15.07.2019

Advertising Market Trend June 2019


publikation img

Highlights in June

Total gross advertising expenditure for the first half-year is now known – 3,648 million Swiss francs. This corresponds to an increase of 2.6 per cent compared with the previous year – despite noticeably lower advertising expenditure in June. At 552.7 million Swiss francs, this is 9.1 per cent less than in June 2018. Compared to May, this represents a decline of around one fifth.


Advertising Pressure in the market as a whole

Development of Advertising Pressure as per June 2019

publikation img publikation img

Top 10 sectors strengthen

The sector ranking remained virtually unchanged in June. Leisure, gastronomy, tourism is still ahead of the services industry. Finance again claimed the third podium place in June, as in the previous month. With the exception of retail trade (+4%) and food (+2%), the advertising activity of all Top 10 sectors was more defensive, in keeping with the declining advertising market. A quarter of the drop in advertising pressure across all 21 sectors is attributable to the Top 3 industries.

Tobacco sector: upward trend continues

In comparison to the same month of the previous year, the gross advertising expenditure of most sectors has decreased. One of the main exceptions was the tobacco industry, which again increased its advertising pressure in June. Its gross advertising pressure was 3.4 million francs, thereby overtaking the energy sector. This represents a significant 679 per cent increase, in comparison to the same month of the previous year and 228 per cent compared to the previous month. The biggest driver in June was Philip Morris with its "smoke-free alternative IQOS". Media also increased its gross advertising pressure by 34.9 per cent, thereby moving up a place.

13 sectors make considerable cutbacks

Gross advertising pressure in 13 of the 21 industries dropped over 5 per cent in June. The biggest declines were seen in initiatives & campaigns, energy, cleaning, telecommunications and digital & household. The downturns ranged from around one quarter to one third of advertising presence. Events, personal care and public transport companies remained at a stable level, however.


Advertising pressure in the sectors

Advertising pressure in the sectors with comparative figures for the previous year

publikation img

Top 10 of the month

The top 10 advertisers and most widely advertised products and services (excluding range and image advertising) in June

publikation img

Media Mix

The integration of the search data, desktop (January 2017) and mobile (July 2017) into the Media Focus advertising statistics has led to a significant increase in the Internet proportion of the media mix. Since January 2018, search data for French-speaking Switzerland (Romandy) has also been collected (share of search: 85% German/15% French).

publikation img
This website uses cookies to give you a more comfortable browsing experience. More info
OK

15.07.2019

Tendance du marché publicitaire juin 2019


publikation img

Les temps forts du mois de juin

Le bilan du premier semestre de l'année publicitaire est établi – 3'648 millions de francs brut. Cela correspond à une hausse de 2.6 pour cent par rapport à l'année précédente, malgré une pression publicitaire sensiblement plus faible en juin. Cette dernière a reculé de 9.1 pour cent par rapport à juin 2018 pour atteindre 552.7 millions de francs brut. En comparaison à mai, cela représente un recul d'environ un cinquième.


Pression publicitaire sur le marché global

Développement de la pression publicitaire au mois de juin 2019

publikation img publikation img

Les branches du Top 10 se renforcent

Le classement des branches ne s'est guère modifié en juin. Loisir, gastronomie et tourisme restent en tête, devant le secteur des services. Le secteur finance reste en juin également sur la troisième place du podium. À l'exception du commerce de détail (+4 %) et des produits alimentaires (+2 %), tous les secteurs du Top 10 sont sur la défensive au niveau publicitaire, ce qui est accompagné d'une diminution du développement du marché publicitaire. Un quart du recul de la pression publicitaire des 21 secteurs confondus est dû au 3 premiers secteurs.

Secteur des produits tabagiques: la tendance à la hausse persiste

Par rapport au mois de juin 2018, la pression publicitaire brute a baissé dans la plupart des secteurs. Le secteur des produits tabagiques fait partie des exceptions ayant augmenté leur pression publicitaire en juin également. La pression publicitaire brute s'élève maintenant à 3.4 millions de francs brut, dépassant ainsi le secteur Énergie. Cela correspond à une augmentation notable de 679 pour cent en comparaison au mois de juin 2018, et de 228 pour cent en comparaison à mai 2019. Le principal moteur de cette augmentation est en juin Philip Morris et son « alternative sans fumée » appelée IQOS. Les médias ont également pu augmenter leur pression publicitaire de 34,9 pour cent et gagner une place dans le classement.

13 branches connaissent un recul significatif

En juin, la pression publicitaire brute recule de plus de 5 pour cent pour 13 des 21 secteurs. Les reculs les plus importants sont constatés dans les secteurs Initiatives & campagnes, Énergie, Nettoyage, Télécommunication et Digital et ménage. Pour ces secteurs, la baisse est d'environ un quart à un tiers de la présence publicitaire. Les secteurs Manifestations, Besoins personnels et Transports restent stables.


Pression publicitaire par secteurs

Pression publicitaire par secteurs comparée à l'année précédente

publikation img

Top 10 du mois

Les 10 premiers annonceurs et les produits et services faisant l'objet du plus grand nombre d'annonces publicitaires (hors promotion de l'assortiment et de l'image) en juin

publikation img

Mix de médias

L'intégration des données de recherche, Desktop (janvier 2017) et Mobile (juillet 2017) dans les statistiques publicitaires de Media Focus a entraîné une augmentation significative de la part Internet dans le mix de médias. Depuis janvier 2018, on recueille également des données de recherche pour la Suisse romande (la recherche étant répartie comme suit: 85% DE/15% FR).

publikation img
Ce site utilise des cookies pour vous donner une expérience de navigation plus confortable. Plus d'informations
OK