17.01.2020

Advertising Market Trend December 2019


publikation img

Highlights in December

In the last month of 2019, gross advertising expenditure amounted to 622.6 million francs. With a minimal increase of 1.2%, December closed at almost the same level as in the previous year. As in the preceding years, advertising pressure fell again in December after reaching its highest level of the year in November. Over the year as a whole, advertising pressure rose by 2.4 percent in 2019 compared to the previous year.

Advertising Pressure in the market as a whole

Development of Advertising Pressure as per December 2019

publikation img publikation img

No changes to the industry ranking list in December

The last advertising month of 2019 brought no more changes as regards industry rankings. The facts are thus as follows: in 2019, as in the previous year, the highest advertising pressure of all sectors was attributable to the sector of leisure, gastronomy, tourism. The sector leading in terms of advertising increased its annual advertising pressure by almost 12 percent compared to the previous year. This is notable as it is the third highest increase by percentage of all sectors. Furthermore, it was the first sector ever to cross the 700-million threshold. Second by a wide margin was the sector of services with around 75 million francs (gross), representing an increase in advertising pressure of 7.4 percent compared to 2018. As in 2018, the bronze medal went to the finance sector, which also evidenced a slight increase over the previous year (+2.3%), for the first time generating advertising pressure of more than 600 million francs (gross).

No notable fluctuations compared to the same month last year

The tobacco products sector, which is by law not allowed to advertise on television or on the radio in Switzerland, incurred the lowest advertising pressure of all sectors, with an annual advertising pressure of just under 14 million francs (gross). Nonetheless, the highest growth rate of all sectors was achieved by the tobacco products sector in 2019. Driven mainly by e-cigarette advertising, the industry’s advertising pressure rocketed by 124.1 percent compared to 2018. In addition to the energy sector (+15.4%) and the sector of leisure, gastronomy, tourism (+11.9%), personal care (+11.1%) also increased the annual advertising pressure at a double-digit percentage rate.

No drastic reductions in advertising pressure across all sectors

Six of 21 sectors reduced the advertising pressure compared to the previous year. The reductions are, however, modest, with none of the sectors reducing their advertising pressure at a double-digit percentage rate. The biggest decline was in the initiatives & campaigns sector with a decline of 8.7 percent. The sectors of beverages (-5.6%), fashion & sport (-4.3%) and food (-2.5%) also spent less on advertising than in the previous year. Events (-1.5%) and building, industry, furnishings (-1%) generated an advertising pressure in 2019 which was almost identical to that of the previous year.


Advertising pressure in the sectors

Advertising pressure in the sectors with comparative figures for the previous year

publikation img

Top 10 of the month

The top 10 advertisers and most widely advertised products and services (excluding range and image advertising) in December:

publikation img

Top 10 of the year

The top 10 advertisers and most widely advertised products and services (excluding range and image advertising) in 2019:

publikation img

Media Mix in December

The integration of the search data, desktop (January 2017) and mobile (July 2017) into the Media Focus advertising statistics has led to a significant increase in the Internet proportion of the media mix. Since January 2018, search data for French-speaking Switzerland (Romandy) has also been collected (share of search: 85% German/15% French).

publikation img

Media Mix in 2019

The media mix of the entire Swiss advertising market changed only slightly in 2019 compared to the previous year. The only thing that is noticeable is a shift of print advertising pressure towards Internet advertising. Hence, Internet advertising accounted for 40 percent of annual advertising pressure, an increase of 4 percent over 2018. At the same time, print media lost 4 percent of the total, accounting for around a fifth of the annual advertising pressure. Out-of-home advertising accounted for 10 percent of the annual advertising pressure (+1%), with radio advertising down to 2 percent (-1%). Television and cinema advertising retained their shares.

publikation img
This website uses cookies to give you a more comfortable browsing experience. More info
OK

17.01.2020

Werbemarkt Trend Dezember 2019


publikation img

Highlights im Dezember

Der Werbedruck beläuft sich im letzten Monat des Jahres 2019 auf 622.6 Mio. Bruttofranken. Mit einer minimen Steigerung (+1.2 %) schliesst der Dezember auf beinahe identischem Niveau wie im Vorjahr. Wie in den vergangenen Jahren sinkt der Werbedruck im Dezember wieder, nachdem er im November den Jahreshöchstwert erreicht hatte. Über das gesamte Jahr steigert sich der Bruttowerbedruck 2019 um 2.4 Prozent im Vorjahresvergleich.

Werbedruck im Gesamtmarkt

Entwicklung des Werbedrucks per Dezember 2019

publikation img publikation img

Dezember ändert nichts an Branchenrangliste

Der letzte Werbemonat des Jahres 2019 bringt keine Veränderungen im Branchenranking mehr mit sich. Damit steht fest: Die Branche Freizeit, Gastronomie & Tourismus ist 2019, wie schon im Vorjahr, für den höchsten Werbedruck aller Branchen verantwortlich. Die werblich führende Branche steigert ihren Jahreswerbedruck im Vorjahresvergleich um knapp 12 Prozent. Dies ist bemerkenswert, ist es doch die dritthöchste prozentuale Steigerung aller Branchen. Zudem knackt sie als erste Branche überhaupt die 700-Millionen-Grenze. Mit grossem Abstand von fast 75 MCHF (brutto) folgt die Dienstleistungsbranche auf Rang zwei, die den Werbedruck gegenüber 2018 um 7.4 Prozent erhöht. Die Bronzemedaille geht wie schon 2018 an die Finanzbranche, welche sich im Vorjahresvergleich ebenfalls leicht steigert (+2.3 %) und erstmals einen Bruttowerbedruck von über 600 Mio. Bruttofranken generiert.

Keine grossen Schwankungen gegenüber Vorjahresmonat

Die Tabakbranche, welche aufgrund der gesetzlichen Gegebenheiten in der Schweiz weder im Fernsehen noch im Radio werben darf, sorgt mit einem Jahreswerbedruck von knapp 14 Mio. Bruttofranken für den tiefsten Werbedruck aller Branchen. Prozentual kann sich die Tabakbranche im Jahr 2019 dafür am stärksten aller Branchen steigern. Hauptsächlich durch E-Zigarettenwerbung getrieben, legt der Werbedruck der Branche ein Plus von 124.1 Prozent gegenüber 2018 hin. Neben der Energiebranche (+15.4%) und der Branche Freizeit, Gastronomie, Tourismus (11.9%), steigert auch persönlicher Bedarf (+11.1%) den Jahreswerbedruck im zweistelligen Prozentbereich.

Branchenübergreifend keine drastischen Senkungen des Werbedrucks

6 von 21 Branchen senken den Werbedruck im Vorjahresvergleich. Die Rückgänge sind jedoch überschaubar, so senkt keine Branche den Bruttowerbedruck prozentual zweistellig. Die stärkste Abnahme verzeichnet die Branche Initiativen & Kampagnen mit einem Minus von 8.7 Prozent. Auch die Getränkebranche (-5.6%), Mode & Sport (-4.3%) und die Nahrungsmittelbranche (-2.5%) sind werblich weniger stark als im Vorjahr. Veranstaltungen (-1.5%) und Bauen, Industrie, Einrichtung (-1%) generieren 2019 einen beinahe identischen Werbedruck wie im Vorjahr.


Werbedruck in den Branchen

Werbedruck in den Branchen mit Vorjahresvergleich

publikation img

Top 10 des Monats

Die Top 10 Werbetreibenden und meistbeworbenen Produkte sowie Dienstleistungen (ohne Sortiments- und Imagewerbung) im Dezember

publikation img

Top 10 des Jahres

Die Top 10 Werbetreibenden und meistbeworbenen Produkte sowie Dienstleistungen (ohne Sortiments- und Imagewerbung) im Jahr 2019

publikation img

Media Mix Dezember

Die Integration der Search-Daten, Desktop (Januar 2017) und Mobile (Juli 2017) in die Werbestatistik von Media Focus führt zu einem deutlichen Anstieg des Internet-Anteils im Media Mix. Seit Januar 2018 werden neu auch Search-Daten für die Romandie erhoben (Anteil an Search: 85% DE/15% FR).

publikation img

Media Mix 2019

Der Media Mix des gesamten Schweizer Werbemarkts verändert sich 2019 nur leicht gegenüber dem Vorjahr. Es ist lediglich eine Verschiebung des Printwerbedrucks in Richtung Internetwerbung zu erkennen. So macht die Internetwerbung 40 Prozent des Jahreswerbedrucks aus, was einem Plus von 4 Prozent gegenüber 2018 entspricht. Gleichzeitig verlieren die Printmedien 4 Prozent des Kuchens und sorgen noch für rund einen Fünftel des Jahreswerbedrucks. Out-of-Home Werbung macht 10 Prozent des Jahreswerbedrucks (+1 %) aus, Radiowerbung noch 2 Prozent (-1 %). Fernseh- und Kinowerbung können ihre Anteile halten.

publikation img
Diese Webseite verwendet Cookies, um Ihnen ein angenehmeres Surfen zu ermöglichen. Mehr Info
OK