19.07.2021

The Euros spur on Switzerland’s TV advertising market


publikation img

Highlights in June

The advertising month of June closed out at a gross value of CHF 430 million. This marked an increase of 6.4 percent on the previous, Covid-ravaged year, but the figure is still behind 2019’s value (-5.5%). June was even 5.6 percent down on the preceding month of May, previously the month in 2021 with the strongest advertising pressure.

The first half of the 2021 advertising year closed out at a gross value of CHF 2,340 million. This puts the advertising market 0.4 percent behind the equivalent value for the previous year and a remarkable 19.4 percent lower than the equivalent in 2019.

In 2021, the dampening of advertising pressure in June once again heralded the arrival of the summer slowdown, but the Euros spurred on Switzerland’s TV market with pricey advertising slots and somewhat softened the blow.

Last year was an unprecedented year, and advertising presence returned to a strong upward trajectory after the first lockdown. With the Olympic Games on the horizon, the impact of the summer slowdown in 2021 remains to be seen.

Advertising Pressure in the market as a whole

Development of Advertising Pressure as per June 2021 in million francs (gross)

publikation img publikation img

Two-thirds of sectors pick up

Thirteen sectors were more active in June and were able to increase their advertising pressure. The media sector was substantially stronger in June, as far as advertising goes (+107.7%), but a comparison with YTD values reveals that the sector is still among the three experiencing the largest downturn (-25.4%).

A similar picture is painted by transport operators, which shot up by 86.7 percent in June, but are still behind YTD (-23.6%).

In absolute terms, it would be remiss not to mention the food sector here. YTD, it is the second most visible sector, with advertising pressure of CHF 256.2 million, and an increase of 15.8 percent at present. Its percentage increase in June was even heftier, at 26.9 percent. The “chocolates and confectionery” product group is the strongest driver of this, and includes Kinder Bueno, June’s second most purchased product. As retail is simultaneously experiencing a decline (-3.2%), these chocolate bars are close enough to leave their sticky residue on the sector in pole position in the ranking table.

Advertising winners in June include tobacco products (+77.2%), energy (+46.1%), and cosmetics and toiletries (+44.4%), which have all enjoyed increases YTD. YTD, a total of 13 sectors are above the previous year’s figures.

Telecoms sees the sharpest decline

In June 2021, eight sectors saw reduced advertising pressure, with four of them experiencing reductions in the double-digits. That said, just three of these sectors are behind their mid-year figures from the previous year. Telecommunications (-29.1%) has seen the biggest fall, slashing advertising pressure in June by almost a third. Nevertheless, the sector is somewhat above last year’s figure YTD (+3.3%).

Services (-19.6%) slumped in June, just like in May, falling substantially behind YTD (-21.7%), too.

Automotive also saw a reduction (-18.0%), as did construction, industry, furnishings (-15.3%), pharmaceuticals and health (-9.1%), retail (-3.2%), fashion and sport (-1.4%) and cleaning (-0.3%).

publikation img

Top of the month

The top advertisers and most widely advertised products and services (excluding range, image and collective categories) in June

publikation img

Media Mix

Media Mix for the month of June

publikation img
This website uses cookies to give you a more comfortable browsing experience. More info
OK

19.07.2021

Les Championnats d’Europe portent le marché de la publicité télévisée


publikation img

Les temps forts du mois de juin

Les recettes publicitaires pour le mois de juin s’élèvent à 430 millions de francs bruts. En comparaison avec l’année précédente, marquée par le coronavirus, ce résultat représente une hausse de 6.4%, mais reste légèrement en retrait par rapport à celui de 2019 (–5.5%). Les recettes de juin sont également inférieures de 5.6% à celles du mois de mai 2021.

Le premier semestre publicitaire 2021 se clôture avec 2340 millions de francs bruts. Le marché publicitaire enregistre ainsi une baisse de 0.4% par rapport aux valeurs de 2020, et même de 19.4% par rapport à celles de 2019.

L’aplatissement de la pression publicitaire en juin atteste, comme d’ordinaire, la pause estivale 2021, mais les Championnats d’Europe, synonymes d’espaces publicitaires coûteux, dynamisent le marché suisse de la télévision et atténuent quelque peu le recul.

Au cours de l’année dernière exceptionnelle, la courbe de la présence publicitaire a affiché une forte tendance à la hausse après le premier confinement. A l’approche des Jeux olympiques, il reste à voir quelle sera l’ampleur de la pause estivale 2021.

Pression publicitaire sur le marché global

Développement de la pression publicitaire au mois de juin 2021 en millions de francs bruts

publikation img publikation img

Les deux tiers des secteurs connaissent une croissance

13 secteurs ont pu dynamiser leur activité et augmenter leur pression publicitaire. Le secteur des Médias a été nettement plus performant en termes de publicité en juin (+107.7%). Néanmoins, un coup d’œil sur la valeur AAJ permet de constater que la branche fait toujours partie de l’un des trois secteurs ayant connu le plus grand recul (-25.4%).

On observe une situation similaire en ce qui concerne les Transports en commun: même si le secteur a enregistré une croissance de 86.7% en juin, la valeur AAJ reste en baisse (-23.6%).

En termes absolus, le secteur des Produits alimentaires doit bien évidemment être mentionné dans la présente: avec une pression publicitaire de KCHF 254.2 et une hausse de 15.8% depuis le début de l’année, il s’agit du deuxième secteur le plus visible. En juin, sa croissance en pourcentage était encore plus marquée, de 26.9%. Le principal moteur de cette explosion est le groupe de produits Chocolat et Confiserie, qui comprend également le deuxième produit le plus demandé en juin, Kinder Bueno. Etant donné que le Commerce de détail, quant à lui, est en retrait (-3.2), l’écart avec le secteur en tête du classement se réduit.

Les gagnants de juin en termes publicitaires sont également les Produits tabagiques (+77.2%), l’Energie (+46.1%) et les Cosmétiques et soins du corps (+44.4%), qui ont également enregistré une croissance depuis le début de l’année. Si l’on considère la valeur AAJ, 13 secteurs au total sont en hausse par rapport à l’exercice précédent.

Les Télécommunications connaissent la plus forte baisse

En juin 2021, huit secteurs ont connu une réduction de leur pression publicitaire, dont quatre à deux chiffres. Toutefois, seuls trois d’entre eux sont au-dessous de leur valeur semestrielle de l’an dernier. Les Télécommunications (-29.1%) affichent la baisse la plus significative, réduisant leur pression publicitaire de près d’un tiers en juin. Toutefois, selon la valeur AAJ, le secteur est en légère hausse par rapport à l’année précédente (+3.3%).

Les Services également ont subi une baisse en juin (-19.6%), tout comme en mai, et sont également en forte diminution AAJ (-21.7%).

Les autres secteurs en baisse sont les suivants: Véhicules (-18.0%), Construction, industrie et ameublement (-15.3%), Pharmacie et santé (-9.1%), Commerce de détail (-3.2%), Mode et sport (-1.4%) et Nettoyage (-0.3%).

publikation img

Top du mois

Les top annonceurs et les produits et services faisant l'objet du plus grand nombre d'annonces publicitaires (hors promotion d’assortiment et d’image et catégories de collection) en juin

publikation img

Mix de médias

Mix de médias pour le mois de juin

publikation img
Ce site utilise des cookies pour vous donner une expérience de navigation plus confortable. Plus d'informations
OK