25.06.2019

Advertising Market Trend May 2019


publikation img

Highlights in May

Poster and online advertising fuelled the Swiss advertising market in the merry month of May. With gross advertising expenditure of 692.5 million Swiss francs, representing a 4.8 per cent increase, May replaced March as the highest month ytd. Compared to the previous month of April, this represents an increase of 8.3 per cent and 15.8 per cent compared to the same month last year. Cumulative gross advertising pressure exceeded the 3 billion mark in May, amounting to 3,094.4 million francs. Annual advertising pressure therefore rose by 5 per cent, year-on-year.


Advertising Pressure in the market as a whole

Development of Advertising Pressure as per May 2019

publikation img publikation img

Finance claims third place

The online advertising-savvy leisure, gastronomy, tourism and services sectors consolidated their leading position in the fifth month of the year. Despite spending three million less on advertising expenditure in May compared to its rival industry, leisure, gastronomy, tourism still had a comfortable cushion between it and the services sector. 22 million francs of gross advertising expenditure currently separate the two leaders. Finance claimed third place, thereby ending the brief sojourn of building, industry, furnishings on the podium, despite a smaller year-on-year increase (+13% compared to 24.8%).

Tobacco sector: upward trend thanks to e-cigarettes

The largest year-on-year increase was recorded by the tobacco sector. Advertising pressure was around 13 times higher than in May 2018, making May 2019 the month in which the tobacco sector recorded its highest advertising pressure since September 2016. Around 80% of gross advertising expenditure was attributable to one advertiser: British American Tobacco Switzerland AG. Known for brands such as Pall Mall, Parisienne and Winfield, this global tobacco company now advertises VYPE e-cigarettes and EPOK Snus in Switzerland. But this does not alter the fact that the tobacco sector continues to have the lowest advertising pressure compared to other industries. The second biggest increase was recorded by the IT, hard + software product group (81.1%). This is closely followed by the public transport companies, services and personal care sectors (around 40% each).

Cleaning and beverages fall

The ups and downs of the cleaning sector continue. While the industry ranked among the top 3 with the largest increase (+61.6%) last May, it significantly cut back its advertising pressure this May (-32.2%). The biggest fall was recorded by the (liquid) detergent product segment. As well as cleaning, only the beverages sector also reduced its advertising pressure in May. But at -5.6 per cent, its decline was much lower.


Advertising pressure in the sectors

Advertising pressure in the sectors with comparative figures for the previous year

publikation img

Top 10 of the month

The top 10 advertisers and most widely advertised products and services (excluding range and image advertising) in May:

publikation img

Media Mix

The integration of the search data, desktop (January 2017) and mobile (July 2017) into the Media Focus advertising statistics has led to a significant increase in the Internet proportion of the media mix. Since January 2018, search data for French-speaking Switzerland (Romandy) has also been collected (share of search: 85% German/15% French).

publikation img
This website uses cookies to give you a more comfortable browsing experience. More info
OK

25.06.2019

Tendance du marché publicitaire mai 2019


publikation img

Les temps forts du mois de mai

C'est la publicité par affichage et en ligne qui a fleuri le marché publicitaire suisse en ce joli mois de mai. Avec 692.5 millions de francs bruts, soit une pression publicitaire en hausse de 4.8 pour cent, le mois de mai dépasse le mois de mars qui détenait jusqu'ici le record. Par rapport au mois d'avril, cela représente une augmentation de 8.3 pour cent. Par rapport à mai 2018, l'augmentation est de 15.8 pour cent. La pression publicitaire cumulée a déjà franchi la barre des 3 milliards en mai et s'élève à 3'094,4 millions de francs bruts. La pression publicitaire annuelle augmente ainsi de 5 pour cent par rapport à l'année précédente.

Pression publicitaire sur le marché global

Développement de la pression publicitaire au mois de mai 2019

publikation img publikation img

La catégorie Finance retrouve sa troisième place

Les secteurs utilisant le plus de publicité en ligne (Loisirs, Gastronomie, Tourisme et Services) restent en tête au cinquième mois de l'année. Malgré une pression publicitaire de 3 millions de moins au mois de mai, le secteur des Loisirs, de la gastronomie et du tourisme maintient une avance confortable sur le secteur des Services. Les deux secteurs en tête se partagent actuellement une pression publicitaire de 22 millions de francs bruts. La catégorie Finance occupe désormais la troisième place et, en dépit d'une progression moindre par rapport à l'année précédente (de +13% à 24.8%), met fin à l'ambition du secteur de la Construction, de l'industrie et de l'ameublement d'évoluer sur le podium.

Secteur des Produits tabagiques: Tendance ascendante grâce aux cigarettes électroniques

C'est chez le secteur des Produits tabagiques qu'on observe la plus forte augmentation d'une année à l'autre ce mois-ci. La pression publicitaire est en effet près de 13 fois plus forte qu'en mai 2018. Le secteur des Produits tabagiques enregistre ainsi au mois de mai 2019 sa plus forte pression publicitaire depuis septembre 2016. Et environ 80% des dépenses publicitaires brutes sont le fait d'un annonceur: British American Tobacco Switzerland AG. Connu pour ses marques Pall Mall, Parisienne et Winfield, le groupe mondial fait désormais la promotion des cigarettes électroniques VYPE et des EPOK snus en Suisse. Tout cela ne change rien au fait que ce secteur continue d'avoir la pression publicitaire la plus faible par rapport à tous les autres. La deuxième plus forte hausse a été enregistrée par la catégorie Produits informatiques, hardware & software (81,1%). Les secteurs des Transports, des Services et des Besoins personnels suivent de près avec environ 40% chacun.

Nettoyage et Boissons en recul

Les hauts et les bas de la catégorie Nettoyage se poursuivent. Alors qu'au mois de mai de l'année dernière, la catégorie figurait parmi les trois premières avec la plus forte augmentation (+61,6%), cette année, elle a réduit considérablement sa pression publicitaire (-32,2%). Le recul le plus important est à constater chez le segment de produit des détergents fins (liquides). Le secteur des Boissons réduit lui aussi sa pression publicitaire ce mois-ci. À -5,6%, le recul est quand même bien plus faible.


Pression publicitaire par secteurs

Pression publicitaire par secteurs comparée à l'année précédente

publikation img

Top 10 du mois

Les 10 premiers annonceurs et les produits et services faisant l'objet du plus grand nombre d'annonces publicitaires (hors promotion de l'assortiment et de l'image) en mai

publikation img

Mix de médias

L'intégration des données de recherche, Desktop (janvier 2017) et Mobile (juillet 2017) dans les statistiques publicitaires de Media Focus a entraîné une augmentation significative de la part Internet dans le mix de médias. Depuis janvier 2018, on recueille également des données de recherche pour la Suisse romande (la recherche étant répartie comme suit: 85% DE/15% FR).

publikation img
Ce site utilise des cookies pour vous donner une expérience de navigation plus confortable. Plus d'informations
OK