16.09.2020

Out-of-Home continues to grow


publikation img

Highlights in August

The summer slump continues in the Swiss advertising market. As in July, the advertising pressure was well below the 400 million mark in August at 357.6 million gross francs. Thus, for the sixth month in succession, the monthly advertising pressure was below the figure for the same month in the previous year. In August, the decline amounted to 9.1 percent. The Federal Office of Public Health's coronavirus information campaign is back at the top of the most advertised products in the Swiss advertising market, and the advertising pressure in the market as a whole is YTD 17.1 percent lower than in the previous year.

publikation img

Traditional media slowly recovering

A look at the media mix shows: out-of-home advertising unswervingly continues to make triumphant progress, accounting for a fifth of the entire advertising pressure in the Swiss advertising market in August. As in June and July, out-of-home advertising pressure again increased compared to the previous year (+25.9%). Meanwhile, cinema advertising in Switzerland continued to struggle. Although cinemas reopened their doors for up to 300 people at the beginning of June, cinema advertising pressure continues to decline. In August it reached around 0.8 million gross francs. This means cinema advertising pressure was almost 70 percent lower than in August last year. Internet advertising pressure also fell substantially year-on-year (-31.7%), with the proportion of internet advertising dropping from 32 percent in July to 22 percent in August. TV advertising recovered somewhat in August, increasing its share of the overall advertising pressure from 5 per cent to 26 per cent over the previous month. Compared to the previous year, however, TV advertising pressure was still in decline in August at minus 8.8 per cent. Advertising pressure in the radio (-5.9%) and print media (-3.4%) was at a similar level to that of August 2019.

publikation img

Initiatives & campaigns strong due to the upcoming referendum

In August, 8 of 21 sectors succeeded in raising the advertising pressure compared to last year. The strongest increase was recorded by Initiatives & campaigns with a rise of about one third, which is due to the upcoming referendum on 27 September. With the "No to hunting law" and the "Yes to moderate immigration" (limitation initiative), two campaigns or initiatives were to be found among the top 10 products of the month. In August, the Cleaning sector (+26.4%), Digital & household (+15.8%), the Energy sector (+11.8%) and Telecommunications (+10.6%) also posted double-digit year-on-year growth. In the market as a whole, a decline of 9.1 percent in gross advertising pressure was observed compared to the same month last year.


Advertising pressure in the sectors

publikation img

Top of the month

The top advertisers and most widely advertised products and services (excluding range and image advertising) in August:

publikation img

Media Mix

Media Mix for the month of August

publikation img
This website uses cookies to give you a more comfortable browsing experience. More info
OK

16.09.2020

Out-of-Home zieht weiter an


publikation img

Highlights im August

Das Sommerloch im Schweizer Werbemarkt hält weiter an. Wie bereits im Juli liegt der Werbedruck im August mit 357.6 Mio. Bruttofranken deutlich unter der 400-Millionen-Grenze. Damit kommt der monatliche Werbedruck zum sechsten Mal in Folge unter dem Wert aus dem Vorjahresmonat zu liegen. Im August beträgt der Rückgang 9.1 Prozent. Die Coronavirus-Informationskampagne des Bundesamts für Gesundheit ist zurück an der Spitze der meistbeworbenen Produkte im Schweizer Werbemarkt und der Werbedruck im Gesamtmarkt liegt YTD 17.1 Prozent unter dem Vorjahreswert.

Werbedruck im Gesamtmarkt

Entwicklung des Werbedrucks per August 2020 in Mio. Bruttofranken

publikation img

Klassische Medien erholen sich langsam

Ein Blick auf den Media Mix zeigt: Die Aussenwerbung setzt ihren Siegeszug unbeirrt fort und hat im August für einen Fünftel des gesamten Werbedrucks im Schweizer Werbemarkt gesorgt. Im Vorjahresvergleich konnte der Out-of-Home Werbedruck wie schon im Juni und im Juli erneut gesteigert werden (+25.9%). Derweil geht die Leidenszeit der Schweizer Kinowerbung weiter. Obwohl die Kinos ihre Säle seit Anfang Juni wieder für bis zu 300 Personen geöffnet haben, ist der Kino-Werbedruck weiter rückläufig. Im August liegt er bei rund 0.8 Mio. Bruttofranken. Damit ist der Kino-Werbedruck knapp 70 Prozent tiefer als im August des Vorjahres. Der Internetwerbedruck ist im Vorjahresvergleich ebenfalls stark gesunken (-31.7%). Damit sinkt der Anteil der Internetwerbung von 32 Prozent im Juli auf noch 22 Prozent im August. Die TV-Werbung kann sich im August etwas erholen und erhöht ihren Anteil am Gesamtwerbedruck gegenüber dem Vormonat um 5 Prozentpunkte auf neu 26 Prozent. Im Vorjahresvergleich ist der TV-Werbedruck im August mit minus 8.8 Prozent jedoch immer noch rückgängig. Der Werbedruck in Radio- (-5.9%) und Printmedien (-3.4%) bewegt sich auf ähnlichem Niveau wie im August 2019.

publikation img

Initiativen & Kampagnen im Abstimmungshoch

Im August konnten 8 von 21 Branchen den Werbedruck im Vorjahresvergleich steigern. Die stärkste Zunahme kann Initiativen & Kampagnen mit einer Steigerung um rund ein Drittel verzeichnen, was der anstehenden Volksabstimmung vom 27. September geschuldet ist. Mit dem „Nein zum Jagdgesetz“ und dem „Ja für eine massvolle Zuwanderung“ (Begrenzungsinitiative) sind zwei Vertreter der Branche unter den Top 10 Produkten des Monats zu finden. Zudem konnten sich im August die Reinigungsbranche (+26.4%), Digital & Haushalt (+15.8%), die Energiebranche (+11.8%) und Telekommunikation (+10.6%) im Vorjahresvergleich zweistellig steigern. Im Gesamtmarkt ist eine Abnahme des Bruttowerbedrucks um 9.1 Prozent gegenüber dem Vorjahresmonat zu beobachten.

Werbedruck in den Branchen

publikation img

Top des Monats

Die Top Werbungtreibenden und meistbeworbenen Produkte sowie Dienstleistungen (ohne Sortiments- und Imagewerbung) im August

publikation img

Media Mix

Media Mix für den Monat August

publikation img
Diese Webseite verwendet Cookies, um Ihnen ein angenehmeres Surfen zu ermöglichen. Mehr Info
OK