25.06.2019

Advertising Market Trend May 2019


publikation img

Highlights in May

Poster and online advertising fuelled the Swiss advertising market in the merry month of May. With gross advertising expenditure of 692.5 million Swiss francs, representing a 4.8 per cent increase, May replaced March as the highest month ytd. Compared to the previous month of April, this represents an increase of 8.3 per cent and 15.8 per cent compared to the same month last year. Cumulative gross advertising pressure exceeded the 3 billion mark in May, amounting to 3,094.4 million francs. Annual advertising pressure therefore rose by 5 per cent, year-on-year.


Advertising Pressure in the market as a whole

Development of Advertising Pressure as per May 2019

publikation img publikation img

Finance claims third place

The online advertising-savvy leisure, gastronomy, tourism and services sectors consolidated their leading position in the fifth month of the year. Despite spending three million less on advertising expenditure in May compared to its rival industry, leisure, gastronomy, tourism still had a comfortable cushion between it and the services sector. 22 million francs of gross advertising expenditure currently separate the two leaders. Finance claimed third place, thereby ending the brief sojourn of building, industry, furnishings on the podium, despite a smaller year-on-year increase (+13% compared to 24.8%).

Tobacco sector: upward trend thanks to e-cigarettes

The largest year-on-year increase was recorded by the tobacco sector. Advertising pressure was around 13 times higher than in May 2018, making May 2019 the month in which the tobacco sector recorded its highest advertising pressure since September 2016. Around 80% of gross advertising expenditure was attributable to one advertiser: British American Tobacco Switzerland AG. Known for brands such as Pall Mall, Parisienne and Winfield, this global tobacco company now advertises VYPE e-cigarettes and EPOK Snus in Switzerland. But this does not alter the fact that the tobacco sector continues to have the lowest advertising pressure compared to other industries. The second biggest increase was recorded by the IT, hard + software product group (81.1%). This is closely followed by the public transport companies, services and personal care sectors (around 40% each).

Cleaning and beverages fall

The ups and downs of the cleaning sector continue. While the industry ranked among the top 3 with the largest increase (+61.6%) last May, it significantly cut back its advertising pressure this May (-32.2%). The biggest fall was recorded by the (liquid) detergent product segment. As well as cleaning, only the beverages sector also reduced its advertising pressure in May. But at -5.6 per cent, its decline was much lower.


Advertising pressure in the sectors

Advertising pressure in the sectors with comparative figures for the previous year

publikation img

Top 10 of the month

The top 10 advertisers and most widely advertised products and services (excluding range and image advertising) in May:

publikation img

Media Mix

The integration of the search data, desktop (January 2017) and mobile (July 2017) into the Media Focus advertising statistics has led to a significant increase in the Internet proportion of the media mix. Since January 2018, search data for French-speaking Switzerland (Romandy) has also been collected (share of search: 85% German/15% French).

publikation img
This website uses cookies to give you a more comfortable browsing experience. More info
OK

25.06.2019

Werbemarkt Trend Mai 2019


publikation img

Highlights im Mai

Plakat- und Online-Werbung befeuern den Schweizer Werbemarkt im Wonnemonat Mai. Mit 692.5 Mio. Bruttofranken, respektive 4.8 Prozent höherem Werbedruck, löst der Mai damit den März als Monat mit dem bisherigen Jahreshöchstwert ab. Verglichen zum Vormonat April entspricht dies einer Steigerung um 8.3 Prozent, verglichen zum Vorjahresmonat um 15.8 Prozent. Kumuliert hat der Werbedruck im Mai bereits die 3 Mrd. Grenze durchbrochen und liegt bei 3‘094.4 Mio. Bruttofranken. Damit steigert sich der Jahreswerbedruck im Vorjahresvergleich um 5 Prozent.


Werbedruck im Gesamtmarkt

Entwicklung des Werbedrucks per Mai 2019

publikation img publikation img

Finanzen neu auf dem Bronze-Podest

Die online-werbeaffinen Branchen Freizeit, Gastronomie, Tourismus und Dienstleistung festigen auch im fünften Monat des Jahres ihre Vorreiterstellung. Trotz 3 Millionen niedrigerem Werbedruck im Mai, verglichen zur Konkurrenzbranche, ist das Polster von Freizeit, Gastronomie, Tourismus vor der Dienstleistungsbranche noch komfortabel. Die beiden Spitzenreiter trennen aktuell 22 Millionen Brutto-Werbefranken. Finanzen liegt neu auf dem dritten Rang und beendet damit, trotz geringerer Steigerung im Vorjahresvergleich (+13% zu 24.8%), das kurze Intermezzo von Bauen, Industrie, Einrichtung auf dem Treppchen.

Tabakbranche: Aufwärtstrend dank E-Zigaretten

Die grösste Steigerung im Vorjahresvergleich ist bei der Tabakbranche zu beobachten. Der Werbedruck ist rund 13mal so hoch wie im Mai 2018 und damit ist der Mai 2019 der werbedruckstärkste Monat der Tabakbranche seit September 2016. Rund 80% der Brutto-Werbeausgaben gehen dabei auf das Konto eines Werbungtreibenden: British American Tobacco Switzerland AG. Bekannt für Marken wie Pall Mall, Parisienne und Winfield, bewirbt das global agierende Tabakunternehmen in der Schweiz nun VYPE E-Zigaretten und EPOK Snus. Das ändert aber nichts daran, dass die Tabakbranche im Branchenvergleich immer noch den geringsten Werbedruck aufweist. Die zweithöchste Steigerung verzeichnet die Produktgruppe IT, Hard- + Software (81.1%). Dicht gefolgt von den Branchen Verkehrsbetriebe, Dienstleistung und persönlicher Bedarf (je rund 40%).

Reinigen und Getränke reduzieren

Das Auf und Ab der Reinigungsbranche geht weiter. Während die Branche im Mai letzten Jahres zu den Top 3 mit der grössten Steigerung (+61.6%) zählte, schraubt sie im Mai diesen Jahres den Werbedruck deutlich zurück (-32.2%). Den grössten Rückgang verzeichnet dabei das Produktsegment Feinwaschmittel (flüssig). Neben Reinigen reduziert nur noch die Getränkebranche den Werbedruck im Mai. Der Rückgang fällt mit -5.6 Prozent aber deutlich geringer aus.


Werbedruck in den Branchen

Werbedruck in den Branchen mit Vorjahresvergleich

publikation img

Top 10 des Monats

Die Top 10 Werbetreibenden und meistbeworbenen Produkte sowie Dienstleistungen (ohne Sortiments- und Imagewerbung) im Mai

publikation img

Media Mix

Die Integration der Search-Daten, Desktop (Januar 2017) und Mobile (Juli 2017) in die Werbestatistik von Media Focus führt zu einem deutlichen Anstieg des Internet-Anteils im Media Mix. Seit Januar 2018 werden neu auch Search-Daten für die Romandie erhoben (Anteil an Search: 85% DE/15% FR).

publikation img
Diese Webseite verwendet Cookies, um Ihnen ein angenehmeres Surfen zu ermöglichen. Mehr Info
OK