17.11.2020

Advertising pressure is lower in October, too, than in the previous year


publikation img

Highlights in October

As was the case last year, gross advertising pressure statistics generated the highest value of the year to date in October. At CHF 533.9m gross, advertising pressure increased by 7.6 percent compared to the previous month. However, compared to the previous year, it had slumped by a significant 10.6 percent. In cumulative terms, this amounts to annual advertising pressure of CHF 4,068.3m gross. The consequences of the coronavirus crisis are still making themselves felt with a drop of 15.4 percent (YTD). This development is also reflected in the media groups, with the out-of-home media group offering the only surprise by being able to provide another increase compared to the previous year. All the other media groups are still far behind last year’s values.


Advertising Pressure in the market as a whole

Development of Advertising Pressure as per October 2020 in million francs (gross)

publikation img publikation img

Out-of-home reveals itself to be a stable media group

In October, out-of-home was again able to increase its advertising pressure compared to the previous year, once more proving itself to be the group that is the most resistant to the consequences of the coronavirus crisis. Radio and internet, which saw lower advertising pressure in October than in the previous year, seemed to have recovered somewhat, at least. Now that cinemas have closed in some cantons once again, this is also shown in the advertising pressure for this media group, with this figure reduced by more than 50% compared to the previous year. TV and print displayed lower values in October once more, too.

The retail trade as the only sector with two-digit growth

Only three out of 21 sectors increased advertising pressure in October, previously the month with the strongest advertising pressure.
After the food sector saw even higher advertising pressure in September, the retail trade once again experienced the strongest YTD advertising pressure in October and the biggest growth in the current month. Compared to the previous year, this sector saw growth of 25.5 percent in October, reporting the only two-digit increase for this month. The energy sector (+9.5%) and the tobacco sector (+3.7%) were able to slightly increase advertising pressure compared to the previous year, but they are far behind the previous year’s values in terms of YTD.

18 of 21 sectors reduced advertising pressure in October

In October, too, the effects of the coronavirus crisis had a major impact on advertising pressure in the events sector (-53.6%), which saw its YTD advertising pressure in 2020 drop by more than half compared to the previous year. As expected, there is no sign of a recovery yet for public transport companies (-59.3%), the media (-45.3%) and leisure, gastronomy, tourism (-32.9%).

publikation img

A look at the top 10 advertisers

Blue Entertainment AG, from Swisscom, is a new addition to the top 10. It did not merely join the top advertisers, coming in at 10th place: Blue TV was also the most-advertised product in October. As was the case in October last year, the top three spots were taken by Coop, Migros and Procter & Gamble.

Top of the month

The top advertisers and most widely advertised products and services (excluding range and image advertising) in October:

publikation img

Media Mix

Media Mix for the month of October

publikation img
This website uses cookies to give you a more comfortable browsing experience. More info
OK

17.11.2020

En octobre aussi, la pression publicitaire est plus faible que 2019


publikation img

Les temps forts du mois d'octobre

Comme l'année précédente, les statistiques brutes de cette année sur la pression publicitaire atteignent jusqu'à présent leur plus haut niveau en octobre. Avec 533.9 millions de francs suisses bruts, la pression publicitaire a pu augmenter de 7.6% par rapport au mois précédent. Cependant, si l’on compare ces résultats avec ceux de l'année précédente, on constate une baisse significative de 10.6%. Au total, cela correspond à une pression publicitaire annuelle de 4068.3 millions de francs suisses bruts. Avec une baisse de 15.4% (YTD), les conséquences de la crise du coronavirus sont encore clairement visibles. Cette évolution se reflète également dans les groupes de médias. La seule surprise provient du groupe de médias «Out-of-Home», qui a une fois de plus augmenté par rapport à l'année précédente. Tous les autres groupes de médias se situent encore bien en-dessous des chiffres de l'année précédente.

Pression publicitaire sur le marché global

Développement de la pression publicitaire au mois de octobre 2020 en millions de francs bruts

publikation img publikation img

Out-of-Home se distingue comme un groupe de médias stable

«Out-of-Home» a pu à nouveau augmenter sa pression publicitaire en octobre par rapport à l'année précédente et s’est ainsi distingué, une fois de plus, comme le groupe le plus résistant aux conséquences de la crise du coronavirus. Même la radio et l'internet, qui ont certes enregistré une pression publicitaire plus faible en octobre aussi par rapport à l'année précédente, semblent se redresser au moins un peu. La nouvelle fermeture des cinémas dans certains cantons se reflète maintenant aussi dans la pression publicitaire du groupe de médias, qui a enregistré une pression publicitaire inférieure de plus de 50% par rapport à l'année précédente. La télévision et la presse écrite se distinguent encore une fois par des chiffres plus faibles en octobre.

Le commerce de détail est le seul secteur à connaître une croissance à deux chiffres

Seuls 3 des 21 secteurs ont augmenté leur pression publicitaire en octobre, mois où la pression publicitaire a été la plus forte jusqu'à présent.
Après que l'industrie alimentaire a encore pu augmenter sa pression publicitaire en septembre, le commerce de détail a de nouveau affiché la plus forte pression publicitaire en cumul annuel et la plus forte augmentation du mois en cours en octobre. Par rapport à l'année précédente, le secteur a pu augmenter sa pression publicitaire de 25.5% en octobre et il est le seul à avoir enregistré une hausse à deux chiffres ce mois-ci. Le secteur de l'énergie (+9.5%) et celui du tabac (+3.7%) ont également réussi à intensifier légèrement leur pression publicitaire par rapport à l'année précédente, même si le cumul annuel est nettement inférieur aux chiffres de l'année précédente.

Parmi 21 branches, 18 réduisent leur pression publicitaire en octobre

En octobre, les effets de la crise du coronavirus ont continué à avoir un fort impact sur la pression publicitaire dans le secteur de l'événementiel (-53.6%), qui a ainsi réduit de plus de moitié sa pression publicitaire cumulée depuis le début de l’année 2020 par rapport à l'année précédente. Comme on pouvait s'y attendre, aucune reprise ne peut encore être observée dans le secteur des transports (-59.3%), des médias (-45.3%) et loisir, gastronomie, tourisme (-32.9%).

publikation img

Coup d’œil sur les 10 premiers annonceurs

La société Blue Entertainment AG de Swisscom figure désormais dans le top 10. Non seulement elle s'est classée 10e parmi les plus grands annonceurs, mais Blue TV est également le produit le plus mis en avant par la publicité en octobre. Comme en octobre de l'année dernière, Coop, Migros et Procter & Gamble sont sur le podium.

Top du mois

Les top annonceurs et les produits et services faisant l'objet du plus grand nombre d'annonces publicitaires (hors promotion de l'assortiment et de l'image) en octobre:

publikation img

Mix de médias

Mix de médias pour le mois d'octobre

publikation img
Ce site utilise des cookies pour vous donner une expérience de navigation plus confortable. Plus d'informations
OK