomy and tourism (+69.3% to 48.7%; without Search Mobile & FR +10.6% to 9.5%). Retail trade, vehicles and building, industry and furnishings rounded out the top 5 industries. Food, the top industry in 2017, was ranked 6th in January.

Fashion & Sports – new year, new purpose, new clothes

The fashion and sports industry showed the second largest increase amounting to 95.8 percent over the previous year – behind the insurance product group (+103.6%) in the advertising month of January. Following them with comparable growth were the IT product group, hard- and software (+95.3%) and the building, industry and furnishings industry.

Industries in hibernation

Five of the 21 industries reduced their advertising pressure as compared to the previous year despite the expansion in Search data collection, with the tobacco industry leading the way (-73%). Cleaning also lost around a fourth of advertising pressure as compared with the same month of the previous year. Events showed a decrease of 10.8 percent, closely followed by media with a decline of 8.2 percent. The initiatives and campaigns industries also showed a drop (-3.9%) as did telecommunications (-3.8%).


Advertising pressure in the sectors

Advertising pressure in the sectors with comparative figures for the previous year

publikation img

Top 10 of the month

The Top 10 advertisers and most widely advertised products/services (not including range and image advertising) in January

publikation img

Media Mix

The integration of the search data, desktop (January 2017) and mobile (July 2017) into the Media Focus advertising statistics has led to a significant increase in the Internet proportion of the media mix. Since January 2018, search data for French-speaking Switzerland (Romandy) has also been collected (share of search: 85% German/15% French).

publikation img
This website uses cookies to give you a more comfortable browsing experience. More info
OK

19.02.2018

Tendance du marché publicitaire janvier 2018


publikation img

Points forts en janvier

Avec une pression publicitaire de 513 millions de francs suisses bruts, le premier mois de l’année se présente plus fort que jamais. Le marché publicitaire en Suisse entame la nouvelle année 2018 avec une nette progression de 34,3 pour cent en comparaison avec le mois précédent. Certes, une grande partie de cette croissance est attribuée à la saisie plus large de données de recherche. Mais, sans cet élargissement, le marché publicitaire en Suisse aurait une croissance de 6,9 pour cent. En particulier, le groupe de produit Assurances ainsi que la branche Mode & Sport ont considérablement augmenté au début de l’année leur pression publicitaire.

Intégration des données : Groupe de médias Internet et groupe de médias télévision

Depuis janvier 2017, le groupe de médias Internet est présenté, y compris la publicité Search-Desktop. Depuis juillet 2017, Search-Mobile est également intégré dans les statistiques publicitaires de Media Focus. En janvier 2018, Search (Desktop + Mobile) a été intégré en Suisse romande sur la base de dizaines de milliers de termes de recherche français (part de Search YTD: 85% DE/15% FR). Depuis mars 2018, les données YouTube (Display et vidéo) sont également rapportées rétroactivement dans la tendance du marché publicitaire à partir de janvier 2018 (part du mix média YTD 1%).

En outre, à partir de janvier 2018, le groupe de médias TV inclura le sponsoring TV ainsi que les formats publicitaires Pre Split, Post Split, Single Split et Time.


Pression publicitaire sur le marché global

Développement de la pression publicitaire au mois de janvier 2018

publikation img publikation img

Les loisirs, la gastronomie et le tourisme ont démarré sur les chapeaux de roue

Les loisirs, la gastronomie et le tourisme commencent la nouvelle année à plein régime et s’assurent la pôle position en comparaison avec les autres secteurs. La branche services suit à bonne distance au 2e rang, bien qu’elle ait connu, par rapport à l’année précédente, une progression plus forte que celle des loisirs, de la gastronomie et du tourisme (+69,3 % à 48,7 %; sans Search-Mobile & FR +10,6 % 9,5 %). Le commerce de détail, les véhicules ainsi que les constructions, l’industrie et l’ameublement complètent les 5 meilleures branches. La meilleure branche 2017, produits alimentaires, se situe en janvier au 6e rang.

Mode & Sport – Nouvelle année, nouvelles résolutions, nouveaux vêtements

Après le groupe de produits Assurances (+103,6 %), la branche mode & sport enregistre, pour le mois publicitaire de janvier, avec une croissance de 95,8 pour cent, l’augmentation la plus forte en comparaison avec l’année précédente. Suivent dans le classement suivant, avec une croissance comparable, les groupes de produits informatiques, hard-et software (+95,3 %) et la branche constructions, industrie et ameublement.

Branches en état d’hibernation

Malgré une saisie plus large des données de recherche, cinq des 21 branches ont réduit la pression publicitaire par rapport à l’année précédente – il s’agit avant tout de l’industrie du tabac (-73 %). La branche nettoyage englobe aussi un quart de la pression publicitaire par rapport au mois précédent. La branche manifestations diminue de 10,8 pour cent, suivie de près par les médias avec un recul de 8,2 pour cent. Une baisse est également enregistrée dans les branches initiatives & campagnes (-3.9%) et télécommunications (-3.8%).


Pression publicitaire par secteurs

Pression publicitaire par secteurs comparée à l'année précédente

publikation img

Top 10 du mois

Les 10 premiers annonceurs et les produits et services faisant l'objet du plus grand nombre d'annonces publicitaires (hors promotion de l'assortiment et de l'image) en janvier

publikation img

Mix de médias

L'intégration des données de recherche, Desktop (janvier 2017) et Mobile (juillet 2017) dans les statistiques publicitaires de Media Focus a entraîné une augmentation significative de la part Internet dans le mix de médias. Depuis janvier 2018, on recueille également des données de recherche pour la Suisse romande (la recherche étant répartie comme suit: 85% DE/15% FR).

publikation img
Ce site utilise des cookies pour vous donner une expérience de navigation plus confortable. Plus d'informations
OK