17.03.2021

Swiss advertising market struggling with long-term coronavirus-effects


publikation img

Highlights in February

While in the last two years the performance of the Swiss advertising market has been notably weaker in February than in January, this year it actually recovered slightly (+7.4% on the previous month), following the steep decline in January. Even so, at CHF 313.2 million gross, the total advertising spend in February 2021 was down a considerable 20.1% on the same month last year. Meanwhile, the year-to-date total of CHF 604.7 million gross was down around 28% on the previous year.

February saw six of the 21 sectors record higher advertising pressure, while, among the media groups, only radio managed a slight increase. Rather than organic growth, however, this increase in advertising pressure can be attributed to the entry of three new broadcasters into the French-speaking region of Switzerland at the beginning of the year.

Advertising Pressure in the market as a whole

Development of Advertising Pressure as per February 2021 in million francs (gross)

publikation img publikation img

Cleaning sector records further growth in advertising pressure

The cleaning sector again saw its advertising pressure increase considerably in February (+76.6%). Also on an upward trajectory were tobacco products (+43.6%), energy (+24.4%) and retail (+23.3%), all of which recorded double-digit growth when compared with the same month last year. In fact, the YTD total for retail was less than 1% below last year’s figure. The slight increase (+2.5%) recorded by the food sector meant it was only slightly down (-2.3%) on the YTD total for the same period last year. Digital and household also managed to recover slightly (both +1.2%) from January’s heavy slump.

Lockdown leaves its mark

The list of sectors that were on the defensive in advertising terms in February 2021 compared with the previous year is long. Events (-76.7%), and leisure, gastronomy and tourism (-59.6%) were, unsurprisingly, the sectors that recorded the largest percentage decreases in advertising pressure. Hot on their heels were public transport (-59%), media (-53.8%), fashion & sport (-48%), and beverages (-36.6%), which with a decrease of “just” 8.1% in January 2021 had seemed more stable. Decreases of more than 20% were also recorded by the automobiles (-28.7%), services (-27%) and finance (-22.4%) sectors.

publikation img

Top of the month

The top advertisers and most widely advertised products and services (excluding range and image advertising) in February

publikation img

Top product: Samsung Galaxy S21 5G

The Apple iPhone 12 Pro, which was in third place the previous month, dropped out of the Top 10 products altogether in February. Instead, a rival smartphone – the Samsung Galaxy S21 5G – shot to the top of the rankings. In second place was VW’s Caddy Cargo transporter, followed in third place by Credit Suisse and its business advisory campaign. Knorr Stocki (4) and McDonald’s (6) were the lockdown foods of choice. UPC Giga internet (5) and the Sunrise We Mobile subscription (7) continued to facilitate online ordering, while Home24.ch (8) also remained popular for home shopping. Those looking to escape from the everyday with a little luck and a lot of cash turned to Swisslos Euromillions lottery tickets (9). Meanwhile, the more realistic dreamers escaped into the world of Disney+ (10). Thanks to its new Star-branded content, the streaming service returned to the Top 10 for the first time since July 2020.

There was no significant movement among the big advertisers, with Coop, Migros and Procter & Gamble all retaining their places on the podium.

Media Mix

Media Mix for the month of February

publikation img
This website uses cookies to give you a more comfortable browsing experience. More info
OK

17.03.2021

Schweizer Werbemarkt kämpft mit Langzeitfolgen der Corona-Krise


publikation img

Highlights im Februar

Während sich der Schweizer Werbemarkt in den letzten zwei Jahren im Februar immer deutlich schwächer gezeigt hat als im Januar, kann er sich im Februar 2021, nach dem deutlichen Einbruch im Januar, wieder leicht erholen (+7.4%, Vergleich Vormonat). Jedoch bleibt der Monat mit 313.2 Millionen Bruttowerbefranken mit einem Minus von 20.1 Prozent trotzdem deutlich hinter dem Vorjahresmonat zurück. Kumuliert liegt der Werbedruck bei 604.7 Millionen Bruttowerbefranken und damit rund 28 Prozent unter dem Vorjahreswert.

Bei den Branchen können sich im Februar 6 von 21 Branchen über einen höheren Werbedruck freuen, während sich bei den Mediengruppen lediglich Radio leicht steigert. Dieser Anstieg des Werbedrucks ist jedoch nicht organisch, sondern lässt sich auf die Integration drei neuer Sender in der Romandie Anfang des Jahres zurückführen.

Werbedruck im Gesamtmarkt

Entwicklung des Werbedrucks per Februar 2021 in Mio. Bruttofranken

publikation img publikation img

Reinigen steigert Werbedruck weiter

Auch im Februar steigert die Reinigungsbranche ihren Werbedruck deutlich (+76.6%). Zu den Gewinnerbranchen zählen auch Tabakwaren (+43.6%), Energie (+24.4%) und der Detailhandel (+23.3%), welche sich im Vorjahresvergleich mit einer zweistelligen Steigerung präsentieren. Der Detailhandel liegt damit YTD weniger als ein Prozent hinter seinem Vorjahresergebnis. Die Nahrungsmittelbranche (+2.5%) legt im Februar wieder leicht zu und liegt damit nur knapp (-2.3%) hinter dem YTD-Vorjahreswert. Auch Digital und Haushalt (+1.2%) kann nach dem deutlichen Rückgang im Januar wieder etwas zulegen.

Lockdown hinterlässt Spuren

Die Liste der Branchen, die im Februar 2021 werblich defensiver agieren als im Vorjahr ist lang. Veranstaltungen (-76.7%) und Freizeit, Gastronomie, Tourismus (-59.6%) sind, nicht überraschend, die Branchen mit dem höchsten prozentualen Rückgang an Werbedruck. Direkt gefolgt von Verkehrsbetriebe (-59%), der Medienbranche (-53.8%), Mode & Sport (-48%) sowie der Getränkebranche (-36.6%), welche sich im Januar 2021 mit „nur“ -8.1 Prozent noch stabiler gezeigt hat. Auch Fahrzeuge (-28.7%), Dienstleistung (-27%) und Finanzen (-22.4%) mit Rückgängen über 20 Prozent.

publikation img

Top des Monats

Die Top Werbungtreibenden und meistbeworbenen Produkte sowie Dienstleistungen (ohne Sortiments- und Imagewerbung) im Februar

publikation img

Top Produkt: Samsung Galaxy S21 5G

Das Apple iPhone 12 Pro, im Vormonat auf Rang 3, verabschiedet sich im Februar aus den Top 10 Produkten. Dafür schiesst ein anderes Smartphone der Konkurrenz ganz nach oben an die Spitze des Rankings – das Samsung Galaxy S21 5G. Auf dem 2. Rang der Caddy Cargo Transporter von VW. Credit Suisse mit ihrer Unternehmensberatungskampagne auf Rang 3. Knorr Stocki (4) und Mcdonald’s Restaurant (6) sorgen für die Verpflegung während des Lockdowns. UPC Giga Internet (5) und das Sunrise We Mobile Abo (7) sorgen dafür, dass die Onlinebestellung eingeht und auf Home24.ch (8) geshoppt werden kann. Wer mit ein bisschen Glück und viel Cash, dem Alltag entfliehen möchte, der setzt auf Swisslos Euromillions Lose (9). Wer realistischer träumt, der entflieht in die Welt von Disney+ (10). Der Streaming-Dienst ist mit neuen Star-Inhalten zum ersten Mal seit Juli 2020 wieder zurück in den Top 10.

Bei den Werbungtreibenden gibt es keine grosse Bewegung. Coop, Migros und Procter & Gamble sichern sich die Podestplätze.

Media Mix

Media Mix für den Monat Februar

publikation img
Diese Webseite verwendet Cookies, um Ihnen ein angenehmeres Surfen zu ermöglichen. Mehr Info
OK