13.12.2019

Advertising Market Trend November 2019


publikation img

Highlights in November

Following a strong October, advertising expenditure grew slightly in the second last month of the year and stands at CHF 717.5 million (gross). As in the previous two years, November is the strongest month to date for advertising expenditure this year. Advertising expenditure is therefore at the same level in November as the same month in the previous year (+0.3%). Cumulatively, the annual advertising expenditure stands at CHF 6.7 billion (gross) one month before the year end, which is a rise of 2.3 per cent compared with the same period of the previous year.

Advertising Pressure in the market as a whole

Development of Advertising Pressure as per November 2019

publikation img publikation img

Some castling in the sector ranking

Podium places have been taken in the sector ranking list. As in the previous year, leisure, gastronomy and tourism lag behind services and financial services. The most high-profile month of the year involves a few changes at the bottom of the table. The retail business is edging forwards in November ahead of construction, industry and furnishings, thanks to the highest expenditure of all sectors. Pharma and healthcare has the most advertised product of the month with Vicks VapoRub chest rub and is overtaking the telecommunications sector as a result. Advertising on personal care services was twice as high in November as for beverages. Thanks to this performance, personal care services has a wafer-thin YTD lead of CHF 0.3 million (gross) over the beverage industry. The food industry has not only been able to confirm its lead over the vehicle sector, but has even been able to widen the gap slightly.

No major fluctuations compared with the same month in the previous year

Just a few sectors increased their advertising expenditure in November compared with the same month in the previous year. The cleaning sector (+54.8%) has achieved the largest percentage rise.

The most significant percentage reduction in advertising expenditure can be seen among political campaigns. One possible reason for advertising expenditure being 65 per cent higher in the same month of the previous year is that agreement was reached over the much-discussed self-rule initiative in November last year.

Ferrero has again been twice in the top 10

Ferrero has increased advertising expenditure in November by 40 per cent compared with the same month in the previous year and is, once again, present among the top 10 with these two products; this time, with Kinder Chocolate and Kinder Surprise. Thanks to the advertising campaign for the new TV box in November, Swisscom can be found in fifth place among the top advertisers, after it had taken just rank 10 in the previous month. Surprisingly, despite Singles Day, Black Friday and Cyber Monday, no classic electronics wholesalers can be found among the top 10 advertisers.


Advertising pressure in the sectors

Advertising pressure in the sectors with comparative figures for the previous year

publikation img

Top 10 of the month

The top 10 advertisers and most widely advertised products and services (excluding range and image advertising) in November

publikation img

Media Mix

The integration of the search data, desktop (January 2017) and mobile (July 2017) into the Media Focus advertising statistics has led to a significant increase in the Internet proportion of the media mix. Since January 2018, search data for French-speaking Switzerland (Romandy) has also been collected (share of search: 85% German/15% French).

publikation img
This website uses cookies to give you a more comfortable browsing experience. More info
OK

13.12.2019

Werbemarkt Trend November 2019


publikation img

Highlights im November

Nach dem starken Oktober steigert sich der Werbedruck im zweitletzten Monat des Jahres noch einmal leicht und liegt bei 717.5 Mio. Bruttofranken. Damit ist der November wie in den beiden Jahren zuvor der bisher werbestärkste Monat des Jahres. Der Bruttowerbedruck befindet sich damit im November auf etwa gleichem Niveau wie im Vorjahresmonat (+0.3%). Kumuliert kommt der Jahreswerbedruck einen Monat vor Jahresende bei 6.7 Mrd. Bruttofranken zu liegen, was einem Plus von 2.3 Prozent verglichen zur Vorjahresperiode entspricht.

Werbedruck im Gesamtmarkt

Entwicklung des Werbedrucks per November 2019

publikation img publikation img

Einige Rochaden im Branchenranking

Die Podestplätze der Brachenrangliste sind bezogen. Wie bereits im Vorjahr liegt Freizeit, Gastronomie, Tourismus vor der Dienstleitungs- und der Finanzbranche. Der werbestärkste Monat des Jahres bringt jedoch im hinteren Teil der Tabelle einige Änderungen mit sich. Der Detailhandel schiebt sich, dank dem höchsten Werbedruck aller Branchen im November, vor Bauen, Industrie, Einrichtung. Pharma & Gesundheit stellt mit der Vicks VapoRub Erkältungssalbe das am stärksten beworbene Produkt des Monats und überholt in der Folge die Telekommunikationsbranche. Persönlicher Bedarf wird im November doppelt so stark beworben wie Getränke. Dank diesem Effort hat persönlicher Bedarf YTD einen hauchdünnen Vorsprung von 0.3 MCHF (brutto) auf die Getränkebranche. Die Nahrungsmittelbranche behauptet ihren Vorsprung auf die Fahrzeugbranche nicht nur, sondern kann den Abstand sogar leicht erhöhen.

Keine grossen Schwankungen gegenüber Vorjahresmonat

Nur wenige Branchen erhöhen im November den Werbedruck verglichen zum Vorjahresmonat. Die prozentual grösste Steigerung legt die Reinigungsbranche hin (+54.8%).

Die prozentual stärkste Abnahme des Werbedrucks ist bei politischen Kampagnen zu beobachten. Der im Vorjahresmonat um 65 Prozent höhere Werbedruck kann damit begründet werden, dass im November letzten Jahres über die vieldiskutierte Selbstbestimmungsinitiative abgestimmt wurde.

Ferrero wieder zweifach in den Top 10

Ferrero erhöht den Werbedruck im November um 40 Prozent gegenüber dem Vorjahresmonat und ist erneut mit 2 Produkten unter den Top 10 vertreten, diesmal mit Kinder Schokolade und Kinder Überraschung. Die Swisscom ist u.a. dank der Werbekampagne für die neue TV-Box im November auf dem fünften Platz der Top Werbetreibenden anzutreffen, nachdem sie im Vormonat nur Rang 10 belegt hatte. Erstaunlicherweise befindet sich trotz Singles Day, Black Friday und Cyber Monday kein klassischer Elektronikhändler unter den Top 10 Werbetreibenden.


Werbedruck in den Branchen

Werbedruck in den Branchen mit Vorjahresvergleich

publikation img

Top 10 des Monats

Die Top 10 Werbetreibenden und meistbeworbenen Produkte sowie Dienstleistungen (ohne Sortiments- und Imagewerbung) im November

publikation img

Media Mix

Die Integration der Search-Daten, Desktop (Januar 2017) und Mobile (Juli 2017) in die Werbestatistik von Media Focus führt zu einem deutlichen Anstieg des Internet-Anteils im Media Mix. Seit Januar 2018 werden neu auch Search-Daten für die Romandie erhoben (Anteil an Search: 85% DE/15% FR).

publikation img
Diese Webseite verwendet Cookies, um Ihnen ein angenehmeres Surfen zu ermöglichen. Mehr Info
OK