21.04.2021

The Swiss advertising market – one year on from the first lockdown


publikation img

Highlights in March

The Swiss advertising market felt the initial effects of the coronavirus crisis in mid-March 2020. One year later, in March 2021, the industry has experienced a sharp upswing in fortunes again compared to January (+48.5%) and February (+38.0%), just as it did in the third month of the previous year. Even so, at CHF 433.3 million, the value of the Swiss advertising market remains just shy of what it was the previous year (-2.3%).

As a result, the first quarter is 19% lower than the equivalent value in 2020 and a remarkable 40% lower than the equivalent in 2019.

Advertising Pressure in the market as a whole

Development of Advertising Pressure as per March 2021 in million francs (gross)

publikation img publikation img

Automotive sector more active in the ad market despite no Geneva Motor Show

As was the case last year, the automotive sector could not rely on the Geneva Motor Show to showcase its products in March 2021. In 2020, this led to a 41.1% decline in comparison to 2019. This time around, the industry has managed to increase its advertising pressure significantly (36.1%), putting it at a level comparable to the years prior to the coronavirus. The industry is responsible for two products in the top 10 ad campaigns, too: both were launched by the car dealer AMAG, with a focus on out-of-home advertising.

Another sector that was able to increase its advertising pressure in March was the tobacco industry. One of the few sectors resilient enough to build on its advertising activities in March 2020 (+24.2%), this year it has managed to increase its advertising pressure by 173.2% – thanks primarily to the campaign for the IQOS heated tobacco system by Philip Morris.

Construction, industry and furnishings is the other sector that was able to increase its advertising pressure by more than 20% (+22.5%) in March 2021.

Six sectors reduce ad pressure by 20%

Last year, recreation, gastronomy and tourism took the top spot in the industry list; in the year to date, the crisis has caused the sector to fall to 10th in the ranking. Following a 40% decline in advertising pressure in 2020, this trend has continued in March 2021 (-22.4%). The easing of the lockdown rules in April may allow the sector to regain some of the ground it has lost.

The financial sector has also seen its advertising pressure fall by 33.8% in March 2021. This decline is evident across all product groups – from investing to pensions. The mildest fall was experienced by basic products (-9.6%).

The list of branches whose advertising pressure has fallen by more than 20% also includes public transport (-58.1%), events (-48.1%), media (-34.0%) and services (-25.7%).

publikation img

Top of the month

The top advertisers and most widely advertised products and services (excluding range and image advertising) in March

publikation img

Outlook

April 2020 marked the biggest slump (-40%) experienced by the Swiss advertising market. It remains to be seen how the coming easing of lockdown measures will influence the advertising market in April 2021.

Media Mix

Media Mix for the month of March

publikation img
This website uses cookies to give you a more comfortable browsing experience. More info
OK

21.04.2021

Schweizer Werbemarkt – ein Jahr nach dem 1. Lockdown


publikation img

Highlights im März

Mitte März 2020 zeichneten sich die ersten Auswirkungen der Coronakrise auf den Schweizer Werbemarkt ab. Im März 2021, ein Jahr später, zeigt sich zwar wieder der gewohnte starke Anstieg, verglichen zu Januar (+48.5%) und Februar (+38.0%), wie man ihn in den vergangenen Jahren im dritten Monat des Jahres beobachten konnte, allerdings liegt der Schweizer Werbemarkt mit 433.3 Millionen Bruttofranken weiterhin knapp unter dem Vorjahreswert (-2.3%). Das erste Quartal liegt damit 19 Prozent hinter dem Wert von 2020 und sogar 40 Prozent hinter dem Wert von 2019.

Werbedruck im Gesamtmarkt

Entwicklung des Werbedrucks per März 2021 in Mio. Bruttofranken

publikation img publikation img

Fahrzeugbranche auch ohne Autosalon werblich aktiver

Auch im März 2021 muss die Fahrzeugbranche ohne die Kampagnen zum Autosalon auskommen. Im letzten Jahr bedeutete dies einen Rückgang von 41.1 Prozent im Vorjahresvergleich. Im März 2021 kann die Branche ihren Werbedruck mit 36.1 Prozent wieder deutlich steigern und ist damit auf einem ähnlichen Niveau wie in den Vorjahren. Die Branche kann auch zwei Produkte in den Top 10 platzieren: beide Kampagnen sind vom Automobilhändler AMAG und legen den Fokus auf Out-of-Home-Werbung.

Auch die Tabakbranche kann ihren Werbedruck im März erhöhen. Während sie im März 2020 bereits eine der wenigen Branchen mit einem werblichen Anstieg (+24.2%) war, kann sie ihren Werbedruck in diesem Jahr im März sogar um 173.2 Prozent steigern. Grösster Trigger ist dabei die Kampagne für das IQOS Tabak Heizsystem von Philip Morris.

Bauen, Industrie und Einrichtung ist die letzte Branche, welche im März 2021 über 20 Prozent Steigerung des Werbedruckes verzeichnen konnte (+22.5%).

6 Branchen reduzieren um über 20 Prozent

Während Freizeit, Gastronomie und Tourismus im letzten Jahr noch auf Platz 1 der Branchenliste stand muss sie sich krisenbedingt (ytd) mit dem zehnten Platz begnügen. Nach dem Rückgang um 40 Prozent im letzten Jahr zeigt auch der März 2021 einen erneuten Rückgang (-22.4%). Die Lockerungen im April werden der Branche eventuell eine leichte Erholung beschaffen.

Auch die Finanzbranche senkt ihren Werbedruck im März 2021 um 33.8 Prozent. Der rückläufige Werbedruck zieht sich durch alle Produktgruppen – von Anlage bis Vorsorge. Am glimpflichsten kommt Werbung für Basisprodukte weg (-9.6%).

Die Liste der Branchen, welche den Werbedruck um über 20 Prozent reduziert haben, wird durch Verkehrsbetriebe (-58.1%), Veranstaltungen (-48.1%), Medien (-34.0%) und Dienstleistung (-25.7%) komplettiert.

publikation img

Top des Monats

Die Top Werbungtreibenden und meistbeworbenen Produkte sowie Dienstleistungen (ohne Sortiments- und Imagewerbung) im März

publikation img

Ausblick

Im April letzten Jahres konnte der stärkste Einbruch (-40%) des Schweizer Werbemarktes verzeichnet werden. Es wird sich also im nächsten Monat zeigen, wie die nächsten Lockerungen den Werbemarkt im April 2021 beeinflussen werden.

Media Mix

Media Mix für den Monat März

publikation img
Diese Webseite verwendet Cookies, um Ihnen ein angenehmeres Surfen zu ermöglichen. Mehr Info
OK