18.11.2021

Advertising pressure up in 18 out of 21 sectors


publikation img

Highlights in October

Once again, this year saw an increase (+6.2%) in advertising in October compared with September – which also performed well after the summer lull – with the month closing at CHF 670.7 million gross. As a result, gross advertising pressure for 2021 is up on 2020 (+24.7%) and 2019 (+12.3%) for the second month in a row.

The first 10 months of the year generated cumulative advertising pressure of CHF 4,408.7 million gross. This represents an increase of 8.2% compared with 2020, but a decrease of 8.3% compared with 2019.

Advertising Pressure in the market as a whole

Development of Advertising Pressure as per October 2021 in million francs (gross)

publikation img publikation img

Digital & household provide 3 of the top 10 products

The Apple iPhone 13 was the product with the most advertising pressure in October 2021. It is available to buy from online specialist electronics retailers such as Digitec.ch and Microspot.ch. And both made it to the top 10 most advertised products this month, thus contributing to the 49.5% increase for the digital & household sector. Despite this above-average figure, it was only sixth in the list of sectors with the highest increase in advertising pressure in October 2021.

In first place was fashion & sport (+73.1%), with the big online retailers Zalando.ch and Aboutyou.ch, followed by energy (+60.4%), media (+56.7%), construction, industry, furnishings (+56.4%) and leisure, gastronomy and tourism (+53.9%).

Tobacco sector burns less brightly

Overall, just three out of 21 sectors saw advertising pressure fall compared with the same month last year. The biggest drop was in the tobacco sector, which was down by around a quarter (-25.1%). In second place was telecommunications (-14.0%), despite the appearance of the Sunrise We Mobile subscription product in the Top 10 most advertised products of the month. Initiatives & campaigns was the third sector to record a drop in advertising pressure (-8.8%) compared with the same month last year.

Consequently, there have been some shifts on the YTD podium. Retail trade and food have held on to the gold and silver, respectively. But construction, industry, furnishings has managed to wrest the bronze from initiatives & campaigns, which has dropped to fifth place, behind finance.

publikation img

Top of the month

The top advertisers and most widely advertised products and services (excluding range, image and collective categories) in October

publikation img

Media Mix

Media Mix for the month of October

publikation img
This website uses cookies to give you a more comfortable browsing experience. More info
OK

18.11.2021

18 von 21 Branchen legen werblich zu


publikation img

Highlights im Oktober

Auch 2021 zieht der Werbemonat Oktober im Vergleich zum bereits starken September nach der Sommerflaute wieder an (+6.2%) und schliesst mit 670.7 Millionen Brutto-Franken. Damit bleibt der Bruttowerbedruck 2021 den zweiten Monat in Folge vor 2020 (+24.7%) und 2019 (+12.3%).

Die ersten 10 Monate des Jahres generieren kumuliert einen Werbedruck von 4'408.7 Mio. Bruttofranken. Verglichen mit 2020 entspricht dies einem Zuwachs um 8.2 Prozent, verglichen mit 2019 einem Minus von 8.3 Prozent.

Werbedruck im Gesamtmarkt

Entwicklung des Werbedrucks per Oktober 2021 in Mio. Bruttofranken

publikation img publikation img

Digital & Haushalt mit gleich 3 Produkten in der Top 10

Das Apple iPhone 13 Pro ist das Produkt mit dem höchsten Werbedruck im Oktober 2021. Kaufen kann man es nicht zuletzt bei den beiden auf Elektronik spezialisierten Onlinehändlern Digitec.ch und Microspot.ch. Beide haben es in diesem Monat in die Top 10 der meistbeworbenen Produkte geschafft und tragen ihren Teil dazu bei, dass die Branche Digital & Haushalt rund 50 Prozent (49.5%) zugelegt hat. Trotz überdurchschnittlichem Wert liegt sie damit aber nur auf Rang 6 der Branchen mit dem höchsten Werbedruckzuwachs im Oktober 2021.

Auf Rang 1 befindet sich Mode & Sport (+73.1%) mit den grossen Onlinehändlern Zalando.ch und Aboutyou.ch, gefolgt von Energie (+60.4%), der Medienbranche (+56.7%), Bauen, Industrie, Einrichtung (+56.4%) und Freizeit, Gastronomie, Tourismus (+53.9%).

Tabakbranche auf Sparflamme

Insgesamt reduzieren nur 3 der 21 Branchen den Werbedruck im Vergleich zum Vorjahresmonat. Die grösste Reduktion verzeichnet die Tabakbranche mit einem Rückgang von rund einem Viertel (-25.1%). Auf «Rang 2» liegt die Telekommunikationsbranche (-14.0%) trotz dem Produkt Sunrise We Mobile Abo in den Top 10 der meistbeworbenen Produkte des Monats. Initiativen & Kampagnen ist die dritte Branche im Bunde mit reduziertem Werbedruck im Vorjahresvergleich (-8.8%).

Damit gibt es eine Verschiebung auf dem YTD-Treppchen. Gold und Silber bleiben zwar bei Detailhandel und Nahrungsmittel. Initiativen & Kampagnen gibt jedoch das Bronze-Podest an Bauen, Industrie, Einrichtung ab und fällt hinter Finanzen auf Rang 5 zurück.

publikation img

Top des Monats

Die Top Werbungtreibenden und meistbeworbenen Produkte sowie Dienstleistungen (ohne Sortiments-, Imagewerbung und Sammelkategorien) im Oktober

publikation img

Media Mix

Media Mix für den Monat Oktober

publikation img
Diese Webseite verwendet Cookies, um Ihnen ein angenehmeres Surfen zu ermöglichen. Mehr Info
OK