20.08.2019

Advertising Market Trend July 2019


publikation img

Highlights in July

The gross advertising pressure in July was CHF 463 million. This is an increase of 1.8 percent compared to the same month last year. The summer slump is clearly noticeable nonetheless: Like in the two previous years, July is the weakest month for advertising. Overall, the advertising pressure YTD is marginally above last year’s value (+2.5%).

Advertising Pressure in the market as a whole

Development of Advertising Pressure as per July 2019

publikation img publikation img

The industry rankings YTD are reflected in the advertising expenditures for July. Topping the list is leisure, gastronomy and tourism, which was the most aggressive sector, once again accounting for the month’s highest gross advertising pressure. Within the top ten, the leading sector also recorded the highest percentage increase in advertising pressure compared to the same month last year (+15.5%). In like manner, the second-placed services sector upped its advertising pressure by 5.9% relative to last July. Coming in third, the finance sector adopted a considerably more conservative position than it did in July last year, but the top three rankings remained unchanged because the runner-up segment of building, industry and furnishings also invested 1.3 percent less than in July 2018. Aside from two changes, everything remained the same in the lower part of the rankings as well. Retail trade leapfrogged the vehicles segment and is now snapping at the heels of the fifth spot. The media and cleaning sectors also swapped places.

Tobacco sector: Still great in relative terms, yet in the doldrums from an absolute perspective

Although tobacco advertising is facing increasingly fierce political opposition, the advertising pressure was nonetheless higher again in a year-on-year comparison, just like in May and June (+258.2%). In July, it was the Logic Compact e-cigarette that accounted for the lion’s share. Political campaigns were responsible for the second largest percentage gains, upping the pressure by 43.2% compared to last year. Events registered the third largest relative increase in advertising pressure (11.9%).

Minimal changes within the sectors

Of the 21 sectors, 12 put a brake on advertising in July compared to the same month last year. However, the decrease in expenditures is largely in a low single-digit percentage range, which is why there is ultimately a slight rise overall. The energy sector curtailed its pressure most of all, namely by 38.6 percent. In absolute terms, this sector continues to be way down in second last place.


Advertising pressure in the sectors

Advertising pressure in the sectors with comparative figures for the previous year

publikation img

Top 10 of the month

The top 10 advertisers and most widely advertised products and services (excluding range and image advertising) in July

publikation img

Media Mix

The integration of the search data, desktop (January 2017) and mobile (July 2017) into the Media Focus advertising statistics has led to a significant increase in the Internet proportion of the media mix. Since January 2018, search data for French-speaking Switzerland (Romandy) has also been collected (share of search: 85% German/15% French).

publikation img
This website uses cookies to give you a more comfortable browsing experience. More info
OK

20.08.2019

Tendance du marché publicitaire juillet 2019


publikation img

Les temps forts du mois de juillet

La pression publicitaire brute a atteint en juillet la valeur de 463 millions de francs suisses bruts. Cela représente une augmentation de 1.8 pour cent par rapport au même mois de l'année précédente. La pause estivale est toutefois nettement perceptible: le mois de juillet est, comme ce fut le cas ces deux dernières années, le plus faible de l'année en matière de publicité. Globalement, la pression publicitaire pour l'année à ce jour est légèrement supérieure à la valeur de l'année écoulée (+2.5%).

Pression publicitaire sur le marché global

Développement de la pression publicitaire au mois de juillet 2019

publikation img publikation img

Le classement des secteurs pour l'année à ce jour est reflété dans le comportement publicitaire du mois de juillet. Le leader du palmarès, Loisirs, gastronomie et tourisme a été le plus agressif et a exercé, une fois de plus, la plus forte pression publicitaire brute mensuelle. Cette pression publicitaire du secteur leader est, en pourcentage également, la plus forte au sein du Top dix, avec une augmentation de +15.5% par rapport à juillet dernier. Le secteur occupant la deuxième place accroît lui-aussi sa pression publicitaire en juillet, toujours par rapport au même mois de l'année précédente, de 5.9 pour cent. Le secteur financier, en troisième place, a adopté une position publicitaire plus défensive que juillet dernier, alors que le secteur le suivant dans la liste, Construction, industrie, ameublement, a investi 1.3 pour cent en moins qu'en juillet 2018, ce qui consolide le statu quo sur le podium. Parmi les dernières places de la liste, rien n'a changé par rapport au classement précédent, à deux exceptions près. Le commerce de détail a devancé le secteur automobile et se trouve maintenant sur le qui-vive en cinquième position. En outre, les secteurs Médias et Nettoyage ont échangé leurs places.

Secteur des produits tabagiques: toujours le top relatif avec un flop absolu

Bien que la publicité pour les produits tabagique affronte un vent politique contraire croissant, la pression publicitaire a pu augmenter à nouveau, comme ce fut déjà le cas les deux mois précédents, en comparaison à l'année précédente (+258.2%). En juillet, ce résultat est surtout dû à la Logic Compact E-Zigarette. La deuxième plus forte progression est celle des campagnes politiques, qui ont accru leur pression publicitaire de 43.2 points par rapport à l'année dernière. La troisième augmentation la plus forte de la pression publicitaire a été le fait du secteur Manifestations (+11.9%).

Modifications minimales au sein des secteurs

Par rapport à l'année dernière, 12 des 21 secteurs ont freiné leur pression publicitaire en juillet. Les baisses sont toutefois largement concentrées dans les pourcentages les plus faibles, à un seul chiffre. Ceci explique que, globalement, on a pu constater une faible augmentation. En pourcentage, c'est le secteur de l'énergie qui connu la baisse la plus forte, 38.6 points. En chiffre absolu, il se trouve en outre relégué à l'avant-dernière position.


Pression publicitaire par secteurs

Pression publicitaire par secteurs comparée à l'année précédente

publikation img

Top 10 du mois

Les 10 premiers annonceurs et les produits et services faisant l'objet du plus grand nombre d'annonces publicitaires (hors promotion de l'assortiment et de l'image) en juillet

publikation img

Mix de médias

L'intégration des données de recherche, Desktop (janvier 2017) et Mobile (juillet 2017) dans les statistiques publicitaires de Media Focus a entraîné une augmentation significative de la part Internet dans le mix de médias. Depuis janvier 2018, on recueille également des données de recherche pour la Suisse romande (la recherche étant répartie comme suit: 85% DE/15% FR).

publikation img
Ce site utilise des cookies pour vous donner une expérience de navigation plus confortable. Plus d'informations
OK