18.02.2021

Swiss advertising market plummets in first month of 2021


publikation img

Highlights in January

The Swiss advertising market took a nosedive in January 2021, dropping by more than a third (-34.9%) compared with the same month last year. The gross amount spent on advertising in the first month of 2021 was just CHF 291 million – 156 million less than in January 2020 and the lowest total since July 2012. The decline was experienced across all media groups and – with the exception of cleaning and beverages – all sectors.

Despite the advertising slump during the first lockdown, 2020 ended down by a relatively modest minus 14% overall; compared with this, the first month of 2021 – with the second lockdown in full swing – is indicative of the effects of the ongoing coronavirus crisis on advertising budget planning in the new year.

Advertising Pressure in the market as a whole

Development of Advertising Pressure as per January 2021 in million francs (gross)

publikation img publikation img

Cleaning and beverages the only sectors to buck the trend

“Joe and Jane Public – are you wondering how best to get through the second lockdown? The answer is: stay clean and hydrated.” This was the message from the advertising environment in January 2021. Advertising pressure in the cleaning sector was up by 53% and, in the beverages sector, by a substantial 37%. It was down considerably in the other 19 branches, however, and nowhere more obviously than in the beleaguered events sector (-80.9%). But the media sector (-70.5%), leisure, gastronomy, tourism (-68.7%) and tobacco products (-64.1%) suffered too, with each losing more than two thirds of advertising pressure, compared with January 2020. Food (-7.4%), cosmetics and toiletries (-10.5%), pharmaceuticals and health (-11.3%), and telecommunications (-14.2%) got off relatively lightly in comparison.

publikation img

Top of the month

The top advertisers and most widely advertised products and services (excluding range and image advertising) in January:

publikation img

McDonald’s campaign hits the top spot

The top 10 products in January constituted a colorful mix of products and sectors. The McDonald’s campaign was in the top spot, followed by Home24.ch. Ordering new furniture was best done using the new Apple iPhone 12 Pro, which was in third place. Weight Watchers, in fourth place, was helping get rid of those working-from-home pounds and fulfill New Year’s resolutions. Fifth and seventh places were occupied by new cars – the Renault Clio Hybrid and Hyundai Tucson Hybrid SUV, respectively. Sandwiched in between was the pharmaceuticals and health sector, with Triofan nasal spray. Campaigns by UPC Giga Internet, Coke and Amazon rounded off the top 10.

Media Mix

Media Mix for the month of January

publikation img

Out-of-home high wanes further in January

The high reached by out-of-home advertising in summer 2020 came to an abrupt end. The signs already evident in winter 2020 were borne out in January, in the form of a 53.1% drop. Its share of the media mix likewise slipped below 10% (9.3%) for the second time.

However, the other media groups had to contend with significant declines as well. Internet advertising was down substantially (-48.3%), as was print (-31.1%). Cinema advertising continued to be non-existent. In comparison, TV (-14.3%) and radio (-10.9%) showed only moderate losses in January 2021. As a result, TV remains the strongest media group, with a 36.2% share of the media mix, followed by print, with 26%, and internet, with 25.5%.

This website uses cookies to give you a more comfortable browsing experience. More info
OK

18.02.2021

Le premier mois de 2021 marqué par l’effondrement


publikation img

Les temps forts du mois de janvier

En janvier 2021, le marché publicitaire suisse a chuté d’environ un tiers (-34,9%) par rapport au même mois de l’année dernière. Le bilan du premier mois de 2021 comptabilise seulement 291 millions de francs bruts consacrés à la publicité. C’est 156 millions de moins qu’en janvier 2020 et la valeur la plus basse jamais enregistrée depuis juillet 2012. Cette baisse touche tous les groupes de médias, ainsi que tous les secteurs, à l’exception des branches Nettoyage et Boissons.

Bien que dans l’ensemble, l’année 2020 se soit achevée sur une note conciliante avec une baisse de 14% malgré la chute du marché de la publicité pendant le 1er confinement, les conséquences de la crise du coronavirus sur le budget publicitaire de la nouvelle année se font davantage ressentir au premier mois de 2021 avec le 2e confinement qui se poursuit.

Pression publicitaire sur le marché global

Développement de la pression publicitaire au mois de janvier 2021 en millions de francs bruts

publikation img publikation img

Les secteurs Nettoyage et Boissons épargnés

«Vous vous demandez comment vous allez réussir à tenir pendant le deuxième confinement? La réponse: Stay clean and stay hydrated.» Voici le message qui résume les activités publicitaires de janvier 2021. Le secteur du nettoyage augmente sa pression publicitaire de 53%, tandis que le secteur des boissons enregistre lui aussi une hausse de 37%. Les 19 autres secteurs subissent un déclin assez considérable, notamment l’industrie l’événementielle, durement touchée (-80,9%). Les secteurs Médias (-70,5%), Loisirs, Gastronomie, Tourisme (-68,7%) et Produits tabagiques (-64,1%) perdent également plus des deux tiers de leur pression publicitaire par rapport à janvier 2020. En comparaison, les secteurs Produits alimentaires (-7,4%), Cosmétiques et soins du corps (-10,5%), Pharmacie et santé (-11,3%) et Télécommunications (-14,2%) ont été relativement peu touchés.

publikation img

Top du mois

Les top annonceurs et les produits et services faisant l'objet du plus grand nombre d'annonces publicitaires (hors promotion de l'assortiment et de l'image) en janvier:

publikation img

La campagne de McDonald’s fait mouche

Le top 10 des produits de janvier met en avant un mélange varié de produits et de secteurs. La campagne de McDonald’s occupe la première place, suivie par celle de Home24.ch. Pour commander de nouveaux meubles, rien de mieux que le nouvel iPhone 12 Pro d’Apple, troisième dans le classement. Weight Watchers, en 4e position, permet de se débarrasser des kilos superflus et de tenir les résolutions prises pour la nouvelle année. La 5e et la 7e places reviennent à deux nouvelles voitures, la Renault Clio Hybrid et le véhicule tout-terrain Hyundai Tucson Hybrid. Entre les deux, on retrouve Triofan Rhume du secteur Pharmacie et santé. L’offre Internet Giga d’UPC et les campagnes de Coca-Cola et d’Amazon viennent compléter le top 10.

Mix de médias

Mix de médias pour le mois de janvier

publikation img

La publicité Out-of-Home a perdu du terrain en janvier

Le succès qu’a connu la publicité Out-of-Home durant l’été 2020 semble avoir pris un brusque tournant. Ce revers déjà palpable à l’hiver 2020 s’est concrétisé en janvier par une baisse de 53,1%. Sa part dans le mix de médias est ainsi passée sous la barre des 10% (9,3%) pour la deuxième fois consécutive.

Toutefois, les autres groupes de médias ont aussi accusé des baisses importantes. La publicité sur Internet enregistre un recul notable (-48,3%), tout comme la publicité imprimée (-31,1%). La publicité au cinéma est toujours inexistante. Par rapport aux autres groupes de médias,.la télévision (-14,3%) et la radio (-10,9%) affichent seulement des pertes modérées en janvier 2021. La télévision reste donc le groupe de médias le plus performant avec une part de 36,2% du mix de médias, suivie par la publicité imprimée (26%) et Internet (25,5 %).

Ce site utilise des cookies pour vous donner une expérience de navigation plus confortable. Plus d'informations
OK