18.04.2019

Advertising Market Trend March 2019


publikation img

Highlights in March

Gross advertising expenditure in March was CHF 659.6 million. Gross advertising expenditure increased significantly in March following the first two months of the year. In comparison with the previous year, however, a slight decrease of 5.2% can be seen. The annual advertising expenditure was 1,760.6 million gross francs, which corresponds to a growth rate of 1.6% in comparison with the previous year. This growth can still be traced back to January, which was surprisingly strong.

Data integration: Internet and TV

Since January 2017, the Internet media group has included search desktop advertising. As of the close of data in July 2017, search mobile data has also been integrated in Media Focus’s advertising statistics. In January 2018, search (desktop + mobile) was included for French-speaking Switzerland (Romandy), on the basis of ten thousand French search terms (share of search YTD: 85% DE/15% FR). Since March 2018, YouTube data (display and video) has also been included, with retroactive effect from January 2018, in the Advertising Market Trends (share of media mix YTD 1%).

Moreover, since January 2018, the TV media group has included TV sponsoring as well as the pre split, post split, single split and time advertising forms.


Advertising Pressure in the market as a whole

Development of Advertising Pressure as per March 2019

publikation img publikation img

Leisure, gastronomy and tourism still at the top

If you consider the annual advertising expenditure of the individual sectors, you will see a similar picture to the first two months of the year. In first place is leisure, gastronomy and tourism, almost on a par with the services sector in second place. Third place goes to the vehicles sector. Fashion & sport lies just below the food sector. Beverages and public transport companies swapped places, as did the cleaning and media sectors.

Slight changes within sectors

For the vast majority of sectors in March 2019, the gross advertising expenditure shows slight changes in comparison with the previous year. This can also be seen in the small growth of 1.6% across all sectors. The largest increase in comparison with the same month of the previous year is the political campaigns product group (+27.2%), although this did not hinder the slight decrease in advertising expenditure through initiatives and campaigns. The energy (+7.5%) and the vehicles sectors (+4.9%) also slightly increased the gross advertising expenditure. In comparison with the same month of the previous year, the telecommunications industry increased by just 6.3% in total, despite having the two most advertised products of the month.

Media sector weaker

The media sector has continued to decrease. As with January and February 2019, it also reduced the gross advertising expenditure in March by a full 30.8% in comparison with March of last year. As a result, it slipped a place in the rankings behind the cleaning sector. The tobacco products sector also reduced the advertising expenditure in March by 31.6% in comparison with the previous year, and continues to remain at the bottom of the rankings. In comparison with the same month of the previous year, personal care (-23.8%) and fashion & sport (-20.7%) also experienced a decrease.


Advertising pressure in the sectors

Advertising pressure in the sectors with comparative figures for the previous year

publikation img

Top 10 of the month

The Top 10 advertisers and most widely advertised products/services (not including range and image advertising) in March

publikation img

Media Mix

The integration of the search data, desktop (January 2017) and mobile (July 2017) into the Media Focus advertising statistics has led to a significant increase in the Internet proportion of the media mix. Since January 2018, search data for French-speaking Switzerland (Romandy) has also been collected (share of search: 85% German/15% French).

publikation img
This website uses cookies to give you a more comfortable browsing experience. More info
OK

18.04.2019

Tendance du marché publicitaire mars 2019


publikation img

Les temps forts du mois de mars

La pression publicitaire brute du mois de mars atteint 659.6 millions de CHF. Ainsi, en mars, après les deux premiers mois de l'année, la pression publicitaire brute s'améliore fortement, comme c'était attendu. Toutefois, si l'on compare avec l'année précédente, on constate une légère baisse de 5.2 pour cent La pression publicitaire brute annuelle est de 1 760.6 millions de francs bruts, ce qui correspond à une augmentation de 1.6 pour cent en comparaison avec l'année précédente. Cette croissance est toujours à attribuer au mois de janvier étonnamment fort.

Intégration de données: Internet et TV

Depuis janvier 2017, le groupe de médias Internet est présenté, y compris la publicité Search-Desktop. Depuis juillet 2017, Search-Mobile est également intégré dans les statistiques publicitaires de Media Focus. En janvier 2018, Search (Desktop + Mobile) a été intégré en Suisse romande sur la base de dizaines de milliers de termes de recherche français (part de Search YTD: 85% DE/15% FR). Depuis mars 2018, les données YouTube (Display et vidéo) sont également rapportées rétroactivement dans la tendance du marché publicitaire à partir de janvier 2018 (part du mix média YTD 1%).

En outre, à partir de janvier 2018, le groupe de médias TV inclura le sponsoring TV ainsi que les formats publicitaires Pre Split, Post Split, Single Split et Time.


Pression publicitaire sur le marché global

Développement de la pression publicitaire au mois de mars 2019

publikation img publikation img

Loisir, gastronomie et tourisme restent en tête

Si l'on considère la pression publicitaire brute par secteur, l'image qui se dessine est semblable à celle des deux premiers mois de l'année. La première place du podium est occupée par loisir, gastronomie et tourisme, pratiquement à égalité avec le secteur des services qui se trouve à la deuxième place. La troisième place revient à nouveau au secteur véhicule. Mode & sport se trouve à nouveau tout près du secteur des produits alimentaires. Les secteurs des boissons et des transports ainsi que les secteurs nettoyage et médias échangent leurs places.

Petites modifications au sein des branches

En mars 2019, la pression publicitaire brute démontre des petites modifications en comparaison à l'année précédente, pour une grande partie de l'ensemble des secteurs. Elle se manifeste également via une faible progression de 1.6 pour cent tous secteurs confondus. La croissance la plus importante en comparaison à l'année précédente est vécue par le groupe de produit campagne politique (+27.2%). Toutefois, cela n'empêche pas la légère baisse de la pression publicitaire de la catégorie initiatives et campagnes. Les secteurs de l'énergie (+7.5%) ainsi que des véhicules (+4.9%) augmentent également légèrement la pression publicitaire brute. Le secteur des télécommunications augmente de seulement 6.3 pour cent par rapport à l'année dernière malgré les deux produits les plus promus du mois.

Le secteur des médias poursuit sa baisse

Le secteur des médias poursuit sa baisse. Comme c'était déjà le cas en janvier et en février 2019, la pression publicitaire brute diminue en mars également. Cette fois-ci, elle diminue de 30.8 pour cent en comparaison à l'année précédente. Ainsi, ce secteur perd une place dans le classement et se retrouve derrière le secteur nettoyage. En mars, la pression publicitaire baisse également pour l'industrie du tabac, et ce de 31.6 pour cent en comparaison à l'année précédente. L'industrie du tabac reste à la dernière place du classement des secteurs. De la même façon, en comparaison à l'année précédente, les secteurs besoins personnels (-23.8%) ainsi que mode et sport (-20.7%) ont beaucoup perdu.


Pression publicitaire par secteurs

Pression publicitaire par secteurs comparée à l'année précédente

publikation img

Top 10 du mois

Les 10 premiers annonceurs et les produits et services faisant l'objet du plus grand nombre d'annonces publicitaires (hors promotion de l'assortiment et de l'image) en mars

publikation img

Mix de médias

L'intégration des données de recherche, Desktop (janvier 2017) et Mobile (juillet 2017) dans les statistiques publicitaires de Media Focus a entraîné une augmentation significative de la part Internet dans le mix de médias. Depuis janvier 2018, on recueille également des données de recherche pour la Suisse romande (la recherche étant répartie comme suit: 85% DE/15% FR).

publikation img
Ce site utilise des cookies pour vous donner une expérience de navigation plus confortable. Plus d'informations
OK