16.12.2020

New annual high, but advertising pressure markedly lower than in 2019


publikation img

Highlights in November

Advertising pressure in the market as a whole in November was CHF 544.5 million gross. Although this figure is the highest of the year so far – just – it is nevertheless down by 13.6 percent compared with the previous year. This makes it the tenth month in a row in which the figure was lower than in the same month last year. Cumulative annual advertising pressure is now, just one month before year end, CHF 4,616 million gross. That represents a decrease in advertising pressure of 15.1 percent compared with the same period in 2019.

Advertising Pressure in the market as a whole

Development of Advertising Pressure as per November 2020 in million francs (gross)

publikation img publikation img

Print advertising shows modest recovery, while out-of-home’s triumphant march starts to slow down

The negative trend was evident across all media groups in November. Print advertising was the best performer, recovering slightly in November so that it was just 4.2 percent below the value achieved in the same month last year. Out-of-home advertising, which in previous months increased steadily in comparison with last year, actually registered a slight decrease of 4.7 percent from the November 2019 value. Double-digit decreases from last November’s values were registered by TV (-17%), online (-17.8%) and radio (-15.4%). Hardest hit was cinema advertising – having already seen advertising pressure decrease by 60 percent in October compared with the previous year, in November it sank even lower, to around 93 percent.

Besides retail trade also initiatives & campaigns with double-digit growth

In November, advertising pressure increased in six out of 21 sectors, compared with last year. Besides the top-performing sector, retail, which, with an increase of 10.5%, went up by double digits for the third month in a row, the initiatives & campaigns sector stands out, having gone up by 20.2 percent compared with the same month last year. Much of this increase can be attributed to the referendum held on 29 November.

Sectors that registered the biggest decreases in advertising pressure compared with the previous year are those most affected by the coronavirus crisis, i.e. events (-80.2%), public transport companies (-69.2%) and leisure, gastronomy and tourism (-44.4%).

Altogether, one month before year end, just three out of 21 sectors have registered positive year-to-date growth in advertising pressure, compared to 2019: initiatives & campaigns (+9.9%), retail (+8.3%) and cleaning (+6.2%).

Initiatives & campaigns dominate the Top 10 products

The initiatives & campaigns sector’s strong performance in November is also reflected in the Top 10 products for the month. The Federal Office of Public Health’s coronavirus campaign once again reigns supreme, with a recorded advertising pressure of more than CHF 4 million gross. This is despite the fact that the campaign didn’t even figure among the top 10 most advertised products in October. Second and third places in the product rankings are also occupied by players in the initiatives & campaigns sector – namely, the opponents (2nd place) and supporters (3rd place) of the Responsible Business Initiative. This means the Yes camp is, for the second time in a row, the third most advertised product of the month.

publikation img

Top of the month

The top advertisers and most widely advertised products and services (excluding range and image advertising) in November

publikation img

Media Mix

Media Mix for the month of November

publikation img
This website uses cookies to give you a more comfortable browsing experience. More info
OK

16.12.2020

Malgré un record annuel, la pression publicitaire reste inférieure à 2019


publikation img

Les temps forts du mois d'novembre

En novembre, la pression publicitaire sur le marché global s’élève à 544,5 millions de francs bruts. Bien qu’il s’agisse – de justesse – de la valeur la plus élevée de l’année, cela représente une baisse de 13,6% par rapport à l’année dernière. C’est donc le dixième mois consécutif où la pression publicitaire mensuelle est inférieure à celle du même mois de l’année précédente. A un mois de la fin de l’année, la pression publicitaire annuelle s’élève à 4616 millions de francs bruts. Cela correspond à une baisse de 15,1% de la pression publicitaire par rapport à la même période de l’année dernière.

Pression publicitaire sur le marché global

Développement de la pression publicitaire au mois de novembre 2020 en millions de francs bruts

publikation img publikation img

La publicité imprimée montre une légère reprise, le succès de la publicité Out-of-Home est pour l’instant ralenti

En novembre, la tendance négative s’étend à tous les groupes de médias. La publicité imprimée est la mieux placée: elle affiche une certaine reprise et une baisse de seulement 4,2% en novembre par rapport au même mois de l’année dernière. La publicité extérieure, qui a connu une progression régulière ces derniers mois en comparaison annuelle, a également enregistré une légère baisse (4,7%) par rapport à novembre 2019. Outre la télévision (-17%), Internet (-17,8%) et la radio (-15,4%) ont aussi accusé des baisses à deux chiffres en comparaison avec le même mois de l’année précédente. La publicité au cinéma a été la plus touchée – après avoir déjà diminué au mois d’octobre d’environ 60% par rapport au même mois de l’année dernière, la pression publicitaire a baissé en novembre de près de 93%.

Initiatives et campagnes et commerce de détail avec une augmentation à deux chiffres

6 secteurs sur 21 ont pu enregistrer en novembre une augmentation par rapport à l’année précédente. Outre le meilleur secteur, à savoir le commerce de détail (+10,5%) qui a connu une hausse à deux chiffres pour le troisième mois consécutif, le secteur des initiatives & campagnes s’est distingué par une augmentation de 20,2% par rapport au même mois de l’année dernière. Cette progression est principalement due aux votations populaires du 29 novembre.

Les secteurs où la pression publicitaire a le plus diminué en comparaison avec l’année précédente sont les secteurs manifestations (-80,2%), transports en commun (-69,2%) et loisirs, gastronomie, tourisme (-44,4%), tous fortement touchés par la crise du coronavirus.

Cumulativement, seuls 3 des 21 secteurs présentent un résultat positif un mois avant la fin de l’année: les initiatives & campagnes (+9,9%), le commerce de détail (+8,3%) et le secteur nettoyage (+6,2%) ont pu augmenter la pression publicitaire YTD par rapport à 2019.

Les représentants des initiatives & campagnes dominent le top 10 des produits

Les bons résultats publicitaires du secteur des initiatives & campagnes se reflètent également dans le top 10 des produits du mois de novembre. La campagne de l’OFSP relative au coronavirus est de retour sur le trône, avec une pression publicitaire mesurée de plus de 4 millions de francs bruts. Et ce, après que la campagne n’a même pas réussi à se hisser parmi les dix produits les plus promus en octobre. Les rangs 2 et 3 du classement des produits reviennent également aux représentants du secteur des initiatives & campagnes, à savoir aux opposants (2e place) et aux partisans (3e place) de l’Initiative multinationales responsables. Pour la deuxième fois consécutive, le camp du Oui a donc été classé comme troisième produit le plus promu du mois.

publikation img

Top du mois

Les top annonceurs et les produits et services faisant l'objet du plus grand nombre d'annonces publicitaires (hors promotion de l'assortiment et de l'image) en novembre

publikation img

Mix de médias

Mix de médias pour le mois d'novembre

publikation img
Ce site utilise des cookies pour vous donner une expérience de navigation plus confortable. Plus d'informations
OK