22.09.2021

A slight increase in August


publikation img

Highlights in August

August ended with gross advertising pressure of CHF 392.7 million, thereby exceeding the previous month of July by 6.3%. This also marks an increase of 9.3% compared to August 2020.

The reason for this growth was 12 sectors that all increased their advertising pressure by double digits. The top five advertisers alone were responsible for around half of the increase compared to the previous year.

Advertising Pressure in the market as a whole

Development of Advertising Pressure as per August 2021 in million francs (gross)

publikation img publikation img

Sector order unchanged compared to previous month

12 of the 21 sectors were able to increase their advertising pressure into the double digits compared to the previous year. The clear winner in August was events (+81.2%). Given that there have been no major events in Switzerland for such a long time, people are that much more excited for what is to come, and advertising pressure has increased significantly. The main drivers of this increase were concerts, festivals and the Allianz Tag des Kinos film festival.

Leisure, gastronomy and tourism, all of which suffered greatly under the coronavirus restrictions, recorded significantly higher advertising pressure in August (+30.1%). Trivago, TUI and Booking.com saw a substantial increase in advertising. The majority of advertising for future holiday destinations in Switzerland took place online.

Other sector winners included media (+52.3%) and tobacco (+34.3%).

Telecommunications and initiatives & campaigns cut back

Whereas in July six sectors reduced their advertising pressure, in August it was only two. As in the previous month, initiatives & campaigns (-21.5%) had scaled back substantially. In August 2020, the sector recorded a significant increase (+32.7%) as a result of political campaigns and the national referendum on September 27 of that year. It remains to be seen whether we will begin to notice an uptick in this sector in September as the result of the referendum on September 26, 2021. Advertising pressure for the popular initiatives “Marriage for All” and “Reduce Tax on Salaries” could increase one month later.

While telecommunications was a winner in August 2020, one year later it lost a significant amount of advertising pressure (-25.2%).

publikation img

Top of the month

The top advertisers and most widely advertised products and services (excluding range, image and collective categories) in August

publikation img

Media Mix

Media Mix for the month of August

publikation img
This website uses cookies to give you a more comfortable browsing experience. More info
OK

22.09.2021

August mit leichter Steigerung


publikation img

Highlights im August

Der August schliesst mit einem Bruttowerbedruck von 392.7 Mio. Bruttofranken und übertrifft damit den Vormonat Juli um 6.3 Prozent. Auch im Vergleich zum Vorjahresmonat kann er sich um 9.3 Prozent steigern.

Grund für diese Zunahme sind 12 Branchen, welchen ihren Werbedruck im zweistelligen Bereich steigern konnten. Allein die Top 5 der Werbungtreibenden sind für rund die Hälfte der Vorjahreszunahme verantwortlich.

Werbedruck im Gesamtmarkt

Entwicklung des Werbedrucks per August 2021 in Mio. Bruttofranken

publikation img publikation img

Branchenreihenfolge unverändert zum Vormonat

12 der 21 Branchen können ihren Werbedruck im Vorjahresvergleich im zweistelligen Bereich steigern. Der deutliche Gewinner im August sind Veranstaltungen (+81.2%). Nachdem die Schweiz lange auf Veranstaltungen verzichten musste ist die Vorfreude umso grösser und der Werbedruck steigt deutlich. Verantwortlich für die Zunahme sind vor allem Konzertveranstaltungen, Open-Airs und der Allianz Tag des Kinos.

Auch Freizeit, Gastronomie, Tourismus, welche stark unter den Corona-Restriktionen gelitten hatte, kann im August einen deutlich höheren Werbedruck verzeichnen (+30.1%). Trivago, TUI und Booking.com agieren werblich deutlich stärker. Die Werbung für die nächsten Ferienziele finden die Schweizer vor allem in der Online-Werbung. Weitere Branchengewinner sind Medien (+52.3%) und Tabakwaren (+34.3%).

Telekommunikation und Initiativen & Kampagnen fahren zurück

Während im Juli noch sechs Branchen ihren Werbedruck reduziert hatten, sind es im August nur noch zwei. Initiativen & Kampagnen (-21.5%) schraubt, wie bereits im Vormonat, deutlich zurück. Die Branche konnte im August 2020, durch politische Kampagnen und die Volksabstimmung vom 27. September eine deutliche Steigerung (+32.7%) verzeichnen. Es bleibt abzuwarten, ob sich dieses Abstimmungshoch für die Volksabstimmung vom 26. September 2021 erst im September bemerkbar macht. Eventuell steigt der Werbedruck für «Ehe für alle» und «Löhne entlasten» erst einen Monat später an.

Auch Telekommunikation gehörte im August 2020 noch zu den Gewinnern und verliert ein Jahr später deutlich an Werbedruck (-25.2%).

publikation img

Top des Monats

Die Top Werbungtreibenden und meistbeworbenen Produkte sowie Dienstleistungen (ohne Sortiments-, Imagewerbung und Sammelkategorien) im August

publikation img

Media Mix

Media Mix für den Monat August

publikation img
Diese Webseite verwendet Cookies, um Ihnen ein angenehmeres Surfen zu ermöglichen. Mehr Info
OK