18.08.2021

Advertising month of July in a summer slump


publikation img

Highlights in July

In July, gross advertising pressure reached CHF 369.3 million. This represents an increase of 11.3% compared to July of the previous year. Overall, advertising pressure YTD remains slightly higher than the previous year (+1.1%).

Despite an observable recovery from the coronavirus-led decline of last year, a summer slump is still apparent. Advertising pressure was significantly reduced compared to the previous month (-14.5%). Looking back at previous years shows that the summer slump was particularly noticeable in 2018 (-33.5%). 2019 (-16.4%) and 2020 (-18.4%) experienced declines similar to those of this year.

Advertising Pressure in the market as a whole

Development of Advertising Pressure as per July 2021 in million francs (gross)

publikation img publikation img

Sectors: media with the biggest increase

Media (+140.6%), energy (+51.9%), and cosmetics and toiletries (+34.6%) are among July’s top 3 industry winners.

July brought no changes to the YTD top 3 industry ranking. The ranking remains identical to the previous month. Retail, food, and initiatives & campaigns remain in the top 3.

Additionally, the leisure, gastronomy, tourism sector, which in previous years had always maintained a place in the top 3, saw greater advertising pressure in July, with an increase of 32.6% compared to last year. It remains to be seen whether this sector can fight its way back to the top 3 by the end of this year. The same is true of finance, which showed clear gains in July (+20.4%).

Only 6 sectors declined compared to the previous year

Only 6 of 21 sectors showed declines in July compared to the same month last year. Percentage-wise, the tobacco industry showed the biggest reduction (-37.2%). In absolute terms, it continues to lag behind in last place. However, advertising pressure in this sector is still 32.1% above the value from 2020 (YTD).

The remaining reductions are in the single-digit percentage range, which accounts for the overall increase.

publikation img

Top of the month

The top advertisers and most widely advertised products and services (excluding range, image and collective categories) in July

publikation img

Media Mix

Media Mix for the month of July

publikation img
This website uses cookies to give you a more comfortable browsing experience. More info
OK

18.08.2021

Werbemonat Juli im Sommerloch


publikation img

Highlights im Juli

Der Bruttowerbedruck liegt im Juli bei 369.3 Mio. Bruttofranken. Dies entspricht einer Steigerung um 11.3 Prozent verglichen zum Vorjahresmonat. Gesamthaft liegt der Werbedruck YTD noch leicht über dem Vorjahreswert (+1.1%).

Es lässt sich eine Erholung nach dem Corona-Einbruch aus dem letzten Jahr beobachten, jedoch ist das Sommerloch deutlich spürbar. Im Vergleich zum Vormonat wurde der Werbedruck deutlich reduziert (-14.5%). Ein Blick auf die Vorjahre zeigt, dass das Sommerloch vor allem im Jahr 2018 deutlich spürbar war (-33.5%). 2019 (-16.4%) und 2020 (-18.4) waren die Abnahmen auf ähnlichem Niveau, wie in diesem Jahr.

Werbedruck im Gesamtmarkt

Entwicklung des Werbedrucks per Juli 2021 in Mio. Bruttofranken

publikation img publikation img

Branchen: Medien mit grösster Steigerung

Medien (+140.6%), Energie (+51.9%) und Kosmetik & Körperpflege (+34.6%) gehören zu den Top 3 Branchen-Gewinnern im Juli.

An den Top 3 der Branchenrangliste YTD ändert der Juli nichts. Die Rangfolge präsentiert sich komplett identisch wie im Vormonat. Detailhandel, Nahrungsmittel und Initiativen & Kampagnen bleiben weiterhin in den Top 3.

Aber auch die Branche Freizeit, Gastronomie, Tourismus, welche sich in den Vorjahren immer in den Top 3 verankert hatte, kann im Juli wieder einen höheren Werbedruck und eine Steigerung zum Vorjahresmonat um 32.6 Prozent verzeichnen. Es bleibt abzuwarten, ob sich die Branche bis Ende dieses Jahres wieder unter die Top 3 kämpfen kann. Dies gilt auch für Finanzen, welche sich im Juli wieder deutlich stärker (+20.4%) zeigt.

Nur 6 Branchen reduzieren im Vorjahresvergleich

Nur 6 der 21 Branchen reduzieren im Juli verglichen zum Vorjahresmonat. Prozentual am stärksten reduziert die Tabakbranche (-37.2%). Absolut befindet sich diese weiterhin abgeschlagen auf dem letzten Rang. YTD liegt der Werbedruck der Branche trotzdem 32.1 Prozent über dem Wert aus 2020. Die restlichen Rückgänge befinden sich jedoch im einstelligen Prozentbereich, weshalb sich gesamthaft eine Zunahme beobachten lässt.

publikation img

Top des Monats

Die Top Werbungtreibenden und meistbeworbenen Produkte sowie Dienstleistungen (ohne Sortiments-, Imagewerbung und Sammelkategorien) im Juli

publikation img

Media Mix

Media Mix für den Monat Juli

publikation img
Diese Webseite verwendet Cookies, um Ihnen ein angenehmeres Surfen zu ermöglichen. Mehr Info
OK