19.01.2021

Swiss advertising market ends 2020 down 14%


publikation img

Highlights in December and in 2020 overall

The 2020 gross advertising pressure figures for Switzerland are now available. At CHF 499 million, advertising pressure in December narrowly missed hitting the 500-million mark and was down just 3.1% on the December 2019 figure.

Thus, advertising pressure in the Swiss market for 2020 as a whole settled at CHF 5.2 billion gross. This corresponds to a drop of around 835 million or 14%. The initial forecasts after the first lockdown in spring offered an even gloomier outlook for the future of the Swiss advertising market.

The three months from March through May 2020 lagged more than 30% behind the 2019 values and accounted for some 500 million of the advertising pressure lost in 2020 – the year of coronavirus. The steepest percentage decrease occurred in the month of April (−40%). In March, it was −33%.

The situation improved slightly in the subsequent months. The initial uncertainty was overcome, processes and content were adapted and campaigns were launched, with the result that the decrease hovered at around 10% of the previous year’s value. In particular, the top 20 advertisers, which are responsible for around 25% of the total advertising pressure (around 30,000 active advertisers in 2020), released the handbrake in June and began pressing down on the gas instead, thus mitigating the overall decline. In June, July and August – traditionally the summer slow period in the advertising sector – they managed to increase their advertising pressure by 12% compared with 2019. They maintained this pressure throughout the fall and even recorded a plus of 22% in the final month of the year.

Out-of-home advertising also proved exceptionally crisis-proof. Following a belated slump in April, by June this media group was hovering just below the previous year’s level and was the only one to register substantial growth over the summer and into the fall (+8% to +26%).

Advertising Pressure in the market as a whole

Development of Advertising Pressure as per December 2020 in million francs (gross)

publikation img publikation img

Pandemic winners and losers

Advertising pressure increased in just 3 out of 21 sectors compared with the previous year: retail, which generated by far the highest advertising pressure of 2020 (+9.5%); initiatives and campaigns, which was bolstered by the Federal Office of Public Health’s coronavirus campaign and various referenda (+10.3%); and, finally, cleaning (+7.1%). However, a look beneath the surface of the individual product groups is even more revealing. Of 120 product groups, advertising pressure went up in around a third compared with the previous year – by more than 5%, even, in around 20% of them. These include, among others, TV and home entertainment, internet, processed foodstuffs, savings and investment products, gardening, tobacco products image advertising, media image advertising, spirits, hair removal and shaving products, and household appliances.

The list of losers in 2020 is lamentably long. Advertising pressure went down by double digits in more than half of all sectors. Beverages, food, finance, construction, industry, furnishings, cosmetics and toiletries, and digital and household goods got off comparatively lightly.

The worst-hit sectors were events (−60.9%), followed by transportation services (−50.7%), then leisure, gastronomy and tourism (-31.1%). And there is little hope for improvement, when the data for December and the ongoing second lockdown are taken into account.

Sectors that rallied in December, recording an increase that month compared with 2020 as a whole, were: tobacco products (+56.7% vs −28%), personal care (+4.2% vs −17.3%), beverages (+49.9% vs −8.5%), food (+7.4% vs −7.4%), construction, industry, furnishings (+13% vs −6.8%), cosmetics and toiletries (+30.9% vs −6.3%) and digital and household goods (+14.8% vs −3.4%). Whether or not this development can be sustained in light of the second lockdown remains to be seen.

publikation img

Federal Office of Public Health’s coronavirus campaign leads the way

Taking their places on the podium as the strongest advertisers – both for 2020 as a whole and the month of December – were Coop, Migros and Procter & Gamble. Just three companies that didn’t make it into the overall top 10 for the year featured in the December ranking: Henkel, Unilever and Emmi. Making way for them were retailers Lidl and Denner, along with Reckitt Benckiser, all of which dropped out of the top 10 for the last month of the year.

The Federal Office of Public Health’s coronavirus campaign was the most advertised product in the Swiss advertising market, both in the current month and throughout the year as a whole. Looking at the rest of the top 10 products in 2020, it’s clear they come from a range of different sectors. Nevertheless, they have two things in common. On the one hand, they reflect people’s basic needs, particularly as manifested in times of crisis: food, love, financial security, hygiene. On the other, they reveal which business and distribution channels are crisis-proof.

Top 10 in December and 2020 as a whole

The top advertisers and most widely advertised products and services (excluding range and image advertising)

publikation img publikation img

Media Mix

Media Mix in December and 2020 as a whole

TV the strongest-performing media group

All media groups lost advertising pressure in 2020. In terms of percentage declines, however, they differed considerably. Cinema advertising, at times nonexistent, decreased by 73% in 2020. At the other end of the scale, out-of-home advertising went down by just 7%.

TV advertising was the biggest generator of advertising pressure in the Swiss market in 2020. In December, TV advertising pressure even exceeded the previous year’s figure by +7%. Like print and radio, however, TV achieved its strongest performance in November – the best month overall in terms of advertising pressure. On average, TV recorded a decrease of 14% for the year as a whole. Print advertising took the runner-up spot in the media mix, followed by internet, out-of-home, radio and cinema. What stands out in December is the shift between TV and out-of-home: where TV forged ahead, out-of-home lost its share.

publikation img publikation img

Outlook

2020 will go down in history as an unforgettable year – or rather, “a year to forget.” Nationwide lockdowns, travel bans, working from home, quarantine, constant package deliveries and general uncertainty. People were forced to rethink things and had to change their usual habits. We’re now spending more time within our own four walls and adapting our consumption habits accordingly.

As a driver of digital transformation, COVID-19 has also pushed the way we work further into the virtual domain. The main advertisers in Switzerland had to adapt their activities to the new reality in 2020, too. The initial shock-induced paralysis in spring meant budgets that had already been planned had to be revised downward, although a slight recovery could be observed over the summer. In 2021, it will become apparent which changes are here to stay and what effect the losses experienced in the worst-hit sectors will have on advertising budget planning.

This website uses cookies to give you a more comfortable browsing experience. More info
OK

19.01.2021

Schweizer Werbemarkt schliesst 2020 mit einem Minus von 14 Prozent


publikation img

Highlights im Dezember und 2020

Die Jahreszahlen der Brutto-Werbedruckstatistik Schweiz für 2020 liegen vor. Der Werbedruck im Dezember verpasst mit 499 Millionen nur ganz knapp die 500er-Marke und liegt nur noch -3.1 Prozent unter dem Vorjahreswert.

Der Werbedruck des Jahres 2020 im Schweizer Werbemarkt kommt damit bei 5.2 Milliarden Brutto-Werbefranken zum Liegen. Dies entspricht einem Minus von rund 835 Millionen respektive 14 Prozent. Die ersten Prognosen nach dem ersten Lockdown im Frühjahr hatten ein noch düstereres Bild für die Zukunft des Schweizer Werbemarktes gezeichnet.

Die drei Monate von März bis Mai 2020 lagen über 30 Prozent hinter den Werten von 2019 und erklären rund 500 Millionen des rückläufigen Brutto-Werbedrucks im Corona-Jahr 2020. Den grössten prozentualen Rückgang verzeichnete der Monat April (-40%). Im März waren es Minus 33 Prozent.

In den darauffolgenden Monaten entschärfte sich die Lage jedoch leicht. Die erste Verunsicherung war überwunden, Prozesse und Inhalte wurden adaptiert, Kampagnen lanciert und der Rückgang pendelte sich bei rund 10 Prozent des Vorjahreswertes ein. Insbesondere die TOP 20 Werbungtreibenden, welche für rund 25 Prozent des Gesamtwerbedrucks (2020: ~30‘000 aktive WBT) verantwortlich sind, lösten im Juni die Handbremse und stiegen teilweise sogar deutlich aufs Gaspedal, was den Rückgang insgesamt abschwächte. Im Juni, Juli und August – dem Sommerloch der Werbebranche – steigerten sie ihren Werbedruck um 12 Prozent im Vergleich zu 2019. Hielten den Druck im Herbst hoch und verzeichneten im letzten Monat des Jahres sogar ein Plus von 22%.

Darüber hinaus zeigte sich Out-of-Home Werbung als äusserst krisenresistent. Nach einem verspäteten Einbruch im April, lag die Mediengruppe im Juni nur noch leicht unter Vorjahresniveau und konnte als einzige Mediengruppe über den Sommer bis in den Herbst hinein sogar einen deutlichen Zuwachs (+8% bis + 26%) verbuchen.

Werbedruck im Gesamtmarkt

Entwicklung des Werbedrucks per Dezember 2020 in Mio. Bruttofranken

publikation img publikation img

Krisengewinner vs. Krisenverlierer

Nur 3 der 21 Branchen konnten den Werbedruck im Vorjahresvergleich steigern. Dies ist einerseits der Detailhandel, welcher 2020 auch mit Abstand den höchsten Werbedruck generiert hat (+9.5%). Andererseits die Branche Initiativen & Kampagnen, welche durch die Corona-Kampagne des BAG befeuert wurde, sowie durch die Volksabstimmungen (+10.3) und zu guter Letzt die Reinigungsbranche (+7.1%). Blickt man aber noch eine Schicht tiefer in die einzelnen Produktgruppen, so stechen noch weitere Märkte ins Auge. Von 120 Produktgruppen, steigerten rund 1/3 den Werbedruck im Vorjahresvergleich. Rund 20 Prozent sogar um über 5 Prozent. Darunter u.a. TV & Home Entertainment, Internet, Nährmittel, Vorsorge- und Anlageprodukte, Garten, Tabakwaren Image, Medien Image, Spirituosen, Haarentfernung & Rasur sowie Haushaltsgeräte. Die Liste der Verlierer 2020 ist lang. Über die Hälfte der Branchen reduzieren ihren Werbedruck im zweistelligen Bereich. Getränke, Nahrungsmittel, Finanzen, Bauen, Industrie, Einrichtung, Kosmetik & Körperpflege sowie Digital & Haushalt kommen vergleichsweise glimpflich davon.

Am schlimmsten trifft es die Veranstaltungsbranche (-60.9%), gefolgt von den Verkehrsbetrieben (-50.7%) und Freizeit, Gastronomie, Tourismus (-31.1%). Hier ist, wenn man die Dezemberdaten sowie den aktuellen zweiten Lockdown betrachtet, auch noch keine Besserung in Sicht.

Andere zeigen sich im Dezember kämpferisch: Tabakwaren (+56.7% zu -28%), persönlicher Bedarf (+4.2% zu -17.3%), Getränke (+49.9% zu -8.5%), Nahrungsmittel (+7.4% zu -7.4%), Bauen, Industrie, Einrichtung (+13% zu -6.8%), Kosmetik & Körperpflege (+30.9% zu -6.3%) sowie Digital & Haushalt (+14.8% zu -3.4%) legen im Dezember wieder zu (Dez vs. 2020). Mit dem zweiten Lockdown gilt es abzuwarten, ob diese Entwicklung anhaltend ist.

publikation img

Coronavirus Kampagne des BAG an der Spitze

Die Podestplätze der stärksten Werbungtreibenden gehen an Coop, Migros und Procter & Gamble. Dies gilt für das Gesamtjahr 2020 genauso wie für den Monat Dezember. Mit Henkel, Unilever und Emmi sind im Dezemberranking nur 3 Unternehmen vertreten, die es nicht in die Gesamt Top 10 2020 geschafft haben. Dafür sind die beiden Detailhändler Lidl und Denner sowie Reckitt Benckiser im letzten Monat des Jahres aus den Top 10 herausgefallen.

Die Coronavirus Kampagne des BAG ist sowohl im aktuellen Monat, sowie über das ganze Jahr gesehen das meistbeworbene Produkt im Schweizer Werbemarkt. Betrachtet man die restlichen Top 10 Produkte 2020, so fällt auf, dass diese aus heterogenen Branchen stammen. Zwei Dinge haben sie jedoch gemeinsam, sie spiegeln einerseits die Grundbedürfnisse der Menschen, insbesondere in Krisenzeiten, wieder: Essen, Liebe, finanzielle Sicherheit, Hygiene und sie zeigen andererseits welche Geschäfts- und Distributionskanäle krisenfest sind.

Top 10 Dezember und 2020

Die Top Werbungtreibenden und meistbeworbenen Produkte sowie Dienstleistungen (ohne Sortiments- und Imagewerbung)

publikation img publikation img

Media Mix

Media Mix Dezember und 2020

TV stärkste Mediengruppe

Alle Mediengruppen haben 2020 Werbedruck eingebüsst. Die prozentualen Rückgänge liegen jedoch teilweise weit auseinander. Kinowerbung, teilweise non-existent, nahm 2020 um 73 Prozent ab. Am anderen Ende steht Out-of-Home-Werbung mit einem Rückgang von nur 7 Prozent.

Fernsehwerbung generiert 2020 den höchsten Werbedruck im Schweizer Markt. Im Dezember liegt der TV-Werbedruck sogar über dem Vorjahreswert (+7%). Den Höchstwert erreicht die Mediengruppe allerdings, wie Print und Radio, im insgesamt werbedruckstärksten Monat November. Mit einem Rückgang von 14 Prozent liegt TV über das ganze Jahr gesehen im Durchschnitt. Printwerbung nimmt den zweitgrössten Anteil am Media Mix ein, gefolgt von Internet, Out-of-Home, Radio und Kino. Auffallend im Dezember ist der Shift zwischen TV und Out-of-Home. Während TV zulegt, büsst Out-of-Home Anteile ein.

publikation img publikation img

Ausblick

2020 wird als unvergessliches Jahr – oder „ein Jahr zum Vergessen“ – in die Geschichtsbücher eingehen. Landesweite Lockdowns, Einreiseverbote, Home-Office, Quarantäne, Päckchenfluten und allgemeine Verunsicherung. Die Menschheit wurde zum Umdenken gezwungen und musste ihre Gewohnheiten ändern. Wir verbringen mehr Zeit in den eigenen vier Wänden und passen unsere Konsumgewohnheiten an.

Covid-19 als Treiber der Digitalen Transformation hat darüber hinaus auch unser Arbeiten stärker in den virtuellen Raum verschoben. Auch die Schweizer Werbungtreibenden mussten 2020 ihre Aktivitäten an die neue Situation anpassen. Im ersten Moment der Schockstarre im Frühjahr wurden die bereits geplanten Budgets heruntergefahren, eine leichte Erholung konnte dann jedoch schon im Sommer verzeichnet werden. Das Jahr 2021 wird definitiv zeigen welche Veränderungen sich langfristig durchsetzen und welchen Einfluss die Umsatzeinbussen in den stark betroffenen Branchen auf die Werbebudgetplanung haben werden.

Diese Webseite verwendet Cookies, um Ihnen ein angenehmeres Surfen zu ermöglichen. Mehr Info
OK