13.12.2019

Advertising Market Trend November 2019


publikation img

Highlights in November

Following a strong October, advertising expenditure grew slightly in the second last month of the year and stands at CHF 717.5 million (gross). As in the previous two years, November is the strongest month to date for advertising expenditure this year. Advertising expenditure is therefore at the same level in November as the same month in the previous year (+0.3%). Cumulatively, the annual advertising expenditure stands at CHF 6.7 billion (gross) one month before the year end, which is a rise of 2.3 per cent compared with the same period of the previous year.

Advertising Pressure in the market as a whole

Development of Advertising Pressure as per November 2019

publikation img publikation img

Some castling in the sector ranking

Podium places have been taken in the sector ranking list. As in the previous year, leisure, gastronomy and tourism lag behind services and financial services. The most high-profile month of the year involves a few changes at the bottom of the table. The retail business is edging forwards in November ahead of construction, industry and furnishings, thanks to the highest expenditure of all sectors. Pharma and healthcare has the most advertised product of the month with Vicks VapoRub chest rub and is overtaking the telecommunications sector as a result. Advertising on personal care services was twice as high in November as for beverages. Thanks to this performance, personal care services has a wafer-thin YTD lead of CHF 0.3 million (gross) over the beverage industry. The food industry has not only been able to confirm its lead over the vehicle sector, but has even been able to widen the gap slightly.

No major fluctuations compared with the same month in the previous year

Just a few sectors increased their advertising expenditure in November compared with the same month in the previous year. The cleaning sector (+54.8%) has achieved the largest percentage rise.

The most significant percentage reduction in advertising expenditure can be seen among political campaigns. One possible reason for advertising expenditure being 65 per cent higher in the same month of the previous year is that agreement was reached over the much-discussed self-rule initiative in November last year.

Ferrero has again been twice in the top 10

Ferrero has increased advertising expenditure in November by 40 per cent compared with the same month in the previous year and is, once again, present among the top 10 with these two products; this time, with Kinder Chocolate and Kinder Surprise. Thanks to the advertising campaign for the new TV box in November, Swisscom can be found in fifth place among the top advertisers, after it had taken just rank 10 in the previous month. Surprisingly, despite Singles Day, Black Friday and Cyber Monday, no classic electronics wholesalers can be found among the top 10 advertisers.


Advertising pressure in the sectors

Advertising pressure in the sectors with comparative figures for the previous year

publikation img

Top 10 of the month

The top 10 advertisers and most widely advertised products and services (excluding range and image advertising) in November

publikation img

Media Mix

The integration of the search data, desktop (January 2017) and mobile (July 2017) into the Media Focus advertising statistics has led to a significant increase in the Internet proportion of the media mix. Since January 2018, search data for French-speaking Switzerland (Romandy) has also been collected (share of search: 85% German/15% French).

publikation img
This website uses cookies to give you a more comfortable browsing experience. More info
OK

13.12.2019

Tendance du marché publicitaire novembre 2019


publikation img

Les temps forts du mois de novembre

Après un fort mois d'octobre, la pression publicitaire augmente encore légèrement pendant l'avant-dernier mois de l'année et atteint 717.5 millions de francs bruts. Novembre, comme les deux années précédentes, est donc jusqu'à maintenant le mois de l'année qui a fait l'objet du plus grand nombre de campagnes publicitaires. En novembre, la pression publicitaire se situe donc à peu près au même niveau qu'au même mois de l'année précédente (+0.3%). En cumul, la pression publicitaire annuelle se situera aux environs de 6.7 milliards de francs bruts avant la fin de l'année, ce qui correspond à une augmentation de 2.3 pour cent par rapport à l'année précédente.

Pression publicitaire sur le marché global

Développement de la pression publicitaire au mois de novembre 2019

publikation img publikation img

Quelques changements dans le classement des secteurs

Les places sur le podium de classement des secteurs ont été attribuées. Comme l'année précédente, le secteur loisir, gastronomie et tourisme est devant le secteur des services et de la finance. Le mois de l'année qui a fait l'objet du plus grand nombre de campagnes publicitaires apporte cependant son lot de changements dans le bas du tableau. Le commerce de détail remonte dans le classement, grâce à une pression publicitaire très forte dans tous les secteurs en novembre, devant les constructions, l'industrie et l'ameublement. La pharmaceutique et la santé, avec la pommade contre la toux Vicks VapoRub, représente le produit du mois qui a fait l'objet du plus grand nombre de publicités et dépasse dans la foulée le secteur des télécommunications. Les besoins personnels ont, en novembre, fait l'objet de deux fois plus de publicité, comme les boissons. Grâce à cet effort, les besoins personnels YTD ont une petite longueur d'avance, de 0.3 millions de CHF (bruts), sur le secteur des boissons. Le secteur des produits alimentaires confirme non seulement son avance sur celui des véhicules, mais peut aussi facilement le distancer.

Pas de grandes variations par rapport au même mois de l'année précédente

Seuls quelques secteurs augmentent leur pression publicitaire en novembre par rapport au même mois de l'année précédente. Le secteur du nettoyage enregistre la plus forte hausse en pourcentage (+54.8%).

La plus forte baisse de pression publicitaire en pourcentage est à observer dans le secteur des campagnes politiques. L'augmentation de 65% de la pression publicitaire l'année précédente pour le même mois peut être justifiée par le fait qu'en novembre l'année dernière, l'initiative pour l'autodétermination a fait l'objet de nombreux débats.

Ferrero à nouveau deux fois dans le Top 10

Ferrero augmente sa pression publicitaire de 40 pour cent en novembre par rapport au même mois de l'année précédente et est à nouveau présent dans le Top 10 avec 2 produits, cette fois avec Kinder Chocolat et Kinder Surprise. On retrouve Swisscom à la cinquième place du Top des annonceurs en novembre, grâce à la campagne publicitaire pour la nouvelle box TV, après avoir occupé la place n°10 du classement l'année précédente pour le même mois. Etonnamment, malgré les Singles Day, Black Friday et Cyber Monday, on ne trouve aucun fournisseur de produits informatiques habituel dans le Top 10 des annonceurs.


Pression publicitaire par secteurs

Pression publicitaire par secteurs comparée à l'année précédente

publikation img

Top 10 du mois

Les 10 premiers annonceurs et les produits et services faisant l'objet du plus grand nombre d'annonces publicitaires (hors promotion de l'assortiment et de l'image) en novembre

publikation img

Mix de médias

L'intégration des données de recherche, Desktop (janvier 2017) et Mobile (juillet 2017) dans les statistiques publicitaires de Media Focus a entraîné une augmentation significative de la part Internet dans le mix de médias. Depuis janvier 2018, on recueille également des données de recherche pour la Suisse romande (la recherche étant répartie comme suit: 85% DE/15% FR).

publikation img
Ce site utilise des cookies pour vous donner une expérience de navigation plus confortable. Plus d'informations
OK