28.01.2019

Advertising Trend December 2018


publikation img

Highlights in December

The last month of the year closed at 616.7 million francs gross. This represents a decrease of -13.7% compared with the previous month. This means that, just as in previous years, November remains the strongest month of the year for advertising. Compared to 2017, gross advertising expenditure is growing, whether with or without data enrichment (+5.8% and +1.0% respectively).

Through the use of data enrichment in search engine marketing and the integration of YouTube, the 2018 advertising year saw a gross sum of 7 billion francs reached for the first time. Unadjusted, this corresponds to an increase of 17.7% compared with the previous year. Adjusted, organic growth sits significantly lower at 1.4%.

Data integration: Internet and TV

Since January 2017, the Internet media group has included search desktop advertising. As of the close of data in July 2017, search mobile data has also been integrated in Media Focus’s advertising statistics. In January 2018, search (desktop + mobile) was included for French-speaking Switzerland (Romandy), on the basis of ten thousand French search terms (share of search YTD: 85% DE/15% FR). Since March 2018, YouTube data (display and video) has also been included, with retroactive effect from January 2018, in the Advertising Market Trends (share of media mix YTD 1%).

Moreover, since January 2018, the TV media group has included TV sponsoring as well as the pre split, post split, single split and time advertising forms.

Advertising Pressure in the market as a whole

Development of Advertising Pressure as per December 2018


publikation img publikation img

Development of Advertising Pressure as per December 2018

publikation img

Last-Minute Change in the Top 10

As can be clearly seen, gold, silver and bronze go to the leisure, gastronomy and tourism, services and finance industries. And this is even after the finance industry, following three months of the highest advertising expenditure, took a short breather, managing to secure only seventh place in the monthly rankings.

Positions seven to ten saw one or two changes occur in 2018. An end-of-year spurt in the retail trade resulted in it overtaking the food industry, fashion & sport relegated vehicles to eighth place and business in the run-up to Christmas saw digital & household catapult to 9th position, ahead of initiatives and campaigns.

Pre-Christmas Business Pushes up Digital and Household

A new smartphone, PC, kitchen appliance or games console; whether purchased online or in-store, electronic devices must have managed to find their way under the majority of Switzerland's Christmas trees - at least in the minds of advertisers. Digital and household as well as the IT, hard- and software product group contained therein have achieved the highest percentage increase compared with the previous year (+30.4% and 30.9% respectively). Following this comes the finance industry (+25.7%) along with the insurance product group (+25.5%), while public transport companies and political campaigns show an increase of over 20%. Unlike in 2017, in December the beverages industry showed significant growth yet again, +19.5% compared with the previous month and +17.5% compared with December 2017.

Media Industry Tops the Negative List

Experiencing a decline of around one-fifth compared with 2017 (-20.7%), the media industry has had a weak year for advertising. The energy, fashion & sport and telecommunications industries also experienced double-figure percentage declines compared with the previous year. Following this are the cars (new) product group, down 9.8%, along with the cosmetics & toiletries and tobacco industries (-7.9% and -6.3% respectively). Gross advertising expenditure also fell for the watches & jewellery, personal care, vehicles and pharmaceuticals & health industries. However, these industries experienced a decline of under five percent.


Top 10 of the month

The Top 10 advertisers and most widely advertised products/services (not including range and image advertising) in December

publikation img

Media Mix

The integration of the search data, desktop (January 2017) and mobile (July 2017) into the Media Focus advertising statistics has led to a significant increase in the Internet proportion of the media mix. Since January 2018, search data for French-speaking Switzerland (Romandy) has also been collected (share of search: 85% German/15% French).

publikation img
This website uses cookies to give you a more comfortable browsing experience. More info
OK

28.01.2019

Werbemarkt Trend Dezember 2018


publikation img

Highlights im Dezember

Der letzte Monat des Jahres schliesst mit 616.7 Millionen Bruttofranken. Dies entspricht einem Rückgang von -13.7 Prozent im Vergleich zum Vormonat. Damit steht fest, der November bleibt, wie in den Jahren zuvor, der werbestärkste Monat des Jahres. Verglichen mit 2017 wächst der Brutto-Werbedruck hingegen an - egal ob mit oder ohne Datenerweiterung (+5.8%, respektive +1.0%).

Durch die Datenerweiterungen im Suchmaschinenmarketing und die Integration von YouTube knackt das Werbejahr 2018 erstmals die 7 Milliarden Bruttofrankenmarke. Dies entspricht unbereinigt einem Plus von 17.7 Prozent im Vorjahresvergleich. Das bereinigte organische Wachstum liegt deutlich niedriger bei 1.4 Prozent.

Datenintegration: Internet und TV

Die Mediengruppe Internet wird im Werbemarkt Trend seit Januar 2017 inklusive Search-Desktop Werbung ausgewiesen. Per Datenabschluss Juli 2017 wurde zusätzlich Search-Mobile in die Werbestatistik von Media Focus integriert. Im Januar 2018 erfolgte die Integration von Search (Desktop + Mobile) für die Romandie, auf Basis zehntausender französischer Suchbegriffe (Anteil an Search YTD: 85% DE/15% FR). Seit März 2018 werden auch YouTube-Daten (Display und Video) rückwirkend ab Januar 2018 im Werbemarkt Trend ausgewiesen (Anteil am Media Mix YTD 1%).

Darüber hinaus enthält die Mediengruppe TV ab Januar 2018 TV-Sponsoring sowie die Werbeformen Pre Split, Post Split, Single Split und Time.


Werbedruck im Gesamtmarkt

Entwicklung des Werbedrucks per Dezember 2018

publikation img publikation img

Entwicklung des Werbedrucks per Dezember 2018

publikation img

Last-Minute-Wechsel in den Top 10

Gold, Silber und Bronze gehen, wie sich bereits deutlich abzeichnete, an die Branchen Freizeit, Gastronomie & Tourismus, Dienstleistung sowie Finanzen. Auch wenn sich die Finanzbranche, nach drei Monaten mit dem höchsten Werbedruck, im Dezember eine kleine Verschnaufpause gönnt und im Monatsranking nur auf dem siebten Platz landet.

Auf den Rängen sieben bis zehn gibt es 2018 hingegen noch den ein oder anderen Wechsel. Detailhandel zieht im Jahresendspurt an der Nahrungsmittelbranche vorbei, Mode & Sport verweist Fahrzeuge auf den achten Platz und das Vorweihnachtsgeschäft katapultiert Digital & Haushalt vor Initiativen & Kampagnen auf Rang 9.

Vorweihnachtsgeschäft pusht Digital & Haushalt

Neues Smartphone, PC, Küchenmaschine oder Spielekonsole – egal ob online oder im Laden gekauft – elektronische Geräte dürften es unter die meisten Schweizer Weihnachtsbäume geschafft haben – zumindest wenn es nach dem Kopf der Werber geht. Digital und Haushalt sowie die dazugehörige Produktgruppe IT, Hard- & Software verzeichnen den höchsten prozentualen Anstieg im Vorjahresvergleich (+30.4%, resp. +30.9%). Dahinter folgt die Finanzbranche (+25.7%) mit der Produktgruppe Versicherungen (+25.5%) und auch Verkehrsbetriebe sowie politische Kampagnen verzeichnen eine Steigerung von über 20 Prozent. Anders als 2017, legt die Getränkebranche im Dezember nochmals deutlich zu, +19.5 Prozent im Vergleich zum Vormonat und +17.5 Prozent verglichen mit Dezember 2017.

Medienbranche führt die Negativliste an

Mit einem Rückgang von rund einem Fünftel verglichen zu 2017 (-20.7%) beschliesst die Medienbranche ein werblich schwaches Jahr. Auch die Branchen Energie, Mode & Sport sowie Telekommunikation reduzieren, verglichen zum Vorjahr, im zweitstelligen Prozentbereich. Danach folgen die Produktgruppen PKW (neu) mit einem Minus von 9.8 Prozent sowie die Branchen Kosmetik & Körperpflege (-7.9%) und Tabak (-6.3%). Auch Uhren & Schmuck, Persönlicher Bedarf, die Fahrzeugbranche und Pharma & Gesundheit senken den Brutto-Werbedruck. Der Rückgang liegt jedoch unter fünf Prozent.


Top 10 des Monats

Die Top 10 Werbetreibenden und meistbeworbenen Produkte sowie Dienstleistungen (ohne Sortiments- und Imagewerbung) im Dezember

publikation img

Media Mix

Die Integration der Search-Daten, Desktop (Januar 2017) und Mobile (Juli 2017) in die Werbestatistik von Media Focus führt zu einem deutlichen Anstieg des Internet-Anteils im Media Mix. Seit Januar 2018 werden neu auch Search-Daten für die Romandie erhoben (Anteil an Search: 85% DE/15% FR).

publikation img
Diese Webseite verwendet Cookies, um Ihnen ein angenehmeres Surfen zu ermöglichen. Mehr Info
OK