21.04.2021

The Swiss advertising market – one year on from the first lockdown


publikation img

Highlights in March

The Swiss advertising market felt the initial effects of the coronavirus crisis in mid-March 2020. One year later, in March 2021, the industry has experienced a sharp upswing in fortunes again compared to January (+48.5%) and February (+38.0%), just as it did in the third month of the previous year. Even so, at CHF 433.3 million, the value of the Swiss advertising market remains just shy of what it was the previous year (-2.3%).

As a result, the first quarter is 19% lower than the equivalent value in 2020 and a remarkable 40% lower than the equivalent in 2019.

Advertising Pressure in the market as a whole

Development of Advertising Pressure as per March 2021 in million francs (gross)

publikation img publikation img

Automotive sector more active in the ad market despite no Geneva Motor Show

As was the case last year, the automotive sector could not rely on the Geneva Motor Show to showcase its products in March 2021. In 2020, this led to a 41.1% decline in comparison to 2019. This time around, the industry has managed to increase its advertising pressure significantly (36.1%), putting it at a level comparable to the years prior to the coronavirus. The industry is responsible for two products in the top 10 ad campaigns, too: both were launched by the car dealer AMAG, with a focus on out-of-home advertising.

Another sector that was able to increase its advertising pressure in March was the tobacco industry. One of the few sectors resilient enough to build on its advertising activities in March 2020 (+24.2%), this year it has managed to increase its advertising pressure by 173.2% – thanks primarily to the campaign for the IQOS heated tobacco system by Philip Morris.

Construction, industry and furnishings is the other sector that was able to increase its advertising pressure by more than 20% (+22.5%) in March 2021.

Six sectors reduce ad pressure by 20%

Last year, recreation, gastronomy and tourism took the top spot in the industry list; in the year to date, the crisis has caused the sector to fall to 10th in the ranking. Following a 40% decline in advertising pressure in 2020, this trend has continued in March 2021 (-22.4%). The easing of the lockdown rules in April may allow the sector to regain some of the ground it has lost.

The financial sector has also seen its advertising pressure fall by 33.8% in March 2021. This decline is evident across all product groups – from investing to pensions. The mildest fall was experienced by basic products (-9.6%).

The list of branches whose advertising pressure has fallen by more than 20% also includes public transport (-58.1%), events (-48.1%), media (-34.0%) and services (-25.7%).

publikation img

Top of the month

The top advertisers and most widely advertised products and services (excluding range and image advertising) in March

publikation img

Outlook

April 2020 marked the biggest slump (-40%) experienced by the Swiss advertising market. It remains to be seen how the coming easing of lockdown measures will influence the advertising market in April 2021.

Media Mix

Media Mix for the month of March

publikation img
This website uses cookies to give you a more comfortable browsing experience. More info
OK

21.04.2021

Le marché publicitaire suisse un an après le 1er confinement


publikation img

Les temps forts du mois de mars

Mi-mars 2020, les premiers effets de la crise du coronavirus commençaient à se faire ressentir sur le marché publicitaire suisse. En mars 2021, un an plus tard, si l’on a retrouvé l’augmentation habituelle par rapport à janvier (+48,5%) et février (+38,0%), comme déjà observé sur le troisième mois des années précédentes, le marché publicitaire suisse reste en retard de 433,3 millions de francs bruts sur les résultats de l’année dernière (-2,3%).

Le premier trimestre enregistre ainsi une baisse de 19% par rapport aux valeurs de 2020, et même de 40% par rapport à celles de 2019.

Pression publicitaire sur le marché global

Développement de la pression publicitaire au mois de mars 2021 en millions de francs bruts

publikation img publikation img

Le secteur Automobile, un acteur clé de la publicité malgré l’absence de salons

En mars 2021, encore une fois, le secteur Automobile n’a pas pu profiter des campagnes publicitaires liées aux salons de l’auto. L’année dernière, cela a entraîné un recul de 41,1% par rapport à l’année précédente. En mars 2021, le secteur est en revanche parvenu à renforcer significativement sa pression publicitaire, avec une progression de 36,1% qui le ramène à un niveau similaire à celui des années précédentes. Le secteur a par ailleurs placé deux de ses produits dans le Top 10, deux campagnes provenant du concessionnaire AMAG et mettant l’accent sur la publicité Out-of-Home.

Dans le secteur Produits tabagiques aussi, la pression publicitaire a augmenté en mars. Tandis qu’en mars 2020, il faisait déjà partie des rares secteurs à accroître sa présence publicitaire (+24,2%), sa pression publicitaire a même bondi de 173,2% en mars de cette année. Le principal moteur de cette explosion est la campagne pour le système de tabac chauffé IQOS de Philip Morris.

Le secteur Construction, industrie et ameublement est le dernier à avoir enregistré une augmentation de pression publicitaire supérieure à 20%en mars 2021 (+22,5%).

6 secteurs enregistrent une baisse supérieure à 20%

Alors que le secteur Loisirs, gastronomie et tourisme était encore au sommet du podium l’année dernière, il doit cette fois se contenter de la dixième place, crise oblige. Après un recul de 40% l’année dernière, le mois de mars 2021 affiche cette fois une baisse de 22,4%. L’allègement des mesures décidé au mois d’avril pourrait apporter un certain soulagement à l’ensemble du secteur.

Le secteur Finance a quant à lui vu sa pression publicitaire diminuer de 33,8% en mars 2021. Cette tendance s’observe dans l’ensemble des groupes de produits, des placements à la prévoyance. La publicité pour les produits de base s’en tire quant à elle à relativement bon compte (-9,6%).

Dans la liste des secteurs dont la pression publicitaire a baissé de plus de 20%, on trouve également les secteurs Transports en commun (-58,1%), Manifestations (-48,1%), Médias (-34,0%) et Services (-25,7%).

publikation img

Top du mois

Les top annonceurs et les produits et services faisant l'objet du plus grand nombre d'annonces publicitaires (hors promotion de l'assortiment et de l'image) en mars

publikation img

Perspective

Le mois d’avril de l’année dernière a enregistré la plus forte chute (-40%) de l’histoire du marché publicitaire suisse. Le mois prochain devrait donc révéler quel impact les prochains allègements de mesures auront sur le marché publicitaire en avril 2021.

Mix de médias

Mix de médias pour le mois de mars

publikation img
Ce site utilise des cookies pour vous donner une expérience de navigation plus confortable. Plus d'informations
OK