16.12.2020

New annual high, but advertising pressure markedly lower than in 2019


publikation img

Highlights in November

Advertising pressure in the market as a whole in November was CHF 544.5 million gross. Although this figure is the highest of the year so far – just – it is nevertheless down by 13.6 percent compared with the previous year. This makes it the tenth month in a row in which the figure was lower than in the same month last year. Cumulative annual advertising pressure is now, just one month before year end, CHF 4,616 million gross. That represents a decrease in advertising pressure of 15.1 percent compared with the same period in 2019.

Advertising Pressure in the market as a whole

Development of Advertising Pressure as per November 2020 in million francs (gross)

publikation img publikation img

Print advertising shows modest recovery, while out-of-home’s triumphant march starts to slow down

The negative trend was evident across all media groups in November. Print advertising was the best performer, recovering slightly in November so that it was just 4.2 percent below the value achieved in the same month last year. Out-of-home advertising, which in previous months increased steadily in comparison with last year, actually registered a slight decrease of 4.7 percent from the November 2019 value. Double-digit decreases from last November’s values were registered by TV (-17%), online (-17.8%) and radio (-15.4%). Hardest hit was cinema advertising – having already seen advertising pressure decrease by 60 percent in October compared with the previous year, in November it sank even lower, to around 93 percent.

Besides retail trade also initiatives & campaigns with double-digit growth

In November, advertising pressure increased in six out of 21 sectors, compared with last year. Besides the top-performing sector, retail, which, with an increase of 10.5%, went up by double digits for the third month in a row, the initiatives & campaigns sector stands out, having gone up by 20.2 percent compared with the same month last year. Much of this increase can be attributed to the referendum held on 29 November.

Sectors that registered the biggest decreases in advertising pressure compared with the previous year are those most affected by the coronavirus crisis, i.e. events (-80.2%), public transport companies (-69.2%) and leisure, gastronomy and tourism (-44.4%).

Altogether, one month before year end, just three out of 21 sectors have registered positive year-to-date growth in advertising pressure, compared to 2019: initiatives & campaigns (+9.9%), retail (+8.3%) and cleaning (+6.2%).

Initiatives & campaigns dominate the Top 10 products

The initiatives & campaigns sector’s strong performance in November is also reflected in the Top 10 products for the month. The Federal Office of Public Health’s coronavirus campaign once again reigns supreme, with a recorded advertising pressure of more than CHF 4 million gross. This is despite the fact that the campaign didn’t even figure among the top 10 most advertised products in October. Second and third places in the product rankings are also occupied by players in the initiatives & campaigns sector – namely, the opponents (2nd place) and supporters (3rd place) of the Responsible Business Initiative. This means the Yes camp is, for the second time in a row, the third most advertised product of the month.

publikation img

Top of the month

The top advertisers and most widely advertised products and services (excluding range and image advertising) in November

publikation img

Media Mix

Media Mix for the month of November

publikation img
This website uses cookies to give you a more comfortable browsing experience. More info
OK

16.12.2020

Werbedruck trotz neuem Jahreshöchstwert deutlich tiefer als 2019


publikation img

Highlights im November

Der Werbedruck im Gesamtmarkt liegt im November bei 544.5 Mio Bruttofranken. Dies ist zwar knapp der Jahreshöchstwert, im Vorjahresvergleich resultiert jedoch eine Abnahme um 13.6 Prozent. Damit ist der monatliche Werbedruck zum 10. Mal in Folge tiefer als im Vorjahresmonat. Der Jahreswerbedruck summiert sich einen Monat vor Jahresende auf 4‘616 Mio. Bruttofranken. Dies entspricht einer Senkung des Werbedrucks um 15.1 Prozent gegenüber demselben Zeitraum im Vorjahr.

Werbedruck im Gesamtmarkt

Entwicklung des Werbedrucks per November 2020 in Mio. Bruttofranken

publikation img publikation img

Printwerbung zeigt leichte Erholung, Out-of-Home-Siegeszug vorläufig gebremst

Der negative Trend zieht sich im November durch alle Mediengruppen. Am besten steht die Printwerbung da, welche sich etwas erholen kann und im November nur 4.2 Prozent unter dem Wert des Vorjahresmonats liegt. Die Aussenwerbung, welche sich in den vergangenen Monaten im Vorjahresvergleich regelmässig steigern konnte, verzeichnet ebenfalls eine leichte Abnahme um 4.7 Prozent gegenüber November 2019. Neben TV (-17%) müssen auch Internet (-17.8%) und Radio (-15.4%) zweistellige Rückgänge gegenüber dem Vorjahresmonat hinnehmen. Am härtesten trifft es die Kinowerbung – nachdem im Oktober bereits ein rund 60 Prozent tieferer Werbedruck als im Vorjahresmonat resultierte, beträgt der Rückgang im November rund 93 Prozent.

Neben Detailhandel auch Initiativen & Kampagnen mit zweistelliger Steigerung

6 von 21 Branchen können sich im November im Vorjahresvergleich steigern. Neben der Top Branche Detailhandel (+10.5%), welche sich den dritten Monat in Folge zweistellig steigern konnte, sticht die Branche Initiativen & Kampagnen ins Auge, welche einen Anstieg um 20.2 Prozent verglichen zum Vorjahresmonat ausweist. Diese Zunahme ist zu einem grossen Teil auf die Volksabstimmungen vom 29. November zurückzuführen.

Die Branchen mit den stärksten Rückgängen des Werbedrucks im Vorjahresvergleich sind die von der Corona-Krise gebeutelten Branchen Veranstaltungen (-80.2%), Verkehrsbetriebe (-69.2%) sowie Freizeit, Gastronomie und Tourismus (-44.4%).

Kumuliert stehen ein Monat vor Jahresende lediglich 3 von 21 Branchen positiv da: Initiativen & Kampagnen (+9.9%), die Detailhandelsbranche (+8.3%) und die Reinigungsbranche (+6.2%) konnten den Werbedruck YTD gegenüber 2019 steigern.

Vertreter von Initiativen & Kampagnen dominieren die Top 10 Produkte

Der werblich starke Monat der Branche Initiativen & Kampagnen spiegelt sich auch in den Top 10 Produkten im November wider. Die Coronavirus Kampagne des BAG ist zurück auf dem Thron, mit einem gemessenen Werbedruck von mehr als 4 Mio. Bruttofranken. Dies, nachdem man die Kampagne im Oktober noch vergeblich unter den zehn meistbeworbenen Produkten gesucht hatte. Die Ränge 2 und 3 des Produkte Rankings gehen ebenfalls an Branchenvertreter von Initiativen & Kampagnen: Nämlich an die Gegner (Rang 2) und die Befürworter (Rang 3) der Konzernverantwortungsinitiative. Damit liegt das Ja-Lager zum zweiten Mal in Folge auf Rang 3 der meistbeworbenen Produkte des Monats.

publikation img

Top des Monats

Die Top Werbungtreibenden und meistbeworbenen Produkte sowie Dienstleistungen (ohne Sortiments- und Imagewerbung) im November

publikation img

Media Mix

Media Mix für den Monat November

publikation img
Diese Webseite verwendet Cookies, um Ihnen ein angenehmeres Surfen zu ermöglichen. Mehr Info
OK