21.10.2021

Marked increase in September


publikation img

Highlights in September

September is always a strong advertising month and this year is no different, with September 2021 recording gross advertising pressure of CHF 629.2 million. This represents a marked increase (+59.9%) both on the previous month’s total and on the advertising market total for the same month last year (+26.6%).

The biggest trigger for the increase is the online advertising pressure - especially Search. The number of ad displays found was declining due to an adjustment by Google. The algorithm was adapted accordingly and the number is now back at a higher level.

Total advertising pressure for the year to date (first three quarters) is CHF 3,735.6 million gross – an increase of 5.6 percent on the total for the same period in 2020. Compared with 2019, however, advertising pressure is down by 11.3 percent.

Advertising Pressure in the market as a whole

Development of Advertising Pressure as per September 2021 in million francs (gross)

publikation img publikation img

Advertising pressure doubles in three sectors

Overall, the advertising market grew by 26.6 percent in September compared with the previous year. This can be attributed mainly to clear growth in three sectors. Fashion and sport (+105%), leisure, gastronomy & tourism (+102.7%) and events (+96.2%) all recorded considerable increases in September and doubled their advertising pressure compared with the previous year. Events recorded a quarter of its overall YTD advertising pressure in September alone. As a result, the sector’s YTD advertising pressure is now 1.4 percent above last year’s level.

The YTD comparisons for the tobacco products (+24.5%), cosmetics & toiletries (+21.8%) and beverages (+17.9%) sectors also paint a positive picture.

Only five sectors decline in September

Advertising pressure compared with 2020 is down in a total of five sectors in September. The biggest decline was recorded in the energy sector (-19.2%), followed by initiatives & campaigns (-17.6%), beverages (-14.1%) and tobacco products (-7.1%). Like last month, the telecommunications sector saw a slight drop (-5.8%) in advertising pressure.

Despite recording positive growth in September, YTD advertising pressure in the leisure, gastronomy & tourism sector continues to lag behind, with the third-largest decline (-5.5%) compared with last year.

It’s a similar story in the services sector, where, despite a marked increase of 69.6 percent in September, the YTD shows the second-largest decline (-6.8%). Only in the public transport sector has the YTD total fallen by more (-7.6%) compared to last year.

publikation img

Top of the month

The top advertisers and most widely advertised products and services (excluding range, image and collective categories) in September

publikation img

Media Mix

Media Mix for the month of September

publikation img
This website uses cookies to give you a more comfortable browsing experience. More info
OK

21.10.2021

Forte hausse en septembre


publikation img

Les temps forts du mois de septembre

Comme d’habitude, les recettes publicitaires pour le mois de septembre sont bonnes en 2021 et clôturent avec une pression publicitaire brute de 629,2 millions de francs. Par rapport au mois précédent, cela représente une nette augmentation (+59,9%) et le marché publicitaire a également connu une hausse significative par rapport à l’année précédente (+26,6%).

Le principal facteur de cette augmentation est la forte croissance de la publicité en ligne, en particulier Search. Le nombre d'annonces publicitaires trouvées avait diminué suite à un ajustement de Google. L'algorithme a été adapté en conséquence et le nombre d'annonces trouvées est maintenant revenu à un niveau plus élevé.

Cumulée sur les 3 premiers trimestres, la pression publicitaire s’établit à 3735,6 millions de francs bruts et enregistre, par rapport à 2020, une augmentation de 5,6%. Par rapport à 2019, la pression publicitaire reste toutefois loin derrière (-11,3%).

Pression publicitaire sur le marché global

Développement de la pression publicitaire au mois de septembre 2021 en millions de francs bruts

publikation img publikation img

Trois secteurs doublent leur pression publicitaire

Globalement, le marché publicitaire est en hausse de 26,6% en septembre par rapport à l’année précédente. Cela peut être attribué principalement à l’augmentation significative de trois secteurs. Les secteurs de la mode et du sport (+105,0%), des loisirs, de la gastronomie, du tourisme (+102,7%) et des événements (+96,2%) ont connu une hausse significative en septembre et ont doublé leur pression publicitaire par rapport à l’année précédente. Les événements peuvent à eux seuls enregistrer un quart de la pression publicitaire totale AAJ. Cela signifie que la pression publicitaire AAJ du secteur est désormais supérieure de 1,4% par rapport au niveau de l’année précédente.

Un regard sur la comparaison AAJ montre également une progression positive pour les produits tabagiques (+24,5%), les cosmétiques et soins du corps (+21,8%) et les boissons (+17,9%).

Seuls cinq secteurs enregistrent une baisse en septembre

Au total, cinq secteurs réduisent la pression publicitaire par rapport à septembre 2020. La réduction la plus importante concerne le secteur de l’énergie (-19,2%), suivie par les initiatives et les campagnes (-17,6%), les boissons (-14,1%) et les produits tabagiques (-7,1%). Comme le mois précédent, le secteur des télécommunications a également légèrement réduit sa pression publicitaire (-5,8%).

Malgré l’évolution positive de la pression publicitaire en septembre, le secteur des loisirs, de la gastronomie et du tourisme reste à la traîne et affiche la troisième plus forte réduction par rapport à l’année précédente (-5,5%).

Le tableau est similaire pour le secteur des services, qui a augmenté de manière significative en septembre (+69,6%), mais a enregistré la deuxième plus forte réduction en valeur AAJ (-6,8%). Seules les entreprises de transport sont encore plus en retard par rapport à l’année précédente, avec une réduction de 7,6%.

publikation img

Top du mois

Les top annonceurs et les produits et services faisant l'objet du plus grand nombre d'annonces publicitaires (hors promotion d’assortiment et d’image et catégories de collection) en septembre

publikation img

Mix de médias

Mix de médias pour le mois de septembre

publikation img
Ce site utilise des cookies pour vous donner une expérience de navigation plus confortable. Plus d'informations
OK