15.07.2019

Advertising Market Trend June 2019


publikation img

Highlights in June

Total gross advertising expenditure for the first half-year is now known – 3,648 million Swiss francs. This corresponds to an increase of 2.6 per cent compared with the previous year – despite noticeably lower advertising expenditure in June. At 552.7 million Swiss francs, this is 9.1 per cent less than in June 2018. Compared to May, this represents a decline of around one fifth.


Advertising Pressure in the market as a whole

Development of Advertising Pressure as per June 2019

publikation img publikation img

Top 10 sectors strengthen

The sector ranking remained virtually unchanged in June. Leisure, gastronomy, tourism is still ahead of the services industry. Finance again claimed the third podium place in June, as in the previous month. With the exception of retail trade (+4%) and food (+2%), the advertising activity of all Top 10 sectors was more defensive, in keeping with the declining advertising market. A quarter of the drop in advertising pressure across all 21 sectors is attributable to the Top 3 industries.

Tobacco sector: upward trend continues

In comparison to the same month of the previous year, the gross advertising expenditure of most sectors has decreased. One of the main exceptions was the tobacco industry, which again increased its advertising pressure in June. Its gross advertising pressure was 3.4 million francs, thereby overtaking the energy sector. This represents a significant 679 per cent increase, in comparison to the same month of the previous year and 228 per cent compared to the previous month. The biggest driver in June was Philip Morris with its "smoke-free alternative IQOS". Media also increased its gross advertising pressure by 34.9 per cent, thereby moving up a place.

13 sectors make considerable cutbacks

Gross advertising pressure in 13 of the 21 industries dropped over 5 per cent in June. The biggest declines were seen in initiatives & campaigns, energy, cleaning, telecommunications and digital & household. The downturns ranged from around one quarter to one third of advertising presence. Events, personal care and public transport companies remained at a stable level, however.


Advertising pressure in the sectors

Advertising pressure in the sectors with comparative figures for the previous year

publikation img

Top 10 of the month

The top 10 advertisers and most widely advertised products and services (excluding range and image advertising) in June

publikation img

Media Mix

The integration of the search data, desktop (January 2017) and mobile (July 2017) into the Media Focus advertising statistics has led to a significant increase in the Internet proportion of the media mix. Since January 2018, search data for French-speaking Switzerland (Romandy) has also been collected (share of search: 85% German/15% French).

publikation img
This website uses cookies to give you a more comfortable browsing experience. More info
OK

15.07.2019

Werbemarkt Trend Juni 2019


publikation img

Highlights im Juni

Die Bilanz des 1. Werbe-Halbjahres steht fest – 3‘648 Mio. Bruttofranken. Dies entspricht einem Plus von 2.6 Prozent im Vergleich zum Vorjahr – und das trotz merklich schwächerem Werbedruck im Juni. Dieser liegt 9.1 Prozent tiefer als im Juni 2018 bei 552.7 Mio. Bruttofranken. Verglichen zum Mai entspricht dies einem Rückgang von rund einem Fünftel.


Werbedruck im Gesamtmarkt

Entwicklung des Werbedrucks per Juni 2019

publikation img publikation img

Top 10 Branchen verfestigen sich

Das Branchenranking zeigt im Juni kaum Veränderungen. Freizeit, Gastronomie, Tourismus liegt weiterhin vor der Dienstleistungsbranche. Finanzen beanspruchen auch im Juni, wie im Vormonat, den Bronzepodestplatz für sich. Ausser Detailhandel (+4%) und Nahrungsmittel (+2%) agieren alle Top 10 Branchen werblich defensiver, analog zur rückläufigen Werbemarktentwicklung. Ein Viertel des Werbedruckrückgangs über alle 21 Branchen lässt sich über die Top 3 Branchen erklären.

Tabakbranche: Aufwärtstrend hält an

Im Vergleich zum Vorjahresmonat hat der Bruttowerbedruck in den meisten Branchen abgenommen. Zu den grossen Ausreissern gehört die Tabakbranche, welche auch im Juni ihren Werbedruck weiter erhöht. Neu liegt der Bruttowerbedruck bei 3.4 Mio. Bruttofranken. Damit gibt sie die rote Laterne an die Energiebranche ab. Dies entspricht einer deutlichen Steigerung um 679 Prozent im Vergleich zum Vorjahresmonat und 228 Prozent im Vergleich zum Vormonat. Grösster Treiber ist im Juni Philip Morris mit seiner „rauchfreien Alternative IQOS“. Auch die Medien können ihren Bruttowerbedruck um 34.9 Prozent steigern und ihre Position sogar um einen Platz verbessern.

13 Branchen schrauben deutlich zurück

Der Bruttowerbedruck im Juni geht in 13 der 21 Branchen über 5 Prozent zurück. Die grössten Rückgänge sind bei Initiativen & Kampagnen, Energie, Reinigen, Telekommunikation und Digital & Haushalt zu beobachten. Hier reicht der Rückgang von rund einem Viertel bis hin zu einem Drittel der Werbepräsenz. Veranstaltungen, Persönlicher Bedarf und Verkehrsbetriebe bleiben hingegen auf stabilem Niveau.


Werbedruck in den Branchen

Werbedruck in den Branchen mit Vorjahresvergleich

publikation img

Top 10 des Monats

Die Top 10 Werbetreibenden und meistbeworbenen Produkte sowie Dienstleistungen (ohne Sortiments- und Imagewerbung) im Juni

publikation img

Media Mix

Die Integration der Search-Daten, Desktop (Januar 2017) und Mobile (Juli 2017) in die Werbestatistik von Media Focus führt zu einem deutlichen Anstieg des Internet-Anteils im Media Mix. Seit Januar 2018 werden neu auch Search-Daten für die Romandie erhoben (Anteil an Search: 85% DE/15% FR).

publikation img
Diese Webseite verwendet Cookies, um Ihnen ein angenehmeres Surfen zu ermöglichen. Mehr Info
OK