20.08.2019

Advertising Market Trend July 2019


publikation img

Highlights in July

The gross advertising pressure in July was CHF 463 million. This is an increase of 1.8 percent compared to the same month last year. The summer slump is clearly noticeable nonetheless: Like in the two previous years, July is the weakest month for advertising. Overall, the advertising pressure YTD is marginally above last year’s value (+2.5%).

Advertising Pressure in the market as a whole

Development of Advertising Pressure as per July 2019

publikation img publikation img

The industry rankings YTD are reflected in the advertising expenditures for July. Topping the list is leisure, gastronomy and tourism, which was the most aggressive sector, once again accounting for the month’s highest gross advertising pressure. Within the top ten, the leading sector also recorded the highest percentage increase in advertising pressure compared to the same month last year (+15.5%). In like manner, the second-placed services sector upped its advertising pressure by 5.9% relative to last July. Coming in third, the finance sector adopted a considerably more conservative position than it did in July last year, but the top three rankings remained unchanged because the runner-up segment of building, industry and furnishings also invested 1.3 percent less than in July 2018. Aside from two changes, everything remained the same in the lower part of the rankings as well. Retail trade leapfrogged the vehicles segment and is now snapping at the heels of the fifth spot. The media and cleaning sectors also swapped places.

Tobacco sector: Still great in relative terms, yet in the doldrums from an absolute perspective

Although tobacco advertising is facing increasingly fierce political opposition, the advertising pressure was nonetheless higher again in a year-on-year comparison, just like in May and June (+258.2%). In July, it was the Logic Compact e-cigarette that accounted for the lion’s share. Political campaigns were responsible for the second largest percentage gains, upping the pressure by 43.2% compared to last year. Events registered the third largest relative increase in advertising pressure (11.9%).

Minimal changes within the sectors

Of the 21 sectors, 12 put a brake on advertising in July compared to the same month last year. However, the decrease in expenditures is largely in a low single-digit percentage range, which is why there is ultimately a slight rise overall. The energy sector curtailed its pressure most of all, namely by 38.6 percent. In absolute terms, this sector continues to be way down in second last place.


Advertising pressure in the sectors

Advertising pressure in the sectors with comparative figures for the previous year

publikation img

Top 10 of the month

The top 10 advertisers and most widely advertised products and services (excluding range and image advertising) in July

publikation img

Media Mix

The integration of the search data, desktop (January 2017) and mobile (July 2017) into the Media Focus advertising statistics has led to a significant increase in the Internet proportion of the media mix. Since January 2018, search data for French-speaking Switzerland (Romandy) has also been collected (share of search: 85% German/15% French).

publikation img
This website uses cookies to give you a more comfortable browsing experience. More info
OK

20.08.2019

Werbemarkt Trend Juli 2019


publikation img

Highlights im Juli

Der Bruttowerbedruck liegt im Juli bei 463 Mio. Bruttofranken. Dies entspricht einer Steigerung um 1.8 Prozent verglichen zum Vorjahresmonat. Trotzdem ist das Sommerloch deutlich spürbar: Der Juli ist, wie schon in den beiden Jahren zuvor, der bisher werbeschwächste Monat des Jahres. Gesamthaft liegt der Werbedruck YTD noch leicht über dem Vorjahreswert (+2.5%).

Werbedruck im Gesamtmarkt

Entwicklung des Werbedrucks per Juli 2019

publikation img publikation img

Die Branchenrangliste YTD widerspiegelt sich im Werbeverhalten des Monats Juli. Tabellenführerin Freizeit, Gastronomie und Tourismus agiert am aggressivsten und ist einmal mehr für den höchsten Bruttowerbedruck des Monats verantwortlich. Auch prozentual steigert die führende Branche den Werbedruck verglichen zum Vorjahresmonat am deutlichsten der Top Ten (+15.5%). Die zweitplatzierte Dienstleistungsbranche erhöht den Werbedruck im Juli im Vorjahresvergleich ebenfalls um 5.9 Prozent. Die Finanzbranche auf Position drei agiert werblich defensiver als im Vorjahresmonat, weil aber Verfolger Bauen, Industrie, Einrichtung ebenfalls 1.3 Prozent weniger als im Juli 2018 investiert, gibt es keine Verschiebungen auf dem Podest. Auch im hinteren Teil der Rangliste bleibt, bis auf zwei Veränderungen, alles beim Alten. Der Detailhandel überholt die Fahrzeugbranche und befindet sich neu in Lauerstellung auf Rang 5. Zudem tauschen die Medien- und die Reinigungsbranche die Plätze.

Tabakbranche: Immer noch relativ top & absolut flop

Obwohl der politische Gegenwind gegen die Tabakwerbung zunimmt, konnte der Werbedruck wie bereits in den beiden vorherigen Monaten im Vorjahresvergleich erneut gesteigert werden (+258.2%). Den grössten Teil dazu trägt im Juli die Logic Compact E-Zigarette bei. Die zweitgrösste prozentuale Steigerung können politische Kampagnen verzeichnen, welche den Druck im Vorjahresvergleich um 43.2 Punkte erhöhen. Für die anteilsmässig drittstärkste Erhöhung des Werbedrucks sind Veranstaltungen verantwortlich (+11.9%).

Minimale Veränderungen innerhalb der Branchen

12 der 21 Branchen stehen im Juli verglichen zum Vorjahresmonat auf der Werbebremse. Die Abnahmen befinden sich jedoch grösstenteils im tiefen einstelligen Prozentbereich, weshalb gesamthaft eine leichte Zunahme resultiert. Prozentual am stärksten reduziert die Energiebranche den Druck, nämlich um 38.6 Punkte. Absolut befindet sich diese weiterhin abgeschlagen auf dem zweitletzten Rang.


Werbedruck in den Branchen

Werbedruck in den Branchen mit Vorjahresvergleich

publikation img

Top 10 des Monats

Die Top 10 Werbetreibenden und meistbeworbenen Produkte sowie Dienstleistungen (ohne Sortiments- und Imagewerbung) im Juli

publikation img

Media Mix

Die Integration der Search-Daten, Desktop (Januar 2017) und Mobile (Juli 2017) in die Werbestatistik von Media Focus führt zu einem deutlichen Anstieg des Internet-Anteils im Media Mix. Seit Januar 2018 werden neu auch Search-Daten für die Romandie erhoben (Anteil an Search: 85% DE/15% FR).

publikation img
Diese Webseite verwendet Cookies, um Ihnen ein angenehmeres Surfen zu ermöglichen. Mehr Info
OK