21.03.2019

Advertising Market Trend February 2019


publikation img

Highlights in February

Gross advertising expenditure in February was CHF 471.5 million, significantly lower (-19.7%) than in the first month of 2019. Advertising pressure also fell by 9.1 percent year-on-year. A closer look at the sectors shows that almost all the sectors have reduced their advertising pressure compared with February 2018. After two months, the annual advertising pressure is at CHF 1,059 million and is thus with an increase of 2 percent still on course for growth compared to 2018.

Data integration: Internet and TV

Since January 2017, the Internet media group has included search desktop advertising. As of the close of data in July 2017, search mobile data has also been integrated in Media Focus’s advertising statistics. In January 2018, search (desktop + mobile) was included for French-speaking Switzerland (Romandy), on the basis of ten thousand French search terms (share of search YTD: 85% DE/15% FR). Since March 2018, YouTube data (display and video) has also been included, with retroactive effect from January 2018, in the Advertising Market Trends (share of media mix YTD 1%).

Moreover, since January 2018, the TV media group has included TV sponsoring as well as the pre split, post split, single split and time advertising forms.


Advertising Pressure in the market as a whole

Development of Advertising Pressure as per February 2019

publikation img publikation img

No changes in the industry rankings

In comparison with the industry as a whole, little has changed since the previous month of January. Leisure, gastronomy & tourism continue to be the at the top, followed at a considerable distance by the sectors of Services and Vehicles. The only reshuffling took place in the lower part of the ranking, where Cosmetics & toiletries, Events and Personal care changed places.

Tendency towards lower advertising pressure - with a few exceptions

In comparison to the same month of the previous year, the gross advertising pressure of the vast majority of sectors has decreased. One of the main exceptions is the TV & Home Entertainment product group (+76.2% year-on-year). The tobacco industry is also among this group of surprising winners, having increased advertising pressure by an impressive 209.3 percent compared to the same month last year. However, this effort on the part of the tobacco industry is not enough to eliminate the red warning light. The energy sector managed to increase advertising pressure by 13.5 percent compared to February 2018.

Initiatives and campaigns with the sharpest decline

Initiatives and campaigns recorded the sharpest declines in advertising pressure compared to the previous year (-26.2%), including the product group political campaigns (-53%). This can be explained by the popular initiative "No Billag" of 4th March 2018, which was widely discussed and advertised at the beginning of last year. The sector of Beverages, where advertising pressure fell by 25.6 percent compared to February 2018, and the Food industry (-22.5%) have also suffered significant losses. The retail trade (-18.5%) and public transport companies (-18%) also saw a significant reduction in gross advertising pressure compared with the same month last year.


Advertising pressure in the sectors

Advertising pressure in the sectors with comparative figures for the previous year

publikation img

Top 10 of the month

The Top 10 advertisers and most widely advertised products/services (not including range and image advertising) in February

publikation img

Media Mix

The integration of the search data, desktop (January 2017) and mobile (July 2017) into the Media Focus advertising statistics has led to a significant increase in the Internet proportion of the media mix. Since January 2018, search data for French-speaking Switzerland (Romandy) has also been collected (share of search: 85% German/15% French).

publikation img
This website uses cookies to give you a more comfortable browsing experience. More info
OK

21.03.2019

Werbemarkt Trend Februar 2019


publikation img

Highlights im Februar

Der Bruttowerbedruck liegt im Februar bei 471.5 Mio. CHF und damit deutlich (-19.7%) tiefer als im Startmonat des Jahres 2019. Gegenüber dem Vorjahresmonat sinkt der Werbedruck ebenfalls um 9.1 Prozent. Ein genauerer Blick auf die Branchen zeigt, dass im Vergleich zum Februar 2018 fast alle Branchen den Werbedruck verringern. Der Jahreswerbedruck liegt nach zwei Monaten bei 1‘059 Mio. CHF und ist damit mit 2 Prozent Plus weiterhin auf Wachstumskurs im Vergleich zu 2018.

Datenintegration: Internet und TV

Die Mediengruppe Internet wird im Werbemarkt Trend seit Januar 2017 inklusive Search-Desktop Werbung ausgewiesen. Per Datenabschluss Juli 2017 wurde zusätzlich Search-Mobile in die Werbestatistik von Media Focus integriert. Im Januar 2018 erfolgte die Integration von Search (Desktop + Mobile) für die Romandie, auf Basis zehntausender französischer Suchbegriffe (Anteil an Search YTD: 85% DE/15% FR). Seit März 2018 werden auch YouTube-Daten (Display und Video) rückwirkend ab Januar 2018 im Werbemarkt Trend ausgewiesen (Anteil am Media Mix YTD 1%).

Darüber hinaus enthält die Mediengruppe TV ab Januar 2018 TV-Sponsoring sowie die Werbeformen Pre Split, Post Split, Single Split und Time.


Werbedruck im Gesamtmarkt

Entwicklung des Werbedrucks per Februar 2019

publikation img publikation img

Keine Veränderungen in der Branchenrangliste

Im brancheninternen Vergleich ändert sich wenig gegenüber dem vergangenen Monat Januar. Freizeit, Gastronomie & Tourismus befinden sich weiterhin einsam an der Spitze, gefolgt von der Dienstleistungs- und der Fahrzeugbranche. Die einzigen Rochaden spielen sich im unteren Bereich der Rangliste ab, wo Kosmetik & Körperpflege, Veranstaltungen und Persönlicher Bedarf untereinander die Plätze tauschen.

Tendenziell tieferer Werbedruck - mit einigen Ausnahmen

Im Vergleich zum Vorjahresmonat hat der Bruttowerbedruck innerhalb der allermeisten Branchen abgenommen. Zu den grossen Ausreissern gehört die Produktgruppe TV & Home Entertainment (+76.2% im Vorjahresvergleich). Ebenfalls zu dieser Gruppe überraschender Gewinner kann man die Tabakbranche zählen, welche den Werbedruck im Vergleich zum Vorjahresmonat um beachtliche 209.3 Prozent steigert. Dieser Effort der Tabakbranche reicht jedoch nicht, um die rote Laterne loszuwerden. Die Energiebranche steigert den Werbedruck um immerhin 13.5 Prozent im Vergleich zum Februar 2018.

Initiativen und Kampagnen mit deutlichstem Rückgang

Die stärksten Abnahmen des Werbedrucks im Vorjahresvergleich verzeichnen Initiativen und Kampagnen (-26.2%) inklusive Produktgruppe Politische Kampagnen (-53%). Dies lässt sich mit der Volksinitiative „No Billag“ vom 04. März 2018 erklären, welche Anfang letzten Jahres stark diskutiert und auch entsprechend beworben wurde. Ebenfalls deutlich eingebüsst haben die Getränkebranche, welche den Werbedruck verglichen mit Februar 2018 um 25.6 Prozent senkt, sowie die Nahrungsmittelbranche (-22.5%). Auch der Detailhandel (-18.5%) und die Verkehrsbetriebe (-18%) verringern den Bruttowerbedruck im Vergleich zum Vorjahresmonat klar.


Werbedruck in den Branchen

Werbedruck in den Branchen mit Vorjahresvergleich

publikation img

Top 10 des Monats

Die Top 10 Werbetreibenden und meistbeworbenen Produkte sowie Dienstleistungen (ohne Sortiments- und Imagewerbung) im Februar

publikation img

Media Mix

Die Integration der Search-Daten, Desktop (Januar 2017) und Mobile (Juli 2017) in die Werbestatistik von Media Focus führt zu einem deutlichen Anstieg des Internet-Anteils im Media Mix. Seit Januar 2018 werden neu auch Search-Daten für die Romandie erhoben (Anteil an Search: 85% DE/15% FR).

publikation img
Diese Webseite verwendet Cookies, um Ihnen ein angenehmeres Surfen zu ermöglichen. Mehr Info
OK