07.12.2020

Brand Trend Switzerland H1 2020


Download PDF

Brand Trend H1 2020 EN

publikation img

Q1 - Q2 2020: Quarterly Development

publikation img

Visibility 2.4 billion: Ø 4.6 million per brand

In the first half of 2020, the overall measured visibility of the 523 brands amounted to a total of CHF 2.4 billion (gross).

Covid crisis noticeable in 2nd quarter

In the first quarter, overall visibility was approximately 14% below the previous year’s level. The decline during the second quarter was 28%.

Coop & Migros responsible for 12% of visibility of all Swiss brands

The top sector, Retail trade & food, achieved impressive overall visibility of CHF 555 million (gross). This corresponds to around 23% of the visibility of all sectors in the Swiss advertising market.

Brand visibility: 56% not controllable

Paid visibility (44%) was below earned visibility (56%) in H1 2020.

As in 2019, Retail trade & vehicles are the most visible sectors

The vehicles sector achieved the greatest earned visibility, at 310 million. Retail trade & food generated the most advertising pressure, at 356 million.

Only the cleaning sector is in the black

The cleaning sector was able to significantly increase sector visibility during the first two quarters of 2020 compared to the previous year. The paid/earned ratio is very one-sided, with 94% paid visibility.

Q1 vs. Q2 Significant differences between the sectors

The high overall visibility of the retail sector was almost identical in Q1 and Q2 (+1%). The biggest increase in Q2 compared to the first quarter was in Beverages, with an increase of 16%. The most significant decrease was recorded by Personal Care (-52%).

Total Industry Visibility

publikation img

Key Facts

  • Vehicles is the undisputed number one in terms of earned media presence. In terms of paid visibility, the vehicles sector was only surpassed by retail trade & food.
  • Fashion & sport has a similar paid/earned ratio to the vehicles sector.
  • Retail trade & food achieved the highest total brand visibility due to the strongest advertising pressure and the third-highest earned media value of all sectors.

Top 10 Brands Visibility

publikation img

The 10 most visible brands make up around a quarter of the total brand visibility in the Swiss advertising market. After the first half of 2019, Coop was already ahead of its major competitor Migros in terms of overall visibility. At the end of the year, however, Migros was narrowly ahead. An interesting fact: while 81% of brand visibility was achieved by Coop through paid media, Migros only recorded around 52%.

Credit Suisse snatches the bronze medal. Along with 5th placed UBS, it is one of two financial sector representatives in the top 10. SBB ranks fourth between the two big banks.

Three car manufacturers make it into the ranking: VW (7th place), Mercedes (8th place) and BMW (10th place), all mainly scoring with earned visibility. Swisscom in 6th place and Apple in 9th place complete the ranking.

Top 10 Brands Virality

publikation img

The virality ranking is in the hands of two types of companies: six car manufacturers and three camera manufacturers are represented. Why is this the case? Cars are a popular subject and stimulate discussions. In addition to the virality, this is also reflected in the extraordinarily high earned share of the vehicle sector. Camera manufacturers, in turn, benefit greatly from customers who add links and hashtags to the camera manufacturers in their photos and videos.

As in the previous year, the virality values measured across all brands were significantly higher in the first quarter than in the second quarter of the year.

Nike also made it back into the virality ranking again. Along with high virality values, the sporting goods manufacturer is also characterised by a predominantly earned versus paid media share.


Battle of the Brands

V-Zug vs. Electrolux

publikation img

Digital & household: 31 brands

  • Two competitors in the household electronics sector, the Swiss company V-Zug and the international giant Electrolux, have almost identical overall visibility. Only CHF 0.1 million (gross) lie between places 15 (V-Zug) and 17 (Electrolux) in the ranking of the Digital & Household sector.
  • V-Zug’s earned visibility is more than twice as high as Electrolux. Electrolux almost made up the resulting difference of 0.4 million through higher paid visibility. The paid/earned ratio is very one-sided in favour of paid media for both competitors. The bottom line resulted in a value of CHF 4.6 million (gross) for the overall visibility for V-Zug and a value of CHF 4.4 million (gross) for Electrolux.
  • Both V-Zug and Electrolux show clear potential for improvement in the earned area. While Electrolux is the frontrunner for TV advertising (Rank 3) and out-of-home (Rank 11), all earned media channels result in ranks between 20 and 29. The situation is similar for V-Zug, with Top 10 placements in Print, TV and external advertising and ranks beyond the 20th mark on earned media channels.


Adidas vs. Nike

publikation img

Fashion & Sport: 43 brands

  • The comparison of direct competitors Adidas and Nike is always exciting. In the overall market, Nike has a visibility of CHF 6.6 million (gross) (Rank 88) and is slightly ahead of Adidas with CHF 6.1 million (gross) (Rank 96). Within the fashion & sports sector, this puts Nike in 6th place and Adidas in 7th.
  • As is common in the sector, both competitors achieve the majority of their brand visibility through earned visibility. While the paid/earned ratio for Adidas is one-sided at 5:95, the trend towards earned media at Nike is also very clear at 7:93.
  • Nike is ahead of Adidas in relation to the paid channels print, TV and internet. Adidas, on the other hand, is strong in the earned area, especially in valuable print reporting.
  • While Adidas ranks ahead of Nike with influencers, it is the other way around in the case of online news. Notably, Nike is also in first place in social media, which indicates the high virality of the brand.


Pfister vs. Livique

publikation img

Building, industry, furnishings: 19 brands

  • With a lead of CHF 0.5 million (gross), Livique achieved slightly higher overall visibility (7.2 million) than its direct competitor Möbel Pfister (6.7 million). Both furniture stores make it into the top five most visible brands in the sample. Livique ranks third, Möbel Pfister fourth.
  • Around 28% of the total visibility in the Building, Industry, Furnishings sector is generated by earned media, while paid visibility makes up around 72 %. Both Livique and Möbel Pfister are well below the sector average with earned shares of around 4% and 9% respectively.
  • A look at the individual channels shows that Pfister is strong in paid TV, radio, out-of-home and internet advertising. It is only in the area of Print Advertising, at Rank 11, that there is room for improvement. In the earned area, Pfister achieves the best placings with influencers and on social media.
  • Livique, on the other hand, occupies podium places in print and internet advertising. In online news it is also strong, taking 7th place. Pfister lags behind in all earned channels in comparison with Livique, apart from in the case of SEO and Online.

Twin analysis H1 2020: ZKB

publikation img

Omnichannel Mix Twins

The car brands Volvo and Opel show a distribution of the overall visibility across the individual channels which iscomparable to ZKB. The percentages of TV advertising, print and online news are particularly similar.

Paid-Earned-Ratio Twins

When looking at ZKB's paid/earned ratio, Jaguar catches the eye as a strategic twin. The ratio is identical at 37:63, while the overall visibility is around three times smaller. Online fashion retailer Asos also has a similar relationship between paid and earned visibility.

Paid Mix Twins

There is no confusingly similar paid distribution in the sample, as is the case for ZKB. The proportions are similar for Apple. However, TV is even more in the foreground, while print receives less attention. At C&A, only the TV share is at a similar level.

Earned Mix Twins

The earned visibility of ZKB is primarily composed of mentions in print and online news and, to a small extent, social media mentions. In the case of BP and Daihatsu, a representative of the energy sector and a car brand, there are similar distributions.

Omnichannel Earned & Paid H1 2020

Top 10 Earned

publikation img

Top 10 Paid

publikation img
This website uses cookies to give you a more comfortable browsing experience. More info
OK

07.12.2020

Markentrend Schweiz H1 2020


Download PDF

Markentrend H1 2020

publikation img

Q1 - Q2 2020: Quartalsentwicklung

publikation img

Sichtbarkeit 2.4 Mrd.: Ø 4.6 Mio. pro Brand

In der ersten Jahreshälfte 2020 beträgt die gemessene Gesamtsichtbarkeit der 523 Marken 2.4 Milliarden Bruttofranken.

Coronakrise im 2. Quartal spürbar

Bereits im ersten Quartal liegt die Gesamtsichtbarkeit rund 14 Prozent unter Vorjahresniveau. Im zweiten Quartal beträgt der Rückgang 28 Prozent.

Coop & Migros für 12% der Sichtbarkeit aller Schweizer Marken verantwortlich

Die Top Branche Detailhandel & Nahrungsmittel erzielt eine eindrückliche Gesamtsichtbarkeit von 555 Mio. Bruttofranken. Dies entspricht rund 23 % der Sichtbarkeit aller Branchen im Schweizer Werbemarkt.

Markensichtbarkeit: 56% nicht steuerbar

Die bezahlte Sichtbarkeit (44%) liegt im H1 2020 unter der verdienten Sichtbarkeit (56%).

Wie schon 2019: Detailhandel & Fahrzeuge sichtbarste Branchen

Die Branche Fahrzeuge erzielt mit 310 Mio. die grösste Earned- Sichtbarkeit. Detailhandel & Nahrungsmittel generiert mit 356 Mio. den höchsten Werbedruck.

Einzig Reinigungsbranche im Plus

Die Reinigungsbranche kann die Branchensichtbarkeit in den ersten 2 Quartalen 2020 im Vorjahresvergleich spürbar steigern. Das Paid-Earned-Ratio ist sehr einseitig, mit 94 Prozent bezahlter Sichtbarkeit.

Q1 vs. Q2 Starke Unterschiede zwischen den Branchen

Die hohe Gesamtsichtbarkeit der Detailhandelsbranche ist in Q1 und Q2 beinahe identisch (+1%). Die grösste Steigerung gegenüber dem Startquartal legt im Q2 Getränke hin, mit einer Steigerung um 16%. Den deutlichsten Rückgang verzeichnet persönlicher Bedarf (-52%).

Total Industry Visibility

publikation img

Key Facts

  • Fahrzeuge ist unangefochten auf Rang 1 der Earned-Media-Präsenz. Bezüglich der bezahlten Sichtbarkeit muss sich die Fahrzeugbranche lediglich Detailhandel & Nahrungsmittel geschlagen geben.
  • Mode & Sport mit ähnlicher Paid-Earned-Ratio wie die Fahrzeugbranche.
  • Detailhandel & Nahrungsmittel erreicht die höchste Total Brand Visibility aufgrund des stärksten Werbedrucks und des dritthöchsten Earned-Media Werts aller Branchen.

Top 10 Brands Visibility

publikation img

Die 10 sichtbarsten Brands machen rund ein Viertel der gesamten Markensichtbarkeit im Schweizer Werbemarkt aus. Schon 2019 lag Coop bei Jahreshälfte gemessen an der Gesamtsichtbarkeit vor der grossen Konkurrentin Migros. Am Ende des Jahres hatte dann jedoch die Migros knapp die Nase vorn. Interessant: Während bei Coop 81 Prozent der Markensichtbarkeit durch Paid Media erreicht wird, sind es bei der Migros nur rund 52 Prozent.

Die Credit Suisse schnappt sich die Bronzemedaille. Sie ist neben der UBS auf Rang 5 eine von 2 Vertreterinnen der Finanzbranche innerhalb der Top 10. Die SBB rangiert zwischen den beiden Grossbanken auf Position 4.

Mit VW (Rang 7), Mercedes (Rang 8) und BMW (Rang 10), welche alle hauptsächlich mit verdienter Sichtbarkeit punkten, schaffen es 3 Autohersteller ins Ranking. Swisscom auf Platz 6 und Apple auf Position 9 komplettieren die Rangliste.

Top 10 Brands Virality

publikation img

Top 10 Brands Virality

Das Viralitätsranking ist in der Hand zweier Unternehmenstypen: Einerseits sind6 Auohersteller vertreten, andererseits 3 Kamerahersteller. Woran das liegt? Autos sind beliebte Sujets und regen zu Diskussionen an. Dies widerspiegelt sich neben der Viralität auch im ausserordentlich hohen Earned Anteil der Fahrzeugbranche. Kameraproduzenten wiederum profitieren stark von Kunden, welche ihre geschossenen Fotos und Videos mit Verlinkungen und Hashtags zu den Kameraherstellern ergänzen.

Wie bereits im Vorjahr sind die gemessenen Viralitätswerte markenübergreifend deutlich höher im Startquartal als im 2. Quartal des Jahres.

Nike schafft es ebenfalls zum wiederholten Mal ins Virality Ranking. Der Sportartikelhersteller zeichnet sich neben den hohen Viralitätswerten auch durch einen stark überwiegenden Earned- gegenüber Paid Media Anteil aus.


Battle of the Brands

V-Zug vs. Electrolux

publikation img

Digital & Haushalt: 31 Brands

  • Zwei Konkurrenten im Bereich Haushaltselektronik, die Schweizer Firma V-Zug und der internationale Riese Electrolux, weisen eine beinahe identische Gesamtsichtbarkeit auf. Nur gerade 0.1 Mio Bruttofranken liegen zwischen den Plätzen 15 (V-Zug) und 17 (Electrolux) im Ranking der Branche Digital & Haushalt.
  • V-Zug weist eine gut doppelt so hohe Earned Sichtbarkeit auf wie Electrolux. Den entstandenen Unterschied von 0.4 Mio. macht Electrolux durch die höhere bezahlte Sichtbarkeit beinahe wieder wett. Das Paid-Earned-Ratio fällt bei beiden Konkurrenten sehr einseitig zugunsten von Paid Media aus. Unter dem Strich resultiert für die Gesamtsichtbarkeit ein Wert von 4.6 Mio. Bruttofranken bei V-Zug und ein Wert von 4.4 Mio. Bruttofranken bei Electrolux.
  • Sowohl V-Zug als auch Electrolux weisen deutliche Verbesserungspotentiale im Earned Bereich auf. Während Electrolux bei TV-Werbung (Rang 3) und Out-of-Home (Rang 11) vorne mitspielt, resultieren auf jeglichen Earned-Media Kanälen Ränge zwischen 20 und 29. Bei V-Zug zeigt sich ein ähnliches Bild, mit Top 10 Platzierungen in Print-, TV- und Aussenwerbung und Rängen jenseits der 20er Marke auf den Earned Media Kanälen.


Adidas vs. Nike

publikation img

Mode & Sport: 43 Brands

  • Der Vergleich der direkten Konkurrenten Adidas und Nike ist immer wieder spannend. Im Gesamtmarkt liegt Nike mit einer Sichtbarkeit von 6.6 Mio. Bruttofranken (Rang 88) knapp vor Adidas mit 6.1 Mio. Bruttofranken (Rang 96). Innerhalb der Branche Mode & Sport bedeutet dies Rang 6 (Nike) und Rang 7 (Adidas).
  • Wie in der Branche üblich, erreichen beide Konkurrenten den Grossteil ihrer Markensichtbarkeit durch verdiente Sichtbarkeit. Während das Paid-Earned-Ratio bei Adidas beim einseitigen Verhältnis 5:95 liegt, ist die Tendenz in Richtung Earned Media bei Nike mit 7:93 ebenfalls sehr deutlich.
  • Nike liegt auf den Bezahlkanälen Print, TV und Internet vor Adidas. Adidas wiederum ist im Earned Bereich, vor allem in der wertvollen Print Berichtserstattung, stark.
  • Während sich Adidas bei Influencer einen Rang vor Nike schiebt, ist es bei Online News gerade umgekehrt. Auffällig ist zudem der erste Rang von Nike auf Social Media, welcher von der hohen Viralität der Marke zeugt.


Pfister vs. Livique

publikation img

Bauen, Industrie, Einrichtung: 19 Brands

  • Mit einem Vorsprung von 0.5 Mio. Bruttofranken erreicht Livique eine leicht höhere Gesamtsichtbarkeit (7.2 Mio.) als der direkte Konkurrent Möbel Pfister (6.7 Mio.). Beide Möbelhäuser schaffen es in die Top 5 der sichtbarsten Marken im Sample. Livique liegt auf Rang 3, Möbel Pfister belegt Rang 4.
  • Rund 28 Prozent der Gesamtsichtbarkeit in der Branche Bauen, Industrie, Einrichtung werden durch Earned Media generiert, während die bezahlte Sichtbarkeit rund 72 Prozent ausmacht. Sowohl Livique als auch Möbel Pfister liegen mit Earned Anteilen von rund 4 bzw. 9 Prozent deutlich unter dem Branchendurchschnitt.
  • Ein Blick auf die einzelnen Kanäle zeigt: Pfister ist im Paid Bereich bei Fernseh-, Radio, Out-of-Home und Internetwerbung stark. Einzig bei Printwerbung besteht mit Rang 11 noch Luft nach oben. Im Earned Bereich erreicht Pfister bei Influencern und auf Social Media die besten Platzierungen.
  • Livique dagegen besetzt bei Print- und Internetwerbung jeweils Podestplätze. In Online News resultiert der ebenfalls starke 7. Rang. Abgesehen von SEO und Online News liegt Pfister im Vergleich mit Livique auf allen Earned Kanälen zurück.

Zwillingsanalyse H1 2020: ZKB

publikation img

Omnichannel Mix Twins

Die Automarken Volvo und Opel zeigen eine vergleichbare Verteilung der Gesamtsichtbarkeit auf die einzelnen Kanäle wie die ZKB. Die Prozentanteile von Fernsehwerbung, Print- und Online News sind besonders ähnlich.

Paid-Earned-Ratio Twins

Beim Blick auf das Paid-Earned-Ratio der ZKB sticht Jaguar als strategischerZwilling ins Auge. Das Verhältnis ist mit 37:63 identisch, während die Gesamtsichtbarkeit rund 3 Mal kleiner ist. Auch Online-Modehändler Asos weist ein ähnliches Verhältnis zwischen der bezahlten und der verdienten Sichtbarkeit auf.

Paid Mix Twins

Im Sample zeigt sich keine zum Verwechseln ähnliche Paid-Verteilung wie bei der ZKB. Bei Apple sehen die Anteile ähnlich aus - TV steht jedoch noch stärker im Vordergrund, während Print weniger Beachtung findet. Bei C&A bewegt sich lediglich der TVAnteil auf ähnlichem Niveau.

Earned Mix Twins

Die verdiente Sichtbarkeit der ZKB setzt sich vornehmlich aus Erwähnungen in Print- und Online-News und zu einem kleinen Anteil aus Social Media Erwähnungen zusammen. Mit BP und Daihatsu weisen eine Vertreterin der Energiebranche und eine Automarke ähnliche Verteilungen auf.

Omnichannel Earned & Paid H1 2020

publikation img

Top 10 Paid

publikation img
Diese Webseite verwendet Cookies, um Ihnen ein angenehmeres Surfen zu ermöglichen. Mehr Info
OK