18.04.2019

Advertising Market Trend March 2019


publikation img

Highlights in March

Gross advertising expenditure in March was CHF 659.6 million. Gross advertising expenditure increased significantly in March following the first two months of the year. In comparison with the previous year, however, a slight decrease of 5.2% can be seen. The annual advertising expenditure was 1,760.6 million gross francs, which corresponds to a growth rate of 1.6% in comparison with the previous year. This growth can still be traced back to January, which was surprisingly strong.

Data integration: Internet and TV

Since January 2017, the Internet media group has included search desktop advertising. As of the close of data in July 2017, search mobile data has also been integrated in Media Focus’s advertising statistics. In January 2018, search (desktop + mobile) was included for French-speaking Switzerland (Romandy), on the basis of ten thousand French search terms (share of search YTD: 85% DE/15% FR). Since March 2018, YouTube data (display and video) has also been included, with retroactive effect from January 2018, in the Advertising Market Trends (share of media mix YTD 1%).

Moreover, since January 2018, the TV media group has included TV sponsoring as well as the pre split, post split, single split and time advertising forms.


Advertising Pressure in the market as a whole

Development of Advertising Pressure as per March 2019

publikation img publikation img

Leisure, gastronomy and tourism still at the top

If you consider the annual advertising expenditure of the individual sectors, you will see a similar picture to the first two months of the year. In first place is leisure, gastronomy and tourism, almost on a par with the services sector in second place. Third place goes to the vehicles sector. Fashion & sport lies just below the food sector. Beverages and public transport companies swapped places, as did the cleaning and media sectors.

Slight changes within sectors

For the vast majority of sectors in March 2019, the gross advertising expenditure shows slight changes in comparison with the previous year. This can also be seen in the small growth of 1.6% across all sectors. The largest increase in comparison with the same month of the previous year is the political campaigns product group (+27.2%), although this did not hinder the slight decrease in advertising expenditure through initiatives and campaigns. The energy (+7.5%) and the vehicles sectors (+4.9%) also slightly increased the gross advertising expenditure. In comparison with the same month of the previous year, the telecommunications industry increased by just 6.3% in total, despite having the two most advertised products of the month.

Media sector weaker

The media sector has continued to decrease. As with January and February 2019, it also reduced the gross advertising expenditure in March by a full 30.8% in comparison with March of last year. As a result, it slipped a place in the rankings behind the cleaning sector. The tobacco products sector also reduced the advertising expenditure in March by 31.6% in comparison with the previous year, and continues to remain at the bottom of the rankings. In comparison with the same month of the previous year, personal care (-23.8%) and fashion & sport (-20.7%) also experienced a decrease.


Advertising pressure in the sectors

Advertising pressure in the sectors with comparative figures for the previous year

publikation img

Top 10 of the month

The Top 10 advertisers and most widely advertised products/services (not including range and image advertising) in March

publikation img

Media Mix

The integration of the search data, desktop (January 2017) and mobile (July 2017) into the Media Focus advertising statistics has led to a significant increase in the Internet proportion of the media mix. Since January 2018, search data for French-speaking Switzerland (Romandy) has also been collected (share of search: 85% German/15% French).

publikation img
This website uses cookies to give you a more comfortable browsing experience. More info
OK

18.04.2019

Werbemarkt Trend März 2019


publikation img

Highlights im März

Der Bruttowerbedruck liegt im März bei 659.6 Mio. CHF. Damit steigert sich der Bruttowerbedruck, nach den zwei Einstiegsmonaten des Jahres, im März wie erwartet deutlich. Im Vorjahresvergleich lässt sich jedoch eine leichte Abnahme um 5.2 Prozent beobachten. Der Jahreswerbedruck liegt bei 1’760.6 Mio. Bruttofranken, was einer Steigerung um 1.6 Prozent im Vergleich zum Vorjahr entspricht. Dieser Zuwachs ist noch immer auf den überraschend starken Januar zurückzuführen.

Datenintegration: Internet und TV

Die Mediengruppe Internet wird im Werbemarkt Trend seit Januar 2017 inklusive Search-Desktop Werbung ausgewiesen. Per Datenabschluss Juli 2017 wurde zusätzlich Search-Mobile in die Werbestatistik von Media Focus integriert. Im Januar 2018 erfolgte die Integration von Search (Desktop + Mobile) für die Romandie, auf Basis zehntausender französischer Suchbegriffe (Anteil an Search YTD: 85% DE/15% FR). Seit März 2018 werden auch YouTube-Daten (Display und Video) rückwirkend ab Januar 2018 im Werbemarkt Trend ausgewiesen (Anteil am Media Mix YTD 1%).

Darüber hinaus enthält die Mediengruppe TV ab Januar 2018 TV-Sponsoring sowie die Werbeformen Pre Split, Post Split, Single Split und Time.


Werbedruck im Gesamtmarkt

Entwicklung des Werbedrucks per März 2019

publikation img publikation img

Freizeit, Gastronomie und Tourismus weiterhin an der Spitze

Betrachtet man den Jahreswerbedruck der einzelnen Branchen, zeigt sich ein ähnliches Bild wie schon in den ersten beiden Monaten des Jahres. Auf dem ersten Podestplatz liegt Freizeit, Gastronomie & Tourismus, praktisch gleichauf mit der zweitplatzierten Dienstleistungsbranche. Platz drei geht erneut an die Fahrzeugbranche. Mode & Sport liegt neu knapp vor der Nahrungsmittelbranche. Getränke und Verkehrsbetriebe, sowie die Reinigungs- und die Medienbranche tauschen die Plätze untereinander.

Kleine Veränderungen innerhalb der Branchen

Der Bruttowerbedruck weist im März 2019 bei einem Grossteil aller Branchen kleine Veränderungen im Vorjahresvergleich auf. Dies manifestiert sich auch im tiefen Zuwachs um 1.6 Prozent über alle Branchen hinweg gesehen. Die grösste Steigerung im Vergleich zum Vorjahresmonat legt die Produktgruppe politische Kampagnen hin (+27.2%), was die leichte Verringerung des Werbedrucks durch Initiativen und Kampagnen aber nicht verhindert. Die Energiebranche (+7.5%) sowie die Fahrzeugbranche (+4.9%) erhöhen den Bruttowerbedruck ebenfalls leicht. Die Telekommunikationsbranche steigert sich trotz der zwei meistbeworbenen Produkte des Monats insgesamt aber nur um 6.3 Prozent im Vergleich zum Vorjahresmonat.

Medienbranche weiter schwach

Die Medienbranche setzt ihren Sinkflug weiter fort. Wie schon im Januar und Februar 2019, verringert sie den Bruttowerbedruck auch im März, diesmal um satte 30.8 Prozent verglichen zum März letzten Jahres. Dadurch rutscht sie in der Rangliste einen Platz hinter die Reinigungsbranche. Auch die Tabakbranche senkt den Werbedruck im März um 31.6 Prozent im Vorjahresvergleich und steht weiterhin an letzter Stelle der Branchenrangfolge. Ebenfalls eingebüsst haben, verglichen zum Vorjahresmonat, Persönlicher Bedarf (-23.8%) sowie Mode und Sport (-20.7%).


Werbedruck in den Branchen

Werbedruck in den Branchen mit Vorjahresvergleich

publikation img

Top 10 des Monats

Die Top 10 Werbetreibenden und meistbeworbenen Produkte sowie Dienstleistungen (ohne Sortiments- und Imagewerbung) im März

publikation img

Media Mix

Die Integration der Search-Daten, Desktop (Januar 2017) und Mobile (Juli 2017) in die Werbestatistik von Media Focus führt zu einem deutlichen Anstieg des Internet-Anteils im Media Mix. Seit Januar 2018 werden neu auch Search-Daten für die Romandie erhoben (Anteil an Search: 85% DE/15% FR).

publikation img
Diese Webseite verwendet Cookies, um Ihnen ein angenehmeres Surfen zu ermöglichen. Mehr Info
OK